We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over price , solty water, not clean....”
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over price , solty water, not clean....”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

the title says it all:::(((((((I just to make clear is not a place that we expect we love the island and we decide to move to a different resort ( the beach club) less expensive but super cool . Fresh water clean room and price very fair

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ambusl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    197
    108
    60
    37
See reviews for
142
266
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

I ended up staying at Sunrise only due to my original hotel being double booked by Agoda meaning I needed to spend my last night here. Due to the great reviews on Tripadvisor I didn't think this would be a problem at all and without even checking out the resort or rooms, I agreed.

When it came to check in, I was shown to my room, which supposedly was the equivalent of the room I had stayed in at my previous hotel and was utterly shocked by how little $40 gets you here! The room looked OK from the outside, but when I got inside it was unbearably hot and the windows did not shut properly. I'm not even going to talk about the bathroom. I walked straight over to reception and complained that I did not want to stay in that room.

I ended up staying in one of the newer $60 rooms at the back of the resort. Although not great, it was a big improvement. I know Gili Air is popular, but I just cannot see how they can charge such crazy prices. Only guess is that some people, not on a backpackers budget, must be paying them.

The location is the biggest draw to Sunrise, it is literally right on the beach and in the thick of the area with the restaurants, bars, dive schools etc.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

The hotel has the perfect location just in front of the nicest area of the beach where the water is turquoise blue and the snorkeling awesome. The bungalows we had was a big lovely wooden 2 storeys with big lounge / dining area and bathroom at the bottom and a balcony and a room at the top. Very charming rooms.
Restaurant is good right on the beach with perfect sea view. The staff is nice and welcoming.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sev2608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice cute little bungalows centred in a fairly well maintained tropical garden. It's a short 30sec stroll to the beach. Decent snorkelling out the front but its still really dead most of the coral. U have to go on a trip to find the good stuff. Staff were amazingly friendly and always kept the room very clean.

The room was a little damp and musky but that's not there fault it's due to the weather conditions. The pillow was rock hard so I hope they have changed them by now! I liked the 2 floors to the bungalow was defiantly and original layout in terms of other I've stayed at. I think it was fairly exspensive for the price and you can get a lot better value if you looked around I'm sure!

Also make sure u book the return boat tickets by yourself as they will be a lot cheaper if you go to the jetti in the morning. That's only if you are going to Lombok.

Make sure you check the bar directly opposite the guy is awesome and has the cheapest and strongest mushroom shakes on the island, spent many nights chilling in the bar tripping and drinking. Such a cool place to chill until the early hours.

I'd recommend this place for a shirt stay its worth it!

Room Tip: Grab a 2 story Bugalow if you can out the back. Do best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zookie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

-Right next to the beach,best snokelling area,also good for swim
-10Mins walk for the ferry pier(with suitcase),(without suitcase,5mins)
-All the staffs are very friendly and smile all the time
-Book from booking.com,reasonable price,us30 per night
-Room without a/c,actually is good enough.A bit hot on the day time.
-Salty water and didn't have hot shower.it's ok,i think only few hotels can provide fresh water in gili air
-No lock for the room door
-Nice bar and restaurant
-Nice garden view and balcony
-Nice welcome drink

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joannekwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gävle
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay with my girlfriend! Everything is ofcourse you-get-what-you-pay-for, but the second floor with mosquitonet bed is wonderful in its woody charm! Superb breakfast and the best beach right outside the hotel. The toilet is a little scary, and we found some bugs in the first floor bed, but all and all we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wallkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
134 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a nice 4 night stay here. I love our 2 storey lumbung style house with sleeping beds (2x doubles) up the ladder and through the hatch. There was also 2 single daybeds downstairs. All have mossie nets. AC worked fine (upstairs only). The bathroom was big but my husband found it got too hot and stuffy at times as the roof was plastic. Would not be suitable if you couldn't climb down the ladder to get to the loo at night ie toddlers/disablility.

Really super staff, great with kids. Good room cleaning and lovely touches like flower decorations on the bed. Breakfast looks over the beach which is nice, simple but adequate. A plus here are the lovely gardens full of butterflies. We paid 450 a night which I think was good value.

Location wise you are perfectly placed for beach and restaurants- 1-2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#14 of 20 in Gili Air
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel
Villa Karang Hotel
#8 of 20 in Gili Air
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#4 of 20 in Gili Air
75 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ombak Paradise
Hotel Ombak Paradise
#13 of 20 in Gili Air
23 reviews
0.9 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#3 of 20 in Gili Air
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Property: Sunrise Resort
Address: Desa Gili Indah, Pamenang | Utara Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara 83325, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air is a pristine jewel set in the Bali Sea, situated in one of the most picturesque locations on Earth. To the East, the majestic crater rim of Lombok’s Mount Rinjani, provides a picturesque backdrop to a stunning sunrise. To the West, the sun sinks behind the perfect cone of Bali’s Mt Agung as it releases all the colours of the rainbow. Sunrise Resort is situated in Gili Air’s top location - fine, white coral sand gives way to breathtaking snorkeling directly off-shore, accessible at both high and low tides (unique on Gili Air). Within 50 metres, lies a reef teaming with colourful fish and turtles in crystal clear water. Perfect for swimming, snorkelling or diving and always at idyllic temperatures (25-32°C). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Cottages And Restaurant
Sunrise Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Gili Air
Sunrise Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing