We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive vibe cheap food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scallywags Mango Retreat
Ranked #3 of 60 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

I just had the most delicious filling veggie BBQ shish-kebob that included a salad and choice of baked potato, rice or fries for rp55,000 (about $5.50). And the price for meat kebobs wasn't too far off from that. So filling. So delicious. I highly recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank JacieSturm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 222 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

A perfect place to get away from everything and to just calm down. The atmosphere is relaxed, and it's a perfect place to bring your boy-/girlfriend. Food at the restaurant is delicious and stuff is friendly and help you with whatever. We felt welcomed and they fixed everything for us. Definitely a place we'll go to again. Thank you guys at scallywags for a great time

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorwayAnniken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Perfect if you're looking for a remote, idyllic island getaway to escape and recharge from the madness of everyday city life.

We booked the Mango Retreat and the villas are new and clean, nice big comfortable bed with clean sheets every day, and a lovely outdoor shower and patio.

If you take a short 10-min walk to the beachfront, where the restaurant is, along a dirt path meandering around swaying coconut trees and grazing cows. Savour the peace and quiet, say hello to a village kid or two.

The breakfast is nice and fresh. Sit back be mesmerised by the view ...sparkles of sunlight glinting off the waters, gentle waves lapping on the beach, majestic views of Mount Rinjani rising up in the background...absolutely magical!

The sunbeds on the beach are great. Just have a swim in the cool waters if you get too hot, or snorkel! Or hangout in one of the lounge chairs and read a book in the shade.

The villa provides bicycles for your use, so explore the villages around the island if you have the time. Get to the other side of the island just before the sunset, there are a few basic but rustic beach bars & cafes with big lounges placed for maximum view of the beautiful sunsets while you enjoy a cocktail or two. Make sure to bring your camera, because the sunset is magical.

We've truly enjoyed our stay in Scallywags and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Go for the Mango Retreat bungalows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CHEROKEEWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Probably the best design and setup of rooms in Gili Air with attention to details. Great service at both - Mango retreat and in Scallywags beach club (with really nice food and best BBQ dinner. If smbdy find it overpriced - just check kitchen in other places. I agree to pay more for clean hygiene kitchen, excellent service and attentive manager even if food same. But I didnt want try other places). Location of Mango retreat - 5-6 min walk thru charming village. We found it a BONUS as we really enjoyed to walk there watching baby-goats, cows, chickens and small houses of villagers. I wished to book Mango retreat for my next trip in August - but it was fully booked already(( We stayed 2 nights only in 2 rooms, 5 of us. And didnt want leave. Scallywags beach club located on the best beach in Air. We saw few turtles during snorkeling just in 100 m from the beach. Great place, great family holiday!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxi_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We happened to run into Mira from scallywags, while passing the restaurant, and noticed a specials board with accommodation, ( we hadn't booked previously) . we were offered a beautiful room in the MANGO resort, (a couple minutes walk inland) with great pool and excellent service.
Room was spotless, fresh water and hot water shower, mini bar, private garden area and a great buffet breakfast and complimentary drinking water.
This is a great place to stay if you need some creature comforts.

Room Tip: The resort and motel are locate on same site, the motel cheaper, but no pool or gardens, and separat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ernie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights recently. We were recommended as the motel rooms were very reasonably priced. We stayed in a double motel room and the low season price was very reasonable. The staff are very nice and helpful. The free buffet breakfast at their organic restaurant was a great addition. The location is not near the beach but it is a 5 minute walk to the restaurants and beaches. The free access to their sunloungers is great as well. The room is clean, modern and the facilities such as aircon, and tv were an extra bonus. They also have their own generator so the rooms do not run out of power or have power surges, unlike the rest of the island. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Mango motel room 6d is the furthest away from the generator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We paid $90 per night with bfst
Pros
Lovely new, clean rooms with great beds and bathrooms
Fairly quiet and private
Great pool which we had to ourselves even though the hotel was full
Adequate breakfast - but would prefer alacarte rather than buffet
The restaurant on the beach is in a beautiful setting and the meals are good if not a bit overpriced
The amazing Manageress (sorry I have forgotten her name but she used to work in Dubai) - a total asset to the business - she must never sleep - seemed to always be on hand to make sure everything ran smoothly and that guests were well cared for - a true gem !
98% of the staff - friendly and helpful

Cons
A bit of a trek to the beach and restaurant which was ok for a couple of days but think it would drive me nuts after a while :(
Very surly girl on the cash register and the guy who said the phones didn't work so could not order a taxi to collect us in Lombok from the speed boat transfer but incredibly could offer us a private transfer with his mate at 3 times the price of a cab.
Not great when we had already spent $30 on a speed boat transfer with Scallywags :(
A dodgy and uncomfortable situation

Highly recommended and would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MickiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.2 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 20 in Gili Air
606 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
3.0 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
782 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Mango Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Mango Retreat

Address: Jl. Scallywags no. 1-2, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 60 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range: $53 - $147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Mango Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Retreat. Situated in the heart of the village of Gili Air and its 5-7 minute walks from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Each of the 6 rooms open onto the free form swimming pool that is built around the shady mango trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Scallywags Mango Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Mango Retreat Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing