We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Remote Location on Gili Air”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Island View Bungalows
Ranked #36 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Island View Bungalows for three weeks while on Gili Air and loved it. The resort is on the west side of the island in a very remote area. It gets fabulous views of the sunset and is right on the beach - It is unbelievably quiet and peaceful and perfect for honeymooners looking to escape it all! The walk into town (restaurants, dive shops, etc) is 15 minutes by beach. The staff is extremely friendly and they serve a delicious breakfast on the beach in the morning of omelets, eggs, pancakes. Laundry is also available on-site, which is nice. WiFi was not working at the resort during our time there, but that was most of the resorts on Gili Air, with the exception of Scallywags. Overall, we had a great time at Island View Bungalows and would highly recommend it to others traveling to the stunning island of Gili Air

Room Tip: Air conditioning might be worthwhile to pay a little extra for, as the evenings do get hot
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LandingStanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (88)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 88 reviews

Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights, got upgraded to the bigger bungalow as there was a miscommunication with the bookings (not that we minded at all!) the bungalow was big but could have done with a really good clean down as everything looked a little worse for wear. the bed was comfortable and the location was away from the livelier side of Gili Air, around a 20 minute walk through the village. I would say to bring a torch if you are going to walk around at night as the staff didn't have any spares and we spent most of our using my phone as a make shift light! The food at drinks at the bar are reasonably priced and the view you get is beautiful. Would most definitely reccomend,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PinkCherryBlossom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We spent 12 amazing days at this romantic resort. After looking through all the accommodations at Tripadvisor, we chose Island View because of the more remote and on-beach location (10 seconds away). Its not that remote, about 15 minutes beachwalk to all the restaurants and diving centres. 5 minutes walk to the restaurants in the local village at the center of the island.
Island View is run by a extremely serviceminded and very nice Norwegian couple and everybody working here is family related, a good thing.
Its clean, exeptional good and new bungalows, great and tasteful local food. Not for partying, but family and romance! Stop looking for accommodations at Gili Air, after looking at all the others while we were here, we found these 6-7 bungalows to be the best on the island, and we have high standards! Enjoy snorkeling with local turtles and relax while served fresh fruit drinks at the beach!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Elgsaas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

The bed was covered with fresh flowers when we arrived, hot and cold water, 50 m to the beach, friendly people, good service, breakfast is included and great! This is as close to heaven you can get on earth! The best place on Gili Air to watch the sunset, very quiet and calm. Fantastic snorkeling in the reef just 15 m from the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sillresor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2011

This newish place - it opened in 2010- on the west side of Gili Air seems to have it all: six lovely bungalows in a small garden filled with coconut trees. They have been built in different styles, two come with aircon and outdoor hammock, four are with a fan and a little verandah. I stayed five nights in a traditional looking bungalow with a twin bed including mosquito net, wooden floors, a fan, and a lovely open air shower with hot water. The bungalows are located only fifty meters from the beach. There is a small bar where you can have a drink and have your choice of meals from a small menu. The families who own this place are very friendly and always ready to chat. Overall, it is a very laidback place where hours easilly become days and days can become weeks. I stayed there in low season at the end of September and I paid only 200,000 IDR, which was a bargain. Some things have to be take into account: the west beach of the island is quiet and beautiful and you have the sunset with Mount Agung in the background. But often swimming is impossible, especially at ebb tide. There is a large reef close to the beach. Furthermore, it is rather far from the boat landing and the west coast with its restaurants and shops. It is an easy and pleasant twenty-five minutes walk during day-time. But at night it is a long and lonely walk in the dark. When I say dark it is really dark! You absolutely need a torch and you have to memorize the small lanes or go via the beach. Furthermore, the people who own the place are very kind but room service is absent, at least when I was there. I had to ask for towels and toilet paper, and the room was cleaned when I arrived but that was it. There was a wardrobe in my room but it was in a sorry state and could hardly be used. Finally, the light bulbs in the room were not really suitable for reading. All in all a mixed experience - very acceptable because I paid a low price, unacceptable I would say at regular rates which I understood can be IDR 500,000 or more.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sebbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Cyndie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank Mariah_T_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Salabose Cottages & Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Gili Air Bungalows
Gili Air Bungalows
#8 of 148 in Gili Air
85 reviews
0.8 mi away
Pelangi Cottages
Pelangi Cottages
#10 of 61 in Gili Air
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Puri Air Beach Resort and Spa
0.2 mi away
Salili Bungalow
Salili Bungalow
#18 of 148 in Gili Air
119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Biba Beach
Biba Beach
#7 of 61 in Gili Air
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island View Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island View Bungalows

Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: $31 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Island View Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island View Bungalows Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing