We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great happy hour cocktails, right at the beach, really fun and busy place”

Chill Out Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 70 Restaurants in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chill Out Bar is set on the main beach area of Gili Air looking directly at Mount Rinjani Lombok and the warm tropical blue waters between them. This is an ideal setting for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or just to kick back relax and watch the world go by sipping on our freshly made Juices or a few Cocktails. We have a very extensive menu which includes a variety of appetizers, freshly made soups and salads. Indonesian and Chinese cuisine and Western favourites such as Pizza & Pasta, Burgers & Sandwiches all made from our In-House Bakery.Our daily Fresh Seafood BBQ is one of the best on Gili Air.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great happy hour cocktails, right at the beach, really fun and busy place”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ended up spending way too much time at the chillout as its pretty much the only place in the island which was buzzing with people.

The food was very good and not overpriced and a happy hour with 2 for 1 cocktails was a great touch

we end for lunch in the day as well and the fact its sitting on the best part of the beach around the island makes for a great place to go

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thiago F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Hi Thiago F thank you for taking the time to review us and that you enjoyed our place and spent too much time here , its easy to while away the hours here just relaxing by the beach, go for a quick dip and before you know it its happy hour and time for a cocktail or two
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    687
    441
    131
    27
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Dining on the beach”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

This restaurant is right on the beach, where you can dine at tables on the sand or at platforms with cushions for seats. The food was good, reasonably priced, with a large selection of different cuisines to chose from. They also had happy hour with cheap cocktails, which we enjoyed while waiting for our meals. Looked like a great place to sit back and enjoy Gili Air during the day too!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MickandSherryn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi MickandSherryn
Thank you for your review and we are glad you enjoyed our little place on the beach , the food and the cocktails , not a bad place to be sipping a few whilst waiting for dinner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly place, gorgeous accommodation, great food!”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Most gorgeous accommodation on the island. Beautifully designed bungalows with outdoor shower. The restaurant has fresh seafood nightly and the best tuna Hawaiian salad I've had! Friendly restaurant staff and all this right in front of the best beach spot on the island.

Chelsea

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hi Chelsea
Thanks for your great review and we are glad you enjoyed the bungalows food and the Hawaiian Salad ( spelled correctly) it was great to meet you and hope to see you back here again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb fresh seafood!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Chill Out bar was a great place to spend a day. I don't know if this would be possible in high season, but even though we were staying somewhere else, we were able to use the sunbeds all day as long as we had some drinks and food - and why wouldn't you! We had spent a day at Scallywags next door (which is also really great and so not being negative), but you do have to pay quite a big lounger fee to recoup against money and drinks. At Chill Out you were never hassled, but we enjoyed a few Bintang, excellent local dishes and then came back in the evening for their fresh seafood BBQ. You walk along the main strip at night and a lot of fish is sitting out (who knows for how many days) and not on ice. Here everything was cold and fresh and cooked on their huge BBQ. We enjoyed a whole white Snapper, which was huge, with potato and veg for $10! It's such good value, really tasty and served by really friendly staff who seem to all really enjoy working there. I can highly recommend this place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KP8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi KP8
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your time on Gili Air and especially at chill out bar , we are so happy you found our staff friendly and happy and that you liked our food especially the seafood BBQ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best place on the island!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Great sate! Enjoyed lunch here three times and dinner ones. Excellent cha kangkung. Most remarkable was the consistent quality, most other,places disappoint once you go back for another good experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mahejaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Hi Mahejeha
Thank you very much for your review, we are glad you enjoyed our Indonesian dishes and the consistency , we try very much to keep the food the same standards and taste every time so people enjoy their visit and food eveytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Out Bar & Bungalows also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Chill Out Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing