We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Diving With A Fantastic Dive Crew”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Never thought I'd dive, ever... but the Manta Dive crew helped me out and turned me into an addict. All thanks to the patience and professional guidance of Kaite, Pia, Rob and all the others!
I'll be back next year for my Underwater Bakset Weaving Specialty!

RoFLow

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RObedoRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (903)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

620 - 626 of 903 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2011

We spent a week with Manta Dive and did our advanced diving tickets. The resort is very clean and comfortable and the bungalows were some of the best we'd ever stayed in. We really enjoyed our time here and were sorry when it was time to go. All the instructors were excellent and the reefs in the area were some of the best we'd ever seen. Very professional and respecting of the sea life and the reefs the dive masters made this a trip we'll never forget! We'll be back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 and faced the pool and the beach - lovely spot to see the sunrise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TamisCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

This dive resort is amazing. The location is fab, beautiful, and near some great restaurants. The rooms themselves are really peaceful and quiet, spacious, and cleaned daily. The staff are really friendly, yet proffessional, and there is a great atmosphere. You are made to feel so welcome. It is obviously very well managed by John and Alexandra.

We did our SSI open water course, and loved it so much that we did our advanced adventurer SSI also. Our instructor Rich was knowlegable, professional, encouraging, and just a really nice guy to be around. All the intructers were also really friendly, and we enjoyed having a beer with them in the evenings.

We loved it so much that (thanks to a cancelation) we were able to extend our stay. Even when we had to move hotels, Manta were so helpful to us, they let us keep open our tab, and help us plan the next leg of the journey. I can't recommend them highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Best part of our 14 day travels through Indonesia. Accomdation clean and comfortable . Breakfasts great value for money. Diving facility and instructors world class. Thank you Jonathan and Alex for your professional service and making our stay the best! Stefan was amazing with our 2 teenagers who did their open water diving course and we enjoyed the snorkelling going out with the divers as well as from the amazing beach infront of Manta Dive.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the family room at the back away from the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lourene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2011

The 3 day diving course (Open Water) we did with Manta Dive and our amazing instructor Pia was really really nice! We saw loads and loads of turtles and it was an experience never to forget:-)

The people at MantaDive are really nice and everything was really wel organised!
Thank you guys (and Pia especially) for the amazing experience!

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank Mar210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

We stayed at Manta Dive Gili Air at the start of September. My girlfriend had exchanged multiple emails with Alexandra & Jonathan about a variety of things prior to our arrival and she was always prompt with her replies and really helpful with any questions we had. Alexandra organised a pickup from Mataram (Lombok) airport for us which involved approx 40min car journey to the beach and then a boat over to Gili Air - it was a quick and stress-free way to get over to Gili Air. I should also note that Manta Dive sorted our flights out from Denpasar over to Lombok with no problem at all.

On arrival (approx 1pm) our bungalow wasnt quite ready but this was no problem, we were able to have a welcome drink at the cafe, and one of the instructors (Johan) came and had a chat with us while we waited.

Within half an hour we were into our bungalow. The rooms are great, we had bungalow #2 which is right next the pool. The bed is large and comfortable, and there is plenty of storage space and also a safety deposit box. The bathroom, being outside is very cool, and totally private. The rooms and bathroom are cleaned everyday.

Manta Dive is in a great position on Gili Air, a very short walk from a number of bars and restaurants. Gili Air is a really chilled out island, so dont expect quick service in most of the restaurants (with the exception of scallywags which was fairly quick), but who's in a rush when you're on holiday!

We arrived a day after Ramadan had finished, and some of the restaurants were low on stock of certain items, and one bar was out of bintang (literally a disaster), but this was our own fault for booking over Ramadan, everything returned to normal the day after this, so this is not a complaint about Gili Air, just an observation, and something maybe for people to bear in mind when looking to visit Gili Air. Ramadan didnt seem to affect anything at Manta Dive.

For breakfast at Manta Dive there is a choice of such things as omlettes, pancakes, toast, fresh fruit etc. Breakfast was of good quality and definately big enough to get you started for the day.

Just a note about payment, we paid for all the accomodation upfront prior to arrival via internet bank transfer, and we paid for all our diving in the same way when we were on Gili Air, using the computer at Manta Dive. This was the easiest way for us and was completely accomodated by the guys at Manta.

Lastly a quick note about the diving (I have posted a seperate review for this), it was excellent and the team at Manta Dive are fun and professional. Highly, highly recommended for both the diving, and the resort itself!! Cheers!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GStk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We went there to do the scuba diving initial course, it was really exelent!
the place is so beautiful, the service was very good and the diving course was very profesional and enjoyable!
The only advice I can give you is: if you dont like cats dont go! the hole island is full of cats, so if you are afraid of you dont like them you should go somewhere else!

I think its a very nice hotel, and the place is paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisecamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gili Air
0.3 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0 mi away
Sunrise Resort
Sunrise Resort
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
103 reviews
2.7 mi away
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
MAHAMAYA Gili Meno
#1 of 11 in Gili Meno
730 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucy's Garden Hotel
Lucy's Garden Hotel
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manta Dive Gili Air Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manta Dive Gili Air Resort

Address: 87 Jalan Koperasi | Ampenan, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Gili Air
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range: $40 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Manta Dive Gili Air Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Manta Dive Resort, 11 beautiful rooms, all air con, hot water, safety box, swimming pool, generator (many power cuts on island), all dive courses and fun dives available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Manta Dive Gili Air Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manta Dive Gili Air Hotel Gili Air
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing