We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High quality - low prices”
Review of Biba Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Biba Beach
Ranked #7 of 63 Gili Air B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at Biba for a full week as part of our honeymoon in June.

The room (the more "expensive" of the the two different types) had ocean view, a nice veranda and was clean and spacious. The decor was simple, but really pretty with nice, colorful Italian quality linen (yes, details matter)

The location was perfect, just in front of the best snorkeling spot of the island, and not too close to the main tourist "strip". (not far either, the island is tiny and so is the main strip).

During our stay, we were content with everything, but what really made this stand out is the staff. The owners are outgoing, laid-back, humourstic and eager to give their guests a great stay.

The staffers were unbelievably charming (not in the cheesy waiting-to-be-tipped-way. In fact, we tried to tip everybody, a lot, which was kind of difficult, because they were so humble and modest). Throughout our stay we received great service, smiles all around and willingness to chat which was cosy.

The food at Biba is splendid Italian food, prepared 'con amor'. At our last night, my husband had asked the owners (a charming Italian couple) to prepare a romantic surprise dinner. So, in the pavilion facing the beach, a six course menu was served, including antipasti, pasta, pizza, seafood and fresh tropical fruits - bliss!

We would definitletly recommend this place. Not only will you get bang for your buck, you will also get personal and dedicated service in a nice setting.

Just one thing: Don't go if you're not a fan of cats. We like them, which is good, because there are cats all over the place. Not only at Biba, but all over the island :-)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marylou and Dav... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 261 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner in this place (but did not stay in the guesthouse). Location of the restaurant is next to the beach with excellent seating. Staff is fast and friendly. Pizza-serving starts from 7 pm and this would also be our recommendation. It's super tasty with thin crust and lots of nice ingredients. The other food is also very good (e.g. Octopus-salad), but Pizza was our favorite.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StefanW_Sgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at Biba Beach Guest House 5 days in March 2012.
In addition to a wonderful setting along the beach at Gili Air, we enjoyed superb food..and a great time.
First of all,all the people there are very nice..Staff is super friendly,as well as the young Italian-dive fanatic- couple who runs this super clean guest house..
The owners are full of humour..and will do all their best to make your stay a greta moment!

After a few months of travelling in South East Asia,we were super happy to find the same food as the one we could have had in Roma or in Napoli...

Fellow travellers,you should try their pancakes with REAL Nutella..or their brand fresh home -made pasta! (Not to mention their fresh tuna fish...cooked the perfect way!)

And if you want some really good time,have a chat one night,under the large tamarind tree with the owners...they have many a story to tell you about life on Gili archipelago...or their "tales from the backpackers world"!

Room Tip: Room number 4 (where we stayed) has probably the best view on the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJGParis_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

We didn't stay here but we did eat here - and enjoyed it so much we came back a second time. This place serves really AMAZING pizza. Decent ingredients, glorious thin bases, and fantastically tasty. The staff are really friendly and attentive too. If you want decent Italian food on Gili Air then don't bother with anywhere else - head for Biba. Also, it has a proper, clean toilet which after you've spent time on Gili Air you will realise is quite hard to come by. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DulwichEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

I did not stay here or see the rooms. I did eat at the restaurant - several times!! OMG! this is truly the best pizza in the world, and the pasta is also incredible. I recommend the seafood pasta & the seafood pizza - if you are a couple get one of each and swop half way! Amazing!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarrynPeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

I have a really good memory of this place in Gili Air!
We stayed there in February 2012 and it's immediately evident the significant difference in the quality of service between this Resort and the other ones on the island.
At the same price you pay in the other places, here you can find large bungalows with sea view, very well kept and clean.
The breakfast is plentiful and good, and also the resort's restaurant is very good.
If you come to Gili Air, you've to go to Biba Beach Resort, the best place on the island!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 75mec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

We stayed at Biba for 2 weeks and loved every minute. The food is excellent. Our bungalow was dark but much more stylish than most of what's offered on gill Air. We had a great bed and porch for watching the passing scene. Beautiful gardens and layout. And comfy, stylish perches right above the water to loll away the day between massages and snorkeling dips. We checked out all the accommodations on the island and found Biba the nicest. We would definitely come back for another relaxing stretch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.5 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.4 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#11 of 20 in Gili Air
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bel Air Resort and Spa
Bel Air Resort and Spa
#7 of 20 in Gili Air
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.7 mi away
Puri Air Beach Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Biba Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Biba Beach

Address: Gili Air Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Air
Price Range: $34 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Local Stile, Italian Management. Cats Friendly Place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Biba Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Biba Beach Hotel Gili Air
Biba Beach Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing