We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice vibe, a little musky and old but romantic.”
Review of Sunrise Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunrise Resort
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Gili Air
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Nice cute little bungalows centred in a fairly well maintained tropical garden. It's a short 30sec stroll to the beach. Decent snorkelling out the front but its still really dead most of the coral. U have to go on a trip to find the good stuff. Staff were amazingly friendly and always kept the room very clean.

The room was a little damp and musky but that's not there fault it's due to the weather conditions. The pillow was rock hard so I hope they have changed them by now! I liked the 2 floors to the bungalow was defiantly and original layout in terms of other I've stayed at. I think it was fairly exspensive for the price and you can get a lot better value if you looked around I'm sure!

Also make sure u book the return boat tickets by yourself as they will be a lot cheaper if you go to the jetti in the morning. That's only if you are going to Lombok.

Make sure you check the bar directly opposite the guy is awesome and has the cheapest and strongest mushroom shakes on the island, spent many nights chilling in the bar tripping and drinking. Such a cool place to chill until the early hours.

I'd recommend this place for a shirt stay its worth it!

Room Tip: Grab a 2 story Bugalow if you can out the back. Do best value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zookie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

375 - 381 of 622 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

-Right next to the beach,best snokelling area,also good for swim
-10Mins walk for the ferry pier(with suitcase),(without suitcase,5mins)
-All the staffs are very friendly and smile all the time
-Book from booking.com,reasonable price,us30 per night
-Room without a/c,actually is good enough.A bit hot on the day time.
-Salty water and didn't have hot shower.it's ok,i think only few hotels can provide fresh water in gili air
-No lock for the room door
-Nice bar and restaurant
-Nice garden view and balcony
-Nice welcome drink

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joannekwok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Had a very pleasant stay with my girlfriend! Everything is ofcourse you-get-what-you-pay-for, but the second floor with mosquitonet bed is wonderful in its woody charm! Superb breakfast and the best beach right outside the hotel. The toilet is a little scary, and we found some bugs in the first floor bed, but all and all we were very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wallkeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a nice 4 night stay here. I love our 2 storey lumbung style house with sleeping beds (2x doubles) up the ladder and through the hatch. There was also 2 single daybeds downstairs. All have mossie nets. AC worked fine (upstairs only). The bathroom was big but my husband found it got too hot and stuffy at times as the roof was plastic. Would not be suitable if you couldn't climb down the ladder to get to the loo at night ie toddlers/disablility.

Really super staff, great with kids. Good room cleaning and lovely touches like flower decorations on the bed. Breakfast looks over the beach which is nice, simple but adequate. A plus here are the lovely gardens full of butterflies. We paid 450 a night which I think was good value.

Location wise you are perfectly placed for beach and restaurants- 1-2 minutes walk.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbabyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We were told we would have hot, fresh water, and wifi. We were not given these things at all. They would not have mattered. We can deal with cold water showers and we can go a few days without internet. Still, we don't like being lied to, and we were lied to by at least one member of the staff here.
That said, the rooms are nice enough, though not the best value on Gili Air. We were comfortable, at least physically, until we checked out the first morning of our stay and found a place run by much nicer people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Sunrise is fine. The bungalows are nice and spacious and certainly do the job. However, the fan in our room was pretty inefficient and it was like sleeping in an oven in the morning. The bathrooms need a bit of work and the upstairs trap door did not lock from the inside which I would have preferred. I also found the staff quite hostile.

However, it is pretty cheap and the location is great so I would recommend it for a bed for a night.

Room Tip: I would go with a/c over fan (as it is a standing fan rather than a ceiling one)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alana06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

Sunrise Gili Air
We booked to stay two nights at Sunrise, the rooms are set directly across from the beautiful beach so location is second to none. 

The rooms are great - massive bed with mozzie nets and the shower/wc is located downstairs kind of half indoor half outdoor, no one can see in though which was cool. The bathroom itself was a bit dirty but probably because half of it is outside and dust settles. 
We had air con and a fan in the bedroom which was good. The downstairs part of the room had a hammock which we used all the time, nice touch. 

The rooms do not have safes/security boxes but you can use the safes in reception at no cost which was a tad inconvenient as you had to get a master key from reception to access it which one time we had to disturb the staff having their dinner and step over them sitting down.  

The breakfast however was very poor; stingy portions (only allowed 1 egg) and you were not allowed to deviate from their menu, for example the drink choice was either tea or coffee, my friend doesn't drink either tea or coffee so asked if she could have juice instead to which she was refused. 

The restaurant at sunrise was pretty expensive in comparison to bars and restaurants next door so we chose to dine away from sunrise, plus we felt the food was much nicer elsewhere. The food service at sunrise was unbelievably slow hence another reason we chose to dine elsewhere. 

All in all we did enjoy our stay at Sunrise but a few tweaks and it would get a 10/10.  

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loubylou201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Air hotels
0.4 mi away
Scallywags Smugglers Hideaway
0.4 mi away
Villa Karang Hotel and Spa
0.2 mi away
7SEAS Cottages
7SEAS Cottages
#11 of 20 in Gili Air
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gili Air Escape
Gili Air Escape
#5 of 20 in Gili Air
100 reviews
0.0 mi away
Manta Dive Gili Air Resort
0.9 mi away
Grand Sunset Gili Air
Grand Sunset Gili Air
#4 of 20 in Gili Air
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Resort

Address: Desa Gili Indah, Pamenang | Utara Lombok, West Nusa Tenggara 83325, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Air
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Air
Price Range: $48 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Air is a pristine jewel set in the Bali Sea, situated in one of the most picturesque locations on Earth. To the East, the majestic crater rim of Lombok’s Mount Rinjani, provides a picturesque backdrop to a stunning sunrise. To the West, the sun sinks behind the perfect cone of Bali’s Mt Agung as it releases all the colours of the rainbow. Sunrise Resort is situated in Gili Air’s top location - fine, white coral sand gives way to breathtaking snorkeling directly off-shore, accessible at both high and low tides (unique on Gili Air). Within 50 metres, lies a reef teaming with colourful fish and turtles in crystal clear water. Perfect for swimming, snorkelling or diving and always at idyllic temperatures (25-32°C). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Cottages And Restaurant
Sunrise Cottages & Restaurant Hotel Gili Air
Sunrise Resort Gili Air, Gili Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing