We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fell in Love”
Review of Tangga Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tangga Bungalows
Ranked #24 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 22, 2013

What a wonderful place to stay. I have seen & stayed at many places over the past 4months of travelling & i must say this was my favorite. The wood & bamboo bungalows on stilts were so spacious, inviting & super clean. I fell right into the large comphy bed with a bunch of pillows without hesitation, as I have other places ive stayed. The huge front porch provided a great place to chill on a traditional woven hammock & extra bed. Four people could easily stay at the one I stayed in by myself for 5 days...it was a mansion! I loved the attention to details...many places to hang your towels & cloths inside & outside, there were multiple electrical outlets in logical places & the shower was a waterfall that actually gave a great shoulder massage & wasn't clogged or spraying in all directions because of the salt water mineral buildup. I really felt relaxed, at peace & secluded from the rest of the island. Loved that they have planted many native, medicinal (which was used on my injured finger) & edible plants around their land providing lots of privacy & tranquility. Besides the bungalows Seti & Ika are such a gracious & lovely couple. They made me feel at home, protected & took care of me on so many levels. They also taught me more about their language, culture & what Tangga Bungalows stood for. I wish you the best & I will take the steps to visit once again. Much love brotha & sista!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luluslounge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (83)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 83 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed a long time In Tangga Bungalows and i always had a good feeling there. Its just beautidul you can enjow a lot of garden there is always breath becose its not packed with bungalows and the Price is very fair for the value. Would always recommend it. Loved and love beeing there. Quitness and not far away from beach and everything else. Just a very very good place. Go and check it out your self :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissElo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Tangga Bungalows for a week and we had a great time! The bungalow was spaceous and nicely decorated. Also the 'relaxation' area outside with all the cushions was amazing. We loved to stay there when it was too hot to lay on the beach.
What made our stay really memorable was the great staff. A really nice couple was willing to help us with everything, we could borrow snorkling gear (there's great snorkling just in front of the bungalows) and got loads of tea! We even had a dinner together with some fish fresh from the ocean. Also the breakfast was delicious, with a lot of variety (and fresh fruit).

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lotte D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The bungalows look nice and are spacious....from what I have seen from the outside. Our friends made a booking for us directly with the guy who manages the bungalows. Unfortunately when my friend and I arrived two days before Christmas, the owner greeted us with a message that our booking cannot be honored because "there has been a mistake with the booking." and he himself will stay in our bungalow. So here we are on an island that took us a couple of hours to get to in a busy Christmas season without a place to sleep...

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Owner at Tangga Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2013

I'm really so sorry Kathryn that you were displeased with how we managed your booking. But the explanation was easy. Seti and Ika assumed that my son (who traveled there with me) and I would stay in the same house, when I had promised him an own. So instead of us two relocating to another place, we arranged it in consultation with you guys. We are glad to accommodate you at another time. It feels unfair that somehow you judge TB from not have had the chance to stay there properly. And if anyone's wronged here it's me. Not Ika And Seti.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This place is beautiful. The huts are big and comfortable. A real effort has been made with the furnishings- not something we've seen anywhere else. The balcony is what sets it apart from other huts. It's spacious with table, chairs, hammock and mattress- this will get cleaned up every day while your out. The drapes on the balcony offer great privacy. Breakfast is served to you on the balcony. When we asked what time its served we were told anytime your awake- so we never missed out! The coffee is good and really cheap if you want to order more. The gardens the huts are set in are lovely- a real retreat. Unfortunately it wasn't so quiet for us. There were building works in the field next door which was irritating all day then by night the parties were in town! During our weeks stay we were kept awake 5 nights. I'm told it was the pre ramadan parties so maybe we were just unlucky. Those who think gili air isn't a party island- think again, every night theres a party somewhere! Full moon, half moon, dark moon- you name it, they'll have a party for it! Anyway its not tanggas fault, I would definitely stay there again, beautiful place with wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank n1c8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Manager at Tangga Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Thank you for a gretat review.
Sorry though that you were kept awake, but that is surely temporary.
We are looking forward to the development of the neighboring property, which is (according to the manager) due to become an ecological paradise for families. Right in line with how we also are thinking about Tangga B.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a week in June. The bungalows are just beautiful, they are huge with ample space to unpack. Each bungalow has a huge balcony with a double mattress and hammock to chill in. The bungalows are set amongst well kept gardens and are only a stone throw from the beach. There are only 4 bungalows on site so there is a lovely feeling of exclusivity.

The best thing about Tangga Bungalows is the lovely couple who work there. They are both so very welcoming and make you feel at home. Ikka ( the young girl who works there) brought our breakfast to our balcony every morning. When we had some washing she hung it up on her washing line and when it was dry she folded it up and put it on our balcony. She is always smiling and happy to help in any way without you even having to ask.

I would HIGHLY recommend this place and we will certainly be returning before our travels are finished.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Genphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter G, Manager at Tangga Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

It makes us all so happy to hear that you've had such a nice stay at ours. It really sounds like we've managed to create exactly what we've been aiming for. That is, an oasis in paradise, with a mix between sociability and privacy.
Selamat datang lagi - Welcome back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank sempr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.2 mi away
Rival Village
Rival Village
#17 of 148 in Gili Air
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Air Bungalows
Gili Air Bungalows
#10 of 148 in Gili Air
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
Omah Gili Accomodation
Omah Gili Accomodation
#5 of 148 in Gili Air
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Captain Coconuts Gili Air
Captain Coconuts Gili Air
#13 of 148 in Gili Air
41 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balengku Homestay
Balengku Homestay
#20 of 148 in Gili Air
36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Salim Cottage
Salim Cottage
#27 of 148 in Gili Air
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tangga Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tangga Bungalows

Address: Gang Tangga Bungalows | East Side Gili Air, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: $20 - $31 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Please welcome into our blissful oasis in paradise. Once you before deciding read our reviews, you will realize; Tangga Bungalows is a home away from home, where you want to stay long and long to return to. Here you meet not just staff but the owners; Setti and Ika. TB is a unique win-win, joint venture. Built from passion on grass-roots level, between a Swedish wandering soul and the most beautiful accommodating hearts of simple-life Indonesians. The narrow little path takes you just the 150 meters off the beach road you need, to enter our garden and bubble of serenity, while still being close to all you want. Stay secluded and private in your bungalow; swing in the hammock and watch all the colorful birds chirping in the bushes. Come and sit on the terrace by the kitchen and have a chat. Play some games, or choose a book you want to exchange. We care for each other, we care for our bungalows, and we would love to care for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Tangga Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tangga Bungalows Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing