We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hangout, Good Food, But lots of rubish”

Chill Out Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #8 of 73 Restaurants in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $14
Cuisines: Barbecue, Indonesian, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Chill Out Bar is set on the main beach area of Gili Air looking directly at Mount Rinjani Lombok and the warm tropical blue waters between them. This is an ideal setting for Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or just to kick back relax and watch the world go by sipping on our freshly made Juices or a few Cocktails. We have a very extensive menu which includes a variety of appetizers, freshly made soups and salads. Indonesian and Chinese cuisine and Western favourites such as Pizza & Pasta, Burgers & Sandwiches all made from our In-House Bakery.Our daily Fresh Seafood BBQ is one of the best on Gili Air.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hangout, Good Food, But lots of rubish”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Very nice place, The food is awesome, staff is very friendly and helpful. The snorkeling in the beach is fantastic. The only problem is the rubbish. There is a lot of rubbish on the beach. Even in the water which is a shame. I am planning to go to Gili Air again next year, but if I see the same amount of rubbish i saw this year it will be my last time. It's a shame that such a paradise is becoming a rubbish dump. I was told that this year there was some tidal waves that brought all the rubish to the beach, Even though this is no excuse as surely the island can organise a tidy up I will give the benefit of the doubt until next year.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Inputflip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Inputflip i feel you are being rather harsh in reviewing us this way , your comments about our food and location and staff is great but the comments about the rubbish are not to do with Chill Out Bar !
You should be aiming your comments towards the Indonesian government to educate the people and find solutions for the country.
We clean our beach area every morning and take all the rubbish and have it collected at our own expense.In rainy season all the rubbish thrown in the river beds of the mainland gets washed into the sea and ultimately , depending on currents , ends up in our waters and on the beach.
We often pay for many horse carts of waste to be taken from our beach.
it is not ours or the islands sole responsibility and it would be an impossible task to take all the rubbish from the sea.
I think your comments should have been a trip adviser review about Gili Air or Indonesia and not give the blame to Chill Out Bar !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    749
    481
    153
    30
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
In transit
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited 3 times in March 2012 - great food and atmosphere! Had repeat performances of both the sayur lodeh (curry) and the amazing fish, including the fish burger. My husband and I grew up in fishing towns and have since lived all over Asia including 4 years in Japan, so are super picky about seafood quality/freshness. Nothing to fault at Chill-Out :) We'll be back

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MissThangInTransit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
MissThangInTransit thank you for your kind words about our seafood and curry , my wife's mother makes the sauce herself.Come back for some more anytime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome seafood kebabs.”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here twice during our 2 night stay on gili air. The seafood kebabs and the accompaniments not only tasted great but were good value at 40k-45k. They had wine by the glass for 40k too and the beer was reasonably priced. The service was speedy and attentive, without being overbearing. Chill out bar is just that, a great place to chill out with a good feed and some drinks.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genemerc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanks genemerc for taking the time to give us a great review we are glad you liked our place , the food and the drinks and the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fresh Fish”
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Great place to get fresh grilled fish! Went here every night for a week and was not disappointed. They even made my veggies to order (no garlic!).

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank namastecali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vinny T, husband at Chill Out Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
namastecali thank you for coming every night to our place thats a great recommendation in itself and thank you for the review , we hope you can make it back some day
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gili Air
2 reviews
“Chillout has it all..”
Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

I visit chillout on a regular basis and always find the food to be great. Wide variety, thathas something for everyone. Would really recommend the BBQ in the evenings, best on the island. The staff and owners are very friendly and helpful. Rooms are great value and are clean and have wi fi. Suzy runs a great outfit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlueMarlinGiliAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chill Out Bar & Bungalows also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Chill Out Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing