We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Omah Gili Accomodation
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level 5 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

We were so excited about coming to Gili Air as we'd heard such good things about it.

Arriving at Omah Gili we discovered that they are expanding and currently building new accommodation as it is currently low season. Having come from a hotel in Ubud that was tranquility personified, this was hugely disappointing. We had planned to stay for 8 days and had paid 50% deposit before arriving. It was policy for the hotel to take the remainder on check-in. I informed them that we were not going to pay the balance but would stay for the 4 nights and make a decision on the remainder after we had stayed a few nights. We were told that was not possible, either we they refunded us our deposit and we find somewhere else to stay, or pay in full and stay the 8 nights. After some 'discussion' we managed to convince them this wasn't a reasonable situation and we did indeed stay for the 4 nights.

The hotel is nice enough, the rooms are a bit dark but in good condition and the outdoor bathroom was nice.

To be fair to Omah, there is a lot of building on Gili Air at the moment in preparation for the high season which is understandable. We were just very disappointed because were looking for somewhere to really unwind and relax and you can't do that with the sound of construction in the background.

One other little thing, it really isn't acceptable to be sweeping the floors outside peoples rooms at 6.30am.

If it wasn't for the building work, I'd probably upgrade my review to 3-4 stars.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wilvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OmahGili, Owner at Omah Gili Accomodation, responded to this review, October 23, 2014
dear customer
thank you for giving your time to write review for Omah Gili. For your booking we already tell that all booking is fix booking so no refund, no change date and no cancelation, because we in Gili having lots of trouble for internet especialy inland that even phone signal is sometimes on and off everytime and also power cut is a normal happend in Indonesia not only in Gili, so we want to make sure that all customer is having the room when they are here..

For your booking you make 8 nights like you say and you want to try 4 night first which is we already tell you if you not sure why you not just book 4 nighs only and then extend if you like it and if we still have rooms also. Gili is become popular the last few year so April is not low season for us and many of our customer didnt get the room for extend because already book by other guest.

For the building in Gili Air i think its not fair that you blame us and giving 2 star review because the builder has the rule to work only from 9-5pm and no to use loud machine before 10am. And the sound is from our background.

but on beacuse the building work you give mark on room, service and cleanliness 3 point which is doesnt related to the building.


cheers

dita
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    78
    43
    11
    12
See reviews for
52
139
30
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gili Air, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Don't believe what they say about there being a pool here unless you want to swim in a glorified bath full of dirty, tepid water. Awful breakfast, practically in edible. Lovely big rooms but very dark.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Sian510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenton Park
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

Me and my partner spent 2 nights at Omah Gili and had an amazing time! Excellent value for money with beautiful, clean, quiet, charming rooms; wonderful staff (especially the gentleman at the reception) and great location (only a minute walk to the beach where the best snorkelling is on the island). A hidden paradise on Gilli Air, we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZsuzsiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

There is very little to no negative things to be said about this place. Omah Gili is very well run by a small team of competent and genuine staff. The warmth of the people and the place makes you feel like you're at home, rather than at a conventional hotel. My only regret is that I did not get to stay for a longer time! Omah Gili is most certainly a great place if you're at Gili Air. Special thanks to Nur, Amir, Gita, and Agus! I hope to see you all again real soon :)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohndeSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Omah for 5 days and 4 night. The location was near the beach, dive centers and hang out center of gili air island. The ambiance is excellent. We booked lumbung room which is quite spacious with extra bed in upper deck. The room is clean and tidy. It has open space bathroom concept. The breakfast is nice. The room rate is reasonable and definitely will go back for the next gili trip.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Cibangcibung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

Only about a five minute walk after you get off from the boat at the harbour, a bit confusing to get to the hotel at first but we had some very friendly locals to guide us there. Greeted by Nur and her friendly team, taken to our room and fell in love with the outdoor bathroom. It's close enough to the beach but far enough so that it isn't noisy. Service was great, rooms were cleaned daily and usually when we're having breakfast and a very comfy bed. Wifi is a bit slow but who needs wifi when you've got the beach two minutes away from you?

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Crunchy_t0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pushkar, India
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2014

My friend and I discovered Omah's while looking around and we were so lucky to find this place. Such an incredible attention, such great people! It was worth every penny . Hope to go back and spend longer to enjoy all they can offer. My only suggestion is that breakfast could be more interesting.....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucia_baroukh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.2 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
337 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
576 reviews
0.5 mi away
Aza Zil Bungalows
Aza Zil Bungalows
#6 of 136 in Gili Air
93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turtle Beach Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel
#15 of 136 in Gili Air
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omah Gili Accomodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omah Gili Accomodation

Property: Omah Gili Accomodation
Address: Gili Air | Behind Manta Dive and Sunrise, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omah Gili accommodation is located in the middle part of Gili Air and it’s only a few minutes walk from the beach.Gili is synonymous with nature, this is why we designed the rooms on traditional indonesian styles. Our Rooms are Lumbung and Geladak style made from durable wood with traditional thatched roofs, combined with modern western comforts.For the interior we have comfortable beds and custom made wood ornaments. The open air bathroom has a tasteful natural style, using custom made bamboo shower, western toilet and clean towels.Our room has a garden view private terrace where you can spend quality time with friends or your loved one.Our Lumbung and Geladak Rooms provide A/C, fan, hot water shower and breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omah Gili Accomodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omah Gili Accomodation Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing