We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical sunset”
Review of Villa Casa Mio

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Casa Mio
Ranked #29 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The best location on Gili Air: view on Lombok, Gili Meno, Gili Air and Bali. The sunset here is amazing... We could spend all day long sitting in the cafe/restaurant admiring the landscape. It has direct and private access to the sea, and is located in the south of the island in a quiet and relaxing area (but only 10 minutes walk from harbor and most cafes/restaurants and other accommodations).
Rooms are cute with pure style of the region, they are comfortable and clean, with outdoor bathroom and toilets (100% nature), nice garden and pool. Good facilities (AC, modern TV and hi-fi, fridge, safety box).
Staff is very cool, friendly and helpful. It is a plus for this hotel.
Breakfast is tasty, generous and varied. Restaurant is quite good.
Though, the room rate was quite expensive while we were not during the high season.

Room Tip: We were in the "Ocean of love" room and it was nice, we did not try the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (156)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 73 of 156 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had 9 perfect nights at Casa Mio, booked 6 and after 2 days decided to extend, best decision ever. Casa Mio is a standout and by far our most memorable accommodation after many trips throughout Bali and the outer islands, making the whole Gili Air experience worth repeating. In all our trips we have never gone back to the same place twice but might be time to break with tradition.
Richard and Tanya run an excellent business where nothing is too much trouble. The service we received from them was 1st class and genuine. All the staff made us feel welcome, Ata always smiling and waving as he went about his business, the Indonesian lessons from Min when he brought us food and drink were a highlight for my wife and his last word was always “enjoy” which we did quite often.
We walked around the island (1 hour) and Casa Mio has the best location, the rooms are big and comfortable, a really nice refreshing pool with view of restaurant and beach, nice gardens, great restaurant on the beach with magic views of Lombok, Gili Meno, Gili T and Mt Agung (Bali). The sunsets from here are awesome and the music was excellent which really set the ambience. The food is unbelievable, so much so that after day 3 we decided there was nowhere better to eat breakfast, lunch and dinner. Mix all that together and you have a holiday to remember.
To sum up, Casa Mio ticked more boxes than we thought we had. It’s the complete package for us. If you need a daily programme to keep yourself occupied don’t bother. Gili Air is not for everyone which is great. Hopefully the masses stay away, preserving the island for those who appreciate the simple things in life.
Casa Mio, sepuluh out of sepuluh!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stay here with the recommodation of our friends who visited here last August.
Very impressed with the room style ,we loved the atmosphere and the decotation of the beach restaurant and the room we stayed (The ocean of Love)
Staffs are friendly and very helpful.
Good location with white sand beach,quite and peaceful !!

The sunset time(around 17:30) is amazing !!,with the full view of Mt.Agung(Bali) and the other twi gili islands,gili dream is our favorite cocktail while we sitting on the sunset beach for sunset.

the foods are great and nice decorated and presented, try delicious grilled fish on the sunset beach.

Tanya/Richard and her staffs did a good job to keep the good service standard.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We went to casa mio for lunch and were very dispointed with this place.
The food was not good, we ordered mi goreng which is the most basic indonesian food and it had no flavour, was red colour and a small portion. We also had club sandwich which was not good, weird chicken inside, bread not toasted, anyway, the food is not good.
Then we asked for the wifi password, and the staff (who was laying in hamac) was not able to help me, they said that the boss was not here so they did not know the password... I asked them to call their boss, but it was not possible, why ?! They really did not want to help.
Finally, we could not use the swimming pool because it was only for guests, it is the only place like this in Indonesia !
Maybe you are more welcome if you stay in the hotel but if you are just here for lunch, don t expect to feel good in Casa Mio !

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank popsloul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MioCasa, Manager at Villa Casa Mio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Hi
First we'll want to thank you for coming here for ordered fried noodle and the club sandwich,and there are some important issue to clarify your posting:
1.all of our toast and breads are stored in our refrigerator to keep fresh before taken out to kitchen,so we are sure that all toast has to be toasted before served,we never served cold toast to any of our visiting guests!!,as for the fried noodle,we served same portion to everyone (so as you) with same standard potion since we established this restaurant 13 years ago(founded in 1999).
we served only the fresh food materials to our guests so as the chicken and the organic rice and vegetables.

For keeping good quality internet connection without abused use of our bandwidth ----- NO FREE WIFI at our beach restaurant : There is a big sign in front our restaurant entrance(a BIG sign to make sure every one can see and understand) that we don't provide FREE WIFI ,and there is a rate listed CLEARLY on the big sign,we assumed that you didn;t saw our 80CM x 60CM BIG sign in front of our restaurant entrance or should you leave your email address so we can sent you a photo of the big sign?

And we don't have any obligation to provide FREE swimming pool for you,the pool is exclusively for in house guests who stay in our Villa only,not open for public.,we assumed you like our swimming poo welll,please be sure to book the room first so we can offering the full service (FREE wifi and FREE pool as well)yo you and your family.

Hope this clarify your posting well,

thank for your understanding and offering us a chance to serve you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

A surprising little gem on gili islands.
Excellent sunset view with beautiful private sandy beach,the beach is clean,well maintained compared to the other parts of gili air island.
Cozy beach front restaurant with chill out mood for relaxation
Only 4 charming rooms ,we stay at the "The ocean of love" spacious and clean that is only 4 meters away from amazing ocean view infinity pool.

Very friendly staffs with excellent service,food is great and professional presented,Satay and curry are our favorites .

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MioCasa, Manager at Villa Casa Mio, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Mr.Johnson:

Thank for your visiting and offering us the chance to serve you while you chosen Casa Mio for your honeymoon ,one of the most important moment of your life.

We are expecting for your coming and hope to see you soon.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My Wife, daughter and I have been fortunate to stay at Casa Mio Villas for a week, may 2011.
It has been a pleasure from beginning to end and so much more.

The location, accommidation, food, drinks and atmosphere were perfect,
accompanied by the natural human kindness and hospitality by Richard and Tanya,
made it a memory we hold dear.

We hope we may have the pleasure to experience it once more.

Kath, Shunyata and RIcardo

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ricardo O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MioCasa, Owner at Villa Casa Mio, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear Mr.Ricardo:

How r u?
Thank you for stay with us,all staffs here in Casa Mio are doing all efforts to make all guests feels at home ,new ocean view infinity pool is available for taking a delicious cocktail with romantic sunset view now.
Please coming back and enjoy the tropical serenity again.

and please forward our best wishes to your family.

Thank for your visiting again.

Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

We booked for 5 nights at Villa Casa Mio, 2 weeks ahead of our arrival. The day before we were due to arrive we got an email from Agoda to say the resort had mistakenly accepted our booking and in fact they were full. As we were already on holiday, it was pure luck that we checked emails. The late notice meant that we battled to find alternate acceptable accommodation. Very disappointing.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MioCasa, Owner at Villa Casa Mio, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Dear valued guest:

Thank for your booking via Agoda,we are sorry for the inconvenience of the error cancellation caused by Agoda's over booking.
Actually the room you booked is still secured and reserved for you.

Thank you again and wish to serve you soon in the future.

Best Regards
Casa Mio Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.3 mi away
Hotel Ombak Paradise
Hotel Ombak Paradise
#15 of 20 in Gili Air
64 reviews
0.7 mi away
Turtle Beach Hotel
Turtle Beach Hotel
#13 of 148 in Gili Air
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bel Air Resort and Spa
Bel Air Resort and Spa
#6 of 20 in Gili Air
326 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Beach Club Hotel Gili Air
0.6 mi away
Puri Air Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Casa Mio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Casa Mio

Address: Gili Air Lombok Indonesia, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia (Formerly Casa Mio Villas)
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 148 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range: $80 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Hideaway with modern comfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Villa Casa Mio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Mio Villas Hotel Gili Air
Villa Casa Mio Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing