We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Brownie of my LIfe”

Scallywags Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 71 Restaurants in Gili Air
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Scallywags Beach Club is the perfect place to spend the day. We offer a large range of fresh, organic items that are shipped from our suppliers in Lombok and Bali daily. From 6pm each night Scallywags offers the original & best BBQ on Gili Air, with complimentary salad bar. Our trained bartenders can also whip you up a fantastic fresh cocktail to enjoy while soaking up the view of Lombok and mount Rinjani. As well as being a restaurant customers are also able to rent a sun lounger and spend the day swimming on the best stretch of beach on Gili Air. Sun loungers are only Rp 50,000 per person and include the lounger, a fresh towel and access to our fresh water shower.
Madura Island, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Brownie of my LIfe”
Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stopped by New Year's Eve for their infamous brownies, and it was worth every single penny.

The next day, ate lunch here. The burger was delicious: fresh ingredients, cooked to perfection.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emmymarguerite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    427
    147
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very Disapointing Service & Quality”
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We saved a trip to Scallywags until our last night. We arrived about 1830 and were scowled at for requesting a table for 6 ...we were then seated out by the toilet (we were not a scary looking group, just 6 regular friends in our 30s) ...the main restaurant was nearly empty at this time of day so I'm unsure why we couldn't sit in the main area.

Some dishes were great, (the fajitas and the bbq for example) and effort had clearly gone into the food's presentation and the salad arrangements, however, the signature dish of fish and chips was appalling, the "chips" were frazzled "crisps" (I am using British terminology here) and the piece of fish was meagre compared to similarly priced fish dishes on the barbecue.

...What made it even worse was the large piece of plastic packaging found in the chocolate brownie that my boyfriend ordered to try and make up for his fish and chips debacle (yes we did laugh). When he showed the waiter the plastic, he laughed and accused my boyfriend of being drunk!! ...pretty damn poor for the most pricy restaurant on Gili Air ...not the best send off ...many local restaurants around the island do a better job of the service even if their food is more simple.

Helpful?
Thank UKDelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to chill out”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

One of the more upmarket chill out place in Gili Air. Love the ambiance & setting. Food is pretty good too!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pegmiester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid back, lovely food, attentive service”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

Overall, the best restaurant on the island and right on the beach too. Reasonable menu selection, flexible on ordering, nice fresh BBQ in the evenings and good service. Loved it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great! The best meal of the holiday”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

great selection and quality of food. we ate here twice we loved it so much.
fillet steak with gorgonzola cheese potatoes, is to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Beach Club also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Scallywags Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing