We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good simple accomodation ” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Gili Air
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good simple accomodation ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

We got a two story bungalow right next to the pool with lovely views. We didn't have air con so just had a fan going throughout the night which was probably not the best solution but it did the job. Comfy bed (with mosquito net) with bathroom downstairs as well as extra bed there and hammock. The bathroom was very simple with a cold water shower in the middle. But overall good back packing accommodation.
The best was definitely the location and the breakfast. 2 min walk to the ocean with snorkeling only a few meters out. Breakfast was enjoyed with a lovely view and the options were good with lovely home made bread.
Only a 7min walk to the harbour where the boat docked up.

I'd stay again but it's nothing for the flash packer!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank GladerN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    192
    106
    59
    34
See reviews for
136
255
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Very nice location to enjoy a few days, not much to do besides relaxing, diving and biking around the island. For a family with small kids 3-4 days are more than enough unless you kids can handle boredom easily.
We stayed in the suite room (most expensive - around $150). There are 5 or 6 of them. There is a big difference between staying on the 3 ones that are facing the beach vs. the other suites just behind them. It is the same room and furniture but the ones behind do not have the same views.
Suites are a bit overpriced for a room with no fresh water (salty all over the island), and bathroom getting flooded everytime it rains heavily. The other rooms are significantly cheaper but also more basic, so choose your room wisely.

The hotel restaurant is pretty bad, very slow and mostly frozen food (at least what we ordered). Best pick is Chill out restaurant, very near by. Every night it is the most packed one ... I guess for a reason

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sara G, Manager at Sunrise Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hi and thanks for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us, and we are sorry that the well water was a bit of a shock for you.

It is fairly common knowledge that the Gili Islands only have brackish water available from the wells, so we were surprised to hear that you didnt know about it. This is the case on all small islands around the world.
There are now a few resorts on the Islands that provide fresh water, The only thing is that you need to be prepared to pay the extra to get this water as it has to be shipped to the Island everyday from Lombok and is therefore a quite expensive exercise.
At Sunrise Resort we try to give the best value accommodation on the Island, and if we start to ship in fresh water it would raise the price of the rooms by at least 100,000IDR per night. After talking to many of our guests as to whether they would rather have this option the vast majority said they would prefer not to pay the extra and keep the prices where they are now and still use the brackish water.

For the restaurant I'm surprised your comments on the food frozen because all our dishes are prepared minute (may be waiting a bet long but it is the same in every restaurant of the Gili island...)( and i don't get any complain of you on your stay in my restaurant)

But again we are glad you enjoyed Gili Air , and hope to see you again in the near future.

Sara Guerin Manager " Le Cirque restaurant "
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in a studio villa (there are 5 at the beachside, two story with bedroom/bathroom downstairs and hammock day beds on fisrt floor). Great beachside restuarant with good brekfast and nice gazebos. Beach is good, coral beds have been damaged by subsea electricity cables being laid last year - not deterring many boats with visiting snorkelers. The island's no-motorcycle and car policy is very nice, but the garbage handling is a real concern looking forward - there does not seem to be any sustainable solution (see the interior of Gili Air).

We enjoyed several days of playing with the kids in the surf, teaching them to snorkel, explore the island on rented bikes and watch awesome sunsets whilst eating fresh grilled fish. One can stare at the view from the beachside restaurant for hours. The new French chef and manager running the restaurant are doing an excellent job.

The villa was good for sleeping but the bathroom was not particularly clean (also caused by the design used and the seawater shower/basin) and we never got the internet to work. But the latter was part of the island feeling. The 3% credit card charge can be avoided by emptying the island's only ATM, if you are on time!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leetje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tewantin, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

Front staff especially Lalu was very helpful in every way, wanting only to please me as a customer. Also the manager Sarah, was second to none, as I watched her interact with staff and customers alike, always done with diplomacy, tact and going the second mile beyond her duty.
Stayed 8 nights (solo), all staff were wonderful and helpful nothing was a problem. Was the most amazing Island holiday at an affordable price. Great for Family, Couples, friends and business.
Have been going to Bali for years and this is the best holiday I have ever had.
Staff so friendly and all the holiday makers, was unique staying a a bungalow metres from the beach, which has great swimming and snorkling not to mention great service, food and drink..
love those Bingtangs....... and Margaretta's and Mokito's. Even the kutchings were friendly.
Remember - this is an Island in a third world country, only means of transport is a push bike, and horse and cart - I was a privilege to be able to stay is such a special place with special people.
Fitness - Pool for swimming, beach for snorkling, and snorkling out of glass bottom boat

Room Tip: Bigger rooms have a fan
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gee60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Unfortunately this place has to receive an Average, to Below Average rating in my books. My friends and I have done a lot of traveling in our time and the service at this place was extremely poor. We have stayed at 1* hotels, hostels, 5* hotels - but this one was really disorganized.
We were greeted by an unfriendly front desk man and checked out with the same unfriendly man.
The bathroom was filthy and smelled horrendous. When it was time to get in bed, i opened my sheets to find sand and filth :( Room seemed moldy and the furniture ancient. We were able to get a small discount for the dirty room (which was a kind gesture from the manager) but when we came to check out... it seemed that the reception was not aware of this discount. Instead of offering to ask the manager about this "discount" we were to receive, he snapped at us and told us there was no such thing. This was later cleared up by the manager but the initial service we received from the front desk was appalling.
The internet was also "not working" for the entire duration of our stay and the staff seemed to have no idea about what was going on.
The pool was beautiful, location ideal, awesome beach-front cabanas and delish food.
Wish we had a better experience with the service and room but this is what Trip Advisor is for!

Room Tip: I would suggest skipping booking online if you can and actually take a peak at the rooms when you ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

The gardens here are worth the stay... swimming pool surrounded by fragrant trees.
Affordable- cost a bit less than nearby accommodations. right in the heart of the village.
Bungalow we stayed in in front of the pool was a funky one... bedroom upstairs through a trap door but the balcony was sweet. salt water in shower, fan only.
Nice restaurant which served a great tuna tartare with grated coconut and mango. beach a bit rough because of coral but only meters to softer sand.
sometimes too many divers in the pool taking their lessons. Dive shop does a great job here though if you are looking to dive.
I'd easily stay here again.
you don't need one of those picturesque Cidomo to transport yourself and luggage here.

Room Tip: ask to see the room first
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ananda100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

I was staying 7 nights. I had amazing time. The hotel has perfect location for relaxing, swimming, snorkeling. The bungalows are big ut basic with AC / non AC. You dont need AC, always is there nice fresh breeze.
I felt save, I traveled alone.
It is very good option for solo travelers and for family as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MM4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.3 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#12 of 19 in Gili Air
3.5 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#7 of 19 in Gili Air
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#6 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lucy's Garden
Lucy's Garden
#8 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 19 in Gili Air
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Property: Sunrise Resort
Address: Desa Gili Indah, Pamenang | Utara Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara 83325, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air is a pristine jewel set in the Bali Sea, situated in one of the most picturesque locations on Earth. To the East, the majestic crater rim of Lombok’s Mount Rinjani, provides a picturesque backdrop to a stunning sunrise. To the West, the sun sinks behind the perfect cone of Bali’s Mt Agung as it releases all the colours of the rainbow. Sunrise Resort is situated in Gili Air’s top location - fine, white coral sand gives way to breathtaking snorkeling directly off-shore, accessible at both high and low tides (unique on Gili Air). Within 50 metres, lies a reef teaming with colourful fish and turtles in crystal clear water. Perfect for swimming, snorkelling or diving and always at idyllic temperatures (25-32°C). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Cottages And Restaurant
Sunrise Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Gili Air
Sunrise Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing