We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A total getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Scallywags Mango Retreat
Ranked #2 of 56 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
City, Country
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A total getaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

Scallywags was wonderful. A total getaway. Food was good. The accommodation was an oasis in the middle of the island. Loved the lovely cold pool to come back to after a hot day on the beach. Loved riding around the island on the Scallywags bikes. Scallywags was everything all the reports said it was and more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timberhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    53
    21
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
116
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level Contributor
92 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

I liked Scallywags Gili air. The Hotel is about 7 minutes walk from the beach/restaurant Scallywags in the middle of the island. Great rooms, nice pool and friendly staff. Bicycles for free and everything well decorated.
Amazing food at the restaurant and best beach chairs with white sand beach.
What you want more!
Make a bicycle tour around the island, enjoy the sunset and make a break at the Reggae Bob Marley Bar. Life can be so simple and nice, here in this island you feel it. I liked the silence at nighttime.
Would like to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicemanaustria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Great welcome drink on arrival and a lovely welcome from the Lady manager at this resort. The location of this place right on the beach makes it a wonderful place to stay. We stayed in a room behind the restaurant so we didn't have the 10min walk back to the room which made the stay even better. The restaurant was good with some lovely food but it did take its time coming the staff are in no rush here apart from the host. We had a free boat ride to there main hotel on Trawangan which was lovely. Overall I would pick this hotel every time on Gili Air.

Room Tip: Get the room behind the restaurant saves the walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was our second time to the Gili's and this time we stayed on Gili Air. Quiet compared to Gili T, but therefore a totally different feel to it. Scallywags is still the place to be, also on Gili Air. Great, helpful staff, good food and very decent rooms. We booked connecting rooms, which in this case means connecting gardens, because we are traveling with 3 kids. The only "downside" if one is real critical is that the rooms are a 8-10 min walk from the restaurant. Other than that, very much recommended!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JP T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Tucked away in the heart of Gili Air yet just 5 minutes from the beach lies Scallywags Mango Retreat. The rooms were well styled with private front gardens, great a/c and importantly had fresh water showers in a really nice outdoor bathroom. The staff were always cheerful and helpful, especially giving us fresh aloe due a sun burn disaster. Breakfast by the sea in the morning was an amazing way to start the day and the bikes provided to nip down there were a great extra. Our final stay in Asia and what a place to end the trip!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AMurphy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Perfect if you're looking for a remote, idyllic island getaway to escape and recharge from the madness of everyday city life.

The villas are new and clean, nice big comfortable bed with clean sheets every day, and a lovely outdoor shower and patio.

This would be your typical day:
1. Get up at 9am, take a short walk 10-min walk to the beachfront, where the restaurant is, along a dirt path meandering around swaying coconut trees and grazing cows. Savour the peace and quiet, say hello to a village kid or two.
2. Get to the restaurant, ask for a beach towel and bagsy the best lounge you can find (but don't hog!).
3. Order breakfast, have a beer with breakfast if you like! Sit back be mesmerised by the view ...sparkles of sunlight glinting off the waters, gentle waves lapping on the beach, majestic views of Mount Rinjani rising up in the background...absolutely magical!
4. Adjourn to your lounge chair, read a book, have a swim in the cool waters if you get too hot, or snorkel!
5. When you've had enough of #4, head back to the villa, have a snooze, shower.
6. Get up in time for sunset, have dinner at local warung next door (the spicy chicken and veg coconut curry are to die for!).
7. Head back to villa, put on a DVD (the villa has a small but current collection), fall asleep in the middle of a movie if you like.
8. Wake up next morning. Repeat 1-7. Lol!

The villa provides bicycles for your use, so explore the villages around the island if you have the time - but don't be an ugly guest and hog the keys to the bike so other guests can't use them! Get to the other side of the island just before the sunset, there are a few basic but rustic beach bars & cafes with big lounges placed for maximum view of the beautiful sunsets while you enjoy a cocktail or two.

Try the local fare, the quality is very good, ingredients very fresh (especially the warung next to the villa) and price cheap.

Go during the low season to enjoy the best that Gili Air & Scallywags has to offer.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manjacat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

Emails were answered quickly. You send them a copy of your credit card and ID to secure booking and can pay the bill with credit card at no extra charge (many places add a 3% fee). A horse cart took us there for 50,000. Check in was fast and rooms are spacious, light and clean. You have your own private front yard with porch secured behind a wall and locked door. The front of the villa has sliding doors with plenty of glass to let in the light.

A/c works very well. There’s a DVD, TV, kettle, large comfy bed with two pillows each, fully stocked fridge, safe, hair dryer, etc. Linens are decent. They bring two small bottles of water around 6pm but water out of sink is potable. Bathrooms are lovely with standing shower and super hot water, drying rack, two sinks and soap products. There are gaps in the doors so bring bug spray. I never saw a mosquito in the room but did wake up with a few bites.

Scallywags serves decent food and you can charge it to your room. There is room service although it is a limited menu. Tried to get mustard instead of mayo and ended up with a totatlly different sandwich than I asked for so beware.

WIFI is available in rooms but doesn’t work well (weak signal and cuts out) – it’s better at the restaurant. Breakfast is included and is served at the restaurant. Night was quiet.

We used Marina Srikandi for the ferry – purchased a return trip from our guesthouse in Ubud. The ride to Gili Air went well (the van’s a/c was broken) but the return trip was a disaster. We checked 5 times that the return boat from Gili Air would leave at noon as we had a flight to catch and it was confirmed; as well, it was written on the ticket as a 12:00 departure. We even checked in 24 hours before and were told by the fellow on Gili Air to be there at 1130 am to catch the noon boat. We waited 1 hour – being told the boat was late until finally the fellow called his boss who told us we missed the 11am boat. He refused to give us our money back telling us we had to take the 3pm boat (we would surely miss our 7pm flight). Luckily Scoot had a 1pm boat we could get on but it was over twice the price of what we had paid MS. We explained our situation to the woman and she called MS and they agreed to put our ticket price towards a new ticket with Scoot. We were so lucky she helped us out! Don’t use Marina Srikandi!!!

As for Mango, it’s a bit of a walk to the beach and Scallywags but last time we stayed at Coconut Cottages we walked further. The island is very quiet with a great vibe which is why we’ve come back; that and to dive with Manta again (which we love). I’d stay at Mango again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.2 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#2 of 148 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Scallywags Mango Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scallywags Mango Retreat

Property: Scallywags Mango Retreat
Address: Jl. Scallywags no. 1-2, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Scallywags Mango Retreat 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mango Retreat. Situated in the heart of the village of Gili Air and its 5-7 minute walks from the beach, harbour and our famous beach club. Each of the 6 rooms open onto the free form swimming pool that is built around the shady mango trees. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Scallywags Mango Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scallywags Mango Retreat Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing