We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice bungalows, good staff and great diving!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice bungalows, good staff and great diving!”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This resort lived up to expectations. The staff here all make up a great team that made us feel very welcome and well looked after. The bungalow was very comfortable (especially the new pillows :) ) and loved the outdoor shower. The breakfast each morning was so tasty as we looked out over beautiful view. I had planned on having my first ever introductory dive only but felt so relaxed with Rob teaching me that I decided to do the whole open water dive certification. There was no pressure at any time to do so. Now I feel confident as a qualified diver. I can't recommend this resort and the great staff enough. Thanks guys!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stacy6767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

787 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    200
    43
    13
    3
See reviews for
110
430
65
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albury, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

We stayed at Manta Dive for four nights. The room was beautiful, comfortable bed, and super comfy new pillows! The staff were all very friendly and helpful. We went diving with Manta, and Tom did his open water certification. Rob was an excellent teacher and helped make learning easy, fun and relaxing. The breakfast was lovely - gorgeous omelettes and freshly baked bread. We loved the outdoor shower. Staying right on the beach where the snorkelling is excellent was a big advantage, and we certainly made use of the Chill Out Bar about 250m from the hotel for most of our meals. Excellent food, great happy hour cocktails, and amazing views towards Lombok's Mt Rinjani. Because we booked online Manta gave us 10% discount on dive trips/courses and accommodation. Absolutely loved everything about this place and would most certainly stay again.

Room Tip: We loved room number 2 tucked away behind the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey2402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Awesome Staff, great rooms, spectacular operation. We went there last Monday to do our open water dive course feeling very anxious and uneasy and left today with our advanced certification. Our dive instructors Rob and Anna treated us with respect, taught us with great care and nurtured our confidence. The resort staff met our every request and were always friendly and helpful. We left refreshed and recharged and will certainly be going back. Thank you Manta Dive Gili Air for a great holiday

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidfrankish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2012

I have been coming back to Manta Gili Air for the past three years, and each time I have found it to be a great experience.
The accomodation, while simple, is more than adequate for a comfortable stay. Rooms are well set up [aircon, hot water, towels, safety box, small verandah, etc] and are meticulously cleaned each day. Don't be put off by the slightly brackish water in the shower, the whole island's supply is like that, and the resort provides bottled water for brushing teeth. Standard breakfast choices are included in the room price [eggs, fruit, tea, coffee, etc] and "real coffee" can be had for a little extra. It is only a few minutes walk from some of the best restaurants / bars on the island [my opinion only] and so the lack of a lunch / dinner sevice doesn't matter at all.
Diving is first rate. Guides and boat staff are knowledgeable and friendly, while being very safety conscious at the same time. The boats carry oxygen and first aid kits [unlike many operators in Indonesia] and staff is trained to use it. Equipment is well looked after, and in my experience, the guides check guest's equipment even if the guest has set it up themselves [and in my case even when I was using my own gear].

While the expat [diving] staff has changed over time, the local staff [diving, boat, office and housekeeping] have remained largely the same for the three years I have been going there. The owners are on site, and take an active interest in the day-to-day running of both hospitality and diving operations. I have found that when any small glitches happen, as these things are wont to do, bringing them to the attention of owners / staff results in quick remedial action.

My overall impression is that Manta is a friendly dive resort which provides simple yet comfortable accommodation for divers, and as long as I keep diving in Gili, I see no reason not to keep on going back to them

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldexpatdiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noonamah NT
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2012

They advertise they have standard western features but in fact thats not true. No fridge in your room, bar closes at 7pm and you cant buy bulk and keep cold. They advertise hot water, we had a cold salty shower. The pillows need to go in the bin - they are very old and lumpy in bungalow 1. Staff couldnt care less when you have a problem unless you dive which we didnt.We left after the first night which is the first time we have ever done that.
We moved up to Gili Air Hotel (please see separate review) Little bit more expensive but worth it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ly0nsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hi and thanks for your comments.

We pride ourselves on running a very friendly, professional dive center and resort. With all guests welcome to stay, whether they are diving or not. We take all feedback seriously and are obviously disappointed you did not enjoy your brief stay with us.
First of all, you mentioned the pillows were not comfortable, we agree and have subsequently changed them throughout the resort, as I have mentioned in other responses.
You also commented that you did not have hot water in your room, we checked this just after you left and it worked. It worked prior to and after your stay, we are at a loss to understand how this could have happened.
Finally, you were disappointed that there was not a fridge that you could 'fill up with cold ones.' Our rooms are amongst the best rooms available on Gili Air, we advertise them as mid range but certainly do not advertise that they have a fridge. We are simply not used to having customers who need to consume so many beers. From 8am till evening is no problem as the cafe is open but we then close. There are a few bars that serve beers within a few meters of the shop which all our other guests have been quite happy with.
Unfortunately, this appears to be simply a case of selecting the wrong accommodation, and maybe even the wrong Island for your needs. Gili Air is not really known as a big drinking party Island.
Its a shame that you did not give the staff a chance to call me when you checked out so early to discuss your grievances, we could have addressed them there and then, rather than you leaving without paying for the beers you had consumed and posting this complaint nearly two months after your stay.
Sorry that we couldn't fulfill your needs, and hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Indonesia.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Even though we stayed here only for 2d1n, we really enjoy the kind hospitality that manta dive gave to us. The price was so worth it, we got welcome drinks and breakfast too. We stayed at family room, which consists of 2 family rooms with a connecting door. The resort is right in front of the beach, the room was also clean and tidy. The staffs were so polite and helpful. Wish i could stay longer next time!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShantyJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2012

Our time at manta dive started with a bit of a hiccup as the boat company they had booked us with for transport to the hotel went to the wrong hotel to pick us up so we ended up missing the boat. We had changed the hotel a few weeks earlier and manta had advised them of the change but unfortunately there was some confusion. Regardless of the fact that it wasn't actually manta's fault they paid for the night of accommodation in Amed and arranged for the boat the next day which all happened without a hitch.

Overall we had an enjoyable stay at manta dive. Some specific comments about each aspect are below:
* Accommodation - Good basic accommodation, that is bungalow style with outdoor bathroom. Room was a good size with lots of shelves for storage and a safe and a/con. Very lumpy pillows (commented by other reviewers!) but comfortable bed. Hot showers (once we realised cold=hot and hot=cold on the tap) but salt water (assuming this is the case everywhere on the island). Didn't change our bed sheets while we were there, towels changed once (6nights), and towels are very hard/rough. But rooms were cleaned every day to high standard.
*Food - basic breakfast provided, with good options. We recommend the nescafe over the lombok coffee. Can pay for a very nice espresso coffee (cappuccino/latte) from their espresso machine. Banana pancakes can be a bit hit and miss due to unripe bananas but lots of other options instead.
*Staff - very friendly and polite. The local staff have very good english and are very friendly. local knowledge of all staff was good, and happy to help out when asked.
*Dive instructors - very friendly, safe and knowledgable. We had anna, jacky and suno and enjoyed diving with all of them. anna is very enthusiastic about diving, jacky is very entertaining/funny guy and suno great at finding little stuff during dives! Would recommend diving with all of them. They push SSI so if you want PADI I wouldn't recommend manta dive as they specialise as a SSI resort. I completed my advanced adventurer with anna whilst I was there and my diving improved alot over this time.
*Diving - general gear and boat is well maintained, and in good condition with a dedicated maintenance man. Resort uses all scubapro, nitrox is available. Able to access the majority of dive sites around the island although this was dependant upon lowest skill level of the group, and conditions on the day. General diving in Bali wasn't quite as nice as we had expected (wasn't as nice as other diving in other parts of Asia we have done). Nice snorkelling out the front of the resort with a good current to carry you down beach - saw turtles each time we went.

Room Tip: Take your own pillow!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LabRat23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bob99962, Manager at Manta Dive Gili Air Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Hi there, and thanks very much for your detailed review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay here, and I am also glad you pointed out the small problems you had. Without this feedback we cant improve.
Re the pillows, as you said one other reviewer had mentioned this before. After that review we did a check of the pillows and found a couple of them were a little lumpy and disposed of them. Since your review we checked again and found that a couple more were now lumpy as well. So we have now replaced our whole stock of pillows. (there is a very happy charity shop with 50+ pillows now:-) ) So hopefully this problem is now over with.
Regarding the changing of the sheets, that was completely unacceptable, and has been strongly addressed with our staff. As you also mentioned the rooms were cleaned to a very high standard, and this is the only level of standard we accept here. There seems to have been a little confusion with our staff where one of the room girls thought one fo the others had already changed them, but this is no excuse at all.

I would ask any guests staying with us in the future, that if there are any issues during your stay to please let us know as soon as you can, so that we can resolve them during your stay. We are always happy to help, and will immediatley address any problems brought to our attention. Our aim is to always bring you a very good value room with a high standard of service. Once you have left the only thing we can do is improve things for future guests, but we would rather improve things whilst you are here so you receive the benefit of these helpful comments.

Thanks very much for pointing out these small problems, and I am glad that they didnt stop you have a great time with us! We look forward to seeing you again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#4 of 20 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#7 of 20 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
4.0 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Dive Gili Air Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Dive Gili Air Resort

Property: Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Address: 87 Jalan Koperasi | Ampenan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Air
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Dive Gili Air Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manta Dive Resort, 11 beautiful rooms, all air con, hot water, safety box, swimming pool, generator (many power cuts on island), all dive courses and fun dives available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Manta Dive Gili Air Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Dive Gili Air Hotel Gili Air
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing