We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, but not the food!”

Scallywags Beach Club
Ranked #11 of 70 Restaurants in Gili Air
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Scallywags Beach Club is the perfect place to spend the day. We offer a large range of fresh, organic items that are shipped from our suppliers in Lombok and Bali daily. From 6pm each night Scallywags offers the original & best BBQ on Gili Air, with complimentary salad bar. Our trained bartenders can also whip you up a fantastic fresh cocktail to enjoy while soaking up the view of Lombok and mount Rinjani. As well as being a restaurant customers are also able to rent a sun lounger and spend the day swimming on the best stretch of beach on Gili Air. Sun loungers are only Rp 50,000 per person and include the lounger, a fresh towel and access to our fresh water shower.
2 reviews
“Nice view, but not the food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I love the view.. but I don't like the food here.. they are expensive and terrible..

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globetrekkerdut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigbear69, Owner at Scallywags Beach Club, responded to this review, September 5, 2011
Dear Globetrek

Thanks for your extensive review of our restaurant we will take your advise and slash our prices and try to be less terrible.

Tell us where your mates restaurant is and we will give you wave

Regards

Nigel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    456
    413
    143
    78
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Paradise - Great food, beach, views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

After staying with Scallywags on Gilli T we had decided to make the trip across to Gilli Ayer. Once again the service the staff at Scallywags provided was outstanding. They had organised the boat ride across and staff members were there to greet us on the other side. Once we arrived we were assured a seat with umbrella would be reserved for us on the beach while we went to look at the accommodation "Mango Retreat" and got our snorkels. Bell, one of the staff, even took us to the local place to get our snorkels ensuring we were not over-charged and that the equipment fitted correctly. Nothing was too much trouble even making sure we had plenty to drink and if we wanted lunch. Lunch was just as good as it was on Gilli T, having the most fresh and filling burger. The beach was amazing to sit and relax on and the snorkling just off the beach is great too....you might be lucky enough to see a turtle! Highly recommend the trip across and if you get the chance to stay in their new villas too DO IT!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ClaireAg08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
“What an amazing place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

We have just come back from a trip of a lifetime and this place will stay in my heart forever. The food and service was top notch and the setting is mind blowing. I would recommend Scallywags to everyone. Thank you :)

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clarerminter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mornington, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect place to chill out and indulge!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

I visited Scallywags Gili Ayer after I had already stayed with them in Gili T.

I thought that it was absolutley fabulous! The view was amazing and was so relaxing just to chill out on the beach on the sun lounges.

The staff were extremely helpful and attentive without being obtrusive. They were always checking to see if we needed more drinks while we were sunbaking so that we didnt have to come to the restaurant to order ourselves.

The staff also helped us hire snorkeling equipment, actually walking us down to the stand and making sure that we didnt pay to much and that we were also correctly fitted.

The staff were so friendly; no request was to much trouble for them.

The food was great; excellent taste, timely service, great value for money and we were able to wash it all down with yummy cocktails!

Overall I had a fantastic time and cant wait to go back. I have already started planning my next trip and have recommended it to all my friends as a must visit!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OllyMc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
97 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Looks great but finally pricy and lazy boss, manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2011

Once burger was good, so we came back for lobster... expensive, nothing special, tasteless but price full. The manager there, not the staff, is unpolite and lazy. I asked smth, fork, he didn't want to bring!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luissemanggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebigbear69, Owner at Scallywags Beach Club, responded to this review, June 27, 2011
Dear luisseman
Thanks for your feedback on the Beach Club Gili Air. Our Lobster is air-flown from Kalimantan and all our organic salads are flown in from Bali. Our prices do reflect the on-cost of daily bringing in fresh produce from the airport we are not a basic beach shack but a restaurant people come out of their way to visit us like sailors on passing yachts and our daily resort guests alike. The Complaint on the lobster is strange we sell kilos of fresh BBQ lobster nightly and always have happy customers.
I have spoke to the Manager on the fork incident and he does not have any recollection of this happening but we are back into the Beach Club next week with new chefs and staff training.
Thanks again for the review some honest feedback is sometimes better than the complimentary stuff we normally get.
Regards
Nigel Ames
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scallywags Beach Club also viewed

Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 
Gili Air, Gili Islands
Gili Air, Gili Islands
 

Been to Scallywags Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing