We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Food!!!”
Review of Gili Air Santay

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Gili Air Santay
Ranked #96 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
afghanistan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Amazing Food!!!”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We didn't stay here, but my husband and I found this place for lunch. It was so good we went back again the next day for the exact same thing: Spicy Sasu Salad (long beans and tempeh), traditional home made Fish Curry, and the spicy Papaya Salad.

YUM!!!! Don't miss it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TnRLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    20
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
9
30
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We booked the Villa for 2 weeks over Christmas. On seeing our Villa we extended our stay. Andy and Rosie do a geat job and enjoy it. She even lined up her car and driver for our trip to Lombock. Andy has a boat for fishing, fun and touring. Food is fabulous and many choices for breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Josmikluc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

i can recommend this place:
- it´s simple, but relaxing
- very nice owner! very helpful!
- breakfast is very basic.. :(
- nice beach directly in front of the restaurant, snorkeling possible
- i would recommend to book an own hut, because the "double" hut has only "paper walls"..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beathunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2012

We spent four nights at Gili Air Santay. The room was clean and basic, no A/C, but a fan and a nice porch for hanging out. What really made this place was the staff: Rosie is quite the friendly character, and the guys and gals working for her are all sweet and helpful. The FOOD is fabulous. If you opt out of staying here, at least stop in for the best Nasi Goreng on the island. Yum. I'd go back. The only drawback for me was the faint aroma of septic tank in the bathroom, but other than that, it was fabulous for the price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank On_Holiday_154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We stayed 5 nights at Santay, and it was nice. We had a bungalow, and it was about as expected. The bed was nice, with mosquito nettings. Other than that it is basic. As in most other places on the Gili's (and in Indonesia) it is not an automatic flush toilet, but a bucket of water you pour into the toilet. There is no hot/cold water, just one temperature.

The Bungalows are about 50 meters of the road, so 60m of the beach. Threes, birds etc all around. Can be a bit noicy in the morning with birds, gekko's and animals, but I doubt it is much different elsewhere. Nice breakfast, allthough it could have been a bit bigger. Restauarnt just of the beach, and nice snorkeling there (at high tide).

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank andeloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dili, East Timor
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This place was recommanded to us by the Rinjani Garden owners in Lombock, as we had loved this place we fully trusted them to be great too. We were sorely disappointed. Although its located in a large garden (not very agreable as completely wild), the bungalow we were given, is extremely dark, smelt pretty bad, was dirty and dusty, the net over the bed was full of dead insects and mold, the sheits looked clean but the surroundings were so dodgy that it made me nervous and i couldn t sleep for the night that i had to stay there. The bathroom was old, super dark, the water smelt of feices, the sink's evacuation give directly in the garden on the ground, we spayed the room with bagon as there were many insects and when we came back found dozens of cockroaches everywhere. One good aspect was the silence and tranquility. We checked into the Mango Retreat the next day which was pricier but much better.

Room Tip: just dont stay there if you can, pretty sure there are better options for same price or a bit more i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lucicae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Air hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

When you get sick of the hustling from Bali, or Sengiggi or Gili T, this is the place to come to!

Rosey and her little community are fantastic hosts!!! Rosie is a character, very warm and knowledgeable about all things Lombokian. Her staff are very helpful, kind and courteous! The food is highly recommended, and you dine in a fantastic location, right on the edge of a beach. When you get sick of lazing around eating beautiful food, just drop into the water 20 metres away and look for turtles!!!

The rooms are basic but clean and inexpensive - there is no need for anything else. This place was the highlight of our 3 and a half week holiday in Indonesia. My teens loved it, and would definitely go back.

If you read this Rosie, thank you and your staff / family for being great hosts! We'll definitely come back for more one day, and hopefully stay for longer!

Matt

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MattUrmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.0 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
337 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelangi Cottages
Pelangi Cottages
#14 of 58 in Gili Air
44 reviews
0.0 mi away
Nusa Indah Bungalows
Nusa Indah Bungalows
#68 of 136 in Gili Air
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Banana Cottages
Banana Cottages
#38 of 136 in Gili Air
64 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balengku Homestay
Balengku Homestay
#25 of 136 in Gili Air
31 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tangga Bungalows
Tangga Bungalows
#11 of 136 in Gili Air
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Air Santay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Air Santay

Property: Gili Air Santay
Address: West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Hotel Style:
Ranked #96 of 136 Specialty Lodging in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Gili Air Santay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Air Santay Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing