We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Laid back, lovely food, attentive service”

Scallywags Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Gili Air
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Scallywags Beach Club is the perfect place to spend the day. We offer a large range of fresh, organic items that are shipped from our suppliers in Lombok and Bali daily. From 6pm each night Scallywags offers the original & best BBQ on Gili Air, with complimentary salad bar. Our trained bartenders can also whip you up a fantastic fresh cocktail to enjoy while soaking up the view of Lombok and mount Rinjani. As well as being a restaurant customers are also able to rent a sun lounger and spend the day swimming on the best stretch of beach on Gili Air. Sun loungers are only Rp 50,000 per person and include the lounger, a fresh towel and access to our fresh water shower.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid back, lovely food, attentive service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Overall, the best restaurant on the island and right on the beach too. Reasonable menu selection, flexible on ordering, nice fresh BBQ in the evenings and good service. Loved it.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcyyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    413
    143
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great! The best meal of the holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

great selection and quality of food. we ate here twice we loved it so much.
fillet steak with gorgonzola cheese potatoes, is to die for!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carly P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Never Again! Stay away!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Decided to there for NYE with friends. Waited 30 minutes for order to be taken, once the waiter was tracked down he told us that the kitchen closes in 5 minutes so maybe cannot cook!!
We got our food, fillet with Gorgonzola was served in a soup bowl and the Gorgonzola was a chuck of 200 grams (bigger than the fillet), my grilled calamari was served with no side dishes! Disaster!!!!!
Service 0 food quality 2

Helpful?
Thank Emmanouil G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Liked it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

My wife and I are experienced travelers in Asia and we both felt this restaurant exceeded our expectations. It was clear that the servers were trained by someone use to "western standards". We found both nights we ate there to be lovely evenings looking out at Lombok - both night are servers were personable and attentive.

My BBQ prawns were delicious but the local fish (snapper) was only OK. The salad bar that came with the BBQ choice was pretty tasty and better than we would have thought. The 2nd night we had nachos, swordfish Fish and Chips and a warm goat cheese salad. Very satisfying.

I would not give this restaurant the very highest rating but 4 stars seems apt as we walked back to our bungalow content with our experience all-around.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 879paulj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“inconsistency services and foods taste”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

This restaurant is looking very nice and the menu have a lot of choices. my first was at lunch and i had a hamburger scallywag, it was lovely...nice view and cosy etc. I have returned a day after for sun-baking and had a margarita and the taste of margaritas were missing lemon and triplesec.. so in the night ive returned for a BBQ tuna and it was lovely...no garlic oily source on the top... so a couple days after i came back for a tuna BBQ and it took about 30 mins to cook the tuna (almost row as i asked) but it came loaded of the sweet garlic oily covered all over i almost cant feel the tuna... and no one came to ask me what i wanna drink. i had to give the terrible complain because the consistency of the service and taste of foods are quite low.. like if it was on a good day it will all turn out well... or the bad day will be awful...

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LunaLitaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Beach Club also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Scallywags Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing