We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the Glass Style bungalow if you have any sense of privacy” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chill Out Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chill Out Bungalows
Ranked #15 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
brussels
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Avoid the Glass Style bungalow if you have any sense of privacy”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

Our bungalow was ok, but nothing fancy. I really wonder why they’ve built their bungalow completely in glass in a place that is so hot. The room is quite hot as aresult. We slept with the door leading to the bathroom open and the fan on the strongest position to have a bit of air at night.
The thing we didn’t like at all is that the bungalows are actually attached, so basically there are 2 bungalows in the same house. In theory this should be fine. But at Chillout bungalow, they used very cheap material, which means that you can hear your neighbours when they turn in their bed, cough or anything, and the worse part is that when you brush your teeth, you can hear your neighbour going to the toilet. Maybe some people don’t mind, but I really disliked this!

The breakfast is included in the price. The Chillout cafe is also really average quality : the choice for breakfast is limited, the pancakes are too thick and always burnt, the fruits were always either not ripe or too ripe, and the staff work such long hours that they look exhausted and it has a negative effect on the athmosphere and efficiency. Even if the breakfast was included, after the 2nd day, we went to Biba beach club or Scallywags for a much better food. We had dinner here as well on our first night : again the prices are too high for the quality you get, the fish was overcooked, the burger was burnt,… There are much better options on the island if you just look a bit.
For 400.000 Rp a night, we felt the quality rather low and we wouldn’t recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChandeBle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thankyou for your review ChandeBle and we are sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us.
The Glass style are "ok" and we don't state they are "fancy" on the website, they are our cheapest rooms with fan only.
They were built with a lot of glass to make them bright and modern unlike many dark and damp smelling bungalows elsewhere on the island.The sun is only on the glass till mid morning when the sun becomes hi enough to be shielded by the veranda.
Glass would allow these bungalows to be cooler than concrete walls especially at night.
What actually makes the bungalows hot is that we are in the Tropics and so it tends to be hot and humid , if you know that you don't like the heat you could have booked a lumbung sepi bungalow with A/C and Fan for Rp50,000 extra per night.
I can understand your comments about the walls being thin between the rooms and the noise , we do have plans to change this but many cheaper rooms in Asia have the same problems especially between the bathrooms.
Regarding your comments about our breakfast choice i think we give a good choice for breakfast especially as we are a small bungalows and not a Star rated Hotel, below is the breakfast choice when you were staying , we have changed this so that you can order tea/coffee and a juice of your choice.

CHOOSE :
One item from No 1 and
One item from No 2 and
One item from either No 3 or No 4
No 1 Tea
Coffee
Fruit juice
No 2 Fruit salad
Natural yoghurt with fruit or honey
Natural yoghurt with muesli or granola
Cornflakes with milk
Porridge with fruit or honey
No 3 Two slices of toast with butter and either:
Jam, honey or marmite or
Two eggs (poached, scrambled, fried,
boiled, omelette)
No 4 Pancake with either banana or
pineapple & honey or chocolate sauce

The staff do work long hours but our staff have breaks of Two Hours twice daily
During your stay here was the last few days of Ramadan and so of course everybody including our staff are tired, what can we do when ramadan is in hi-season and there are many tourists here wanting serving .
If you had a problem with the food when you was here why did you not complain or send it back at the time instead of waiting until you get home on your computer , many of the issues you say you had could have been resolved here and then, we do not want our customers to be unhappy with the food , most of our customers go away from here very happy and telling my wife its the best BBQ they have ever had and return many times. Remember we are on a small Island with limited resources and equipment, the logistics of keeping a business running and the food of a good standard are very hard indeed especially during Ramadan.
Most of the better options you state are actually rated lower than us on review sites .
We charge Rp400,000 per night in hi-season because we offer more than most budget accommodation, your room is cleaned twice daily , you have beach towels aswell as towels in the bathroom., complimentary bottled water everyday , soap,safety deposit box, good variety of breakfast (our opinion)
We are a small bungalow business not a star rated hotel.Our website is accurate and does not
try to mislead anyone.
We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay or food that we had to offer but maybe in the future a little bit of feedback whilst you are at a business could help especially as you was the one on holiday.
During your stay we also had a 13 day old baby and my wife had a C section operation to recover from , which is not an excuse but just so you can understand a situation a little better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    45
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
25
72
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

We met friends here, who had a baby, and stayed for 4 nights, each in our own Chill Out bungalow and were very happy with our choice. The location is good, a 10 second walk from the main strip which looks out on to the beach, and the bungalows themselves are very comfortable with good AC, good wifi, spacious outdoor bathrooms, cable TV, a fridge, a safe and a good breakfast. Each bungalow has its own verandah where you can, um, chill out and, despite it being so close to the action was really quiet so you got a decent night's sleep. For 650,000 Idr (with a 50 pound deposit per chill out bungalow to reserve it), the bungalows were decent value given that it is the Gili islands after all, and it was peak season.

The British owner and his wife were very friendly and made sure we were well-looked after. We were given a cot for the baby and they were really helpful when it came to things like hot water to sterilise bottles; it helped that they have a baby of their own. My friend even left something in the safe by accident and Vinny was really good in sending it safely across with a boat back to Bali. In general, the set up is efficient and well-run; even though not all of the staff speak great English, it was always easy to find someone who could understand you.

Unfortunately we visited during Eid so the restaurant, like many others, was closed for 3 days so we can't really comment on the food, although everyone we told where we were staying said it was the best on the island. The restaurant faces right on to a nice beach where you can go snorkelling in the morning but the current tended to pick up a bit by the afternoon. The best beaches are on the North coasts of Gili Air and Gili Meno to be honest but we wanted to be sure of comfort, given that we we were travelling with a baby, and the best beaches are dead easy to get to anyway so it was no biggy.

All in all, Chill Out bungalows was a very comfortable and friendly base to explore the Gilis and really good value for what you get. We could have stayed a lot longer.

Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank losmochileros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi losmochileros
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the chill out bungalows and sorry for the timing of your stay that literally the day you arrived we had to close the restaurant and could only cater for your breakfasts, but having no staff makes it quiet impossible , thank you for being understanding
I am glad your friend received his kindle i was worried a little sending it if it got to him in time.
If any body is reading this review just a couple of points the bungalows don't have fridges but you used our one at the bar and we require a 50% deposit to confirm a booking now.
we hope to see you back here again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently spent the week staying in the bungalows at Chill Out. This place was so good we were booked in for 4 nights but managed to extend our stay an extra 2! Chill Out bungalows are very comfortable and clean. Cleaned twice daily, air-con and outdoor bathroom. Only a 30 sec walk down to the Chill Out Bar for excellent and well priced meals and drinks. It is very central to the main popular walking area and other bars, scuba diving companies etc. All the staff are very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StraitOfWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your review kyle a
we are very leased you enjoyed your stay in our bungalows and the food at the bar
and hope we will see you again on Gili Air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

We had a great time on Gili Air. We stayed in a glass style bungalow and it was very comfortable, spotlessly clean with a lovely comfortable veranda. Vinny and Susi are really friendly and welcoming and all the staff at the bar and bungalows are lovely. The glass style bungalows are set in a different location to the bar (about a 5-10 min walk away in a quiet location) although this really isn't a problem at all and its nice to stroll down to the bar for breakfast in the mornings. The food is great, the fish barbecues in the evenings in particular are really good. The only caveat would be that the glass style bungalows are probably more suited to families travelling together as they are separated by a partial wall and a partial bamboo screen so you can almost hear your neighbours breathing! However, we spent so little time in the bungalow it really didn't matter. I would thoroughly recommend Chill Out as a happy, relaxing place to stay and Gili Air is the perfect island for chilling out!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amarillo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Amarillo178
Thank you very much for staying with us whilst you were on Gili Air and we are glad you enjoyed your stay.
You are correct in your comments about the Glass style being more suited for families, this was the intention when they were built , we do have plans to make the dividing wall more sound proof
We are glad you enjoyed the food and recommending us , hopefully we will see you back sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamburg
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

The Chill Out Lumbungs (10 min. away from the Chill Out Bar) are the perfect place on Gili Air!
Staying here you can really relax: they are very new, clean, modern and cozy, a beautiful open air bathroom, own terrace, free water, room-service twice a day, huge soft towels, set in a quiet area ...
And: the breakfast is amazing! Just for the breatfast it is worth to pay maybe a bit more than at other places.
But: you don´t have the sea infront of your room. But just rent a bike so you are at the sea in 1 minute and at the Chill Out Bar in 5 minutes. Having a bike on Gili Air is nice anyway - to get to the sunset in the afternoon and to see the local life in the island center!

The Bar+Restaurant is also the perfect place for the beach-day with its sunbeds, happy hour and fish BBQ!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sonja k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi sonja k
Thank you for your kind comments about our bungalows and bar and we are glad you enjoyed your stay on our small island.
if any body is reading this review just a small point that you stayed in our lumbung sepi bungalows
the chill out lumbungs are the ones by the beach and bar.
Hopefully we will see you on our little piece of paradise again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

Our initial plan was to stay at Giliair for 10 days but thanks to this fantastic place, we ended up changing our plans and spending a whole month here!

Suzi and her staff are great and the evening BBQ is absolutely delicious!

Giliair is a fantastic couples island and Chill Out Bar & Bungalows are perfectly located by the best part of this paradise beach.

The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and we strongly recommend that you book the Beach Lumbungs as they are just 20 meters from the beach!

We have travelled a lot in South East asia and we have never found such excellent value for money as in Giliair. This is Thailand 15 years ago! You escape the mass tourism and the backpackers for a relaxing, romantic and very affordable paradise!

Room Tip: Book the Beach Lumbungs! They are an additional USD 10 but it is well worth it! 20m from the best be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeviMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi LeviMaria
We are very pleased you found our place and stayed with us for your holidays , thankyou for all the comments about the rooms and the food and hopefully you will return one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed in the bungalows with air con for 2 nights, very nice place and excellent value for money. The room was really comfortable and very clean. Breakfast was good and it was great eating it virtually on the beach with the sound of the sea lapping the shore.
Gili Air is a lovely island, very chilled! The snorkeling and diving are excellent. Only thing that let it down was the lack of wi fi although I understand this will be sorted soon.

Room Tip: Pay for the air con bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canterbu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bungalows, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Hi Canterbu
Just to let you know we have sorted the wi-fi out finally , apart from the disruptions from the mainland.
we would just like to say thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.1 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.2 mi away
Bel Air Resort and Spa
Bel Air Resort and Spa
#6 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chill Out Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chill Out Bungalows

Property: Chill Out Bungalows
Address: Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 81339, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 129 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located on the tropical island of Gili Air and offer various types of accommodation on this beautiful and tranquil piece of paradise set in the heart of Indonesia just off the North Western tip of Lombok.Whether you are looking for modern and clean Air Conditioned Fresh hot water showers with western bathroom accommodation set next to the best swimming and sunbathing beach area on Gili Air or Fan only Bungalows set away from the beach in a quiet peaceful area then we can offer you various types of accommodation on Gili Air. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Chill Out Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chill Out Bungalows Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing