We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Fish I've had on this island in 8 years” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wilson's Bar and Cuisine

Wilson's Bar and Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 112 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Bar, European, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Wilson's Retreat fine dining restaurant is offered by our in-house French chef, Francois Mason. Francois and his team will twiddle your taste buds with a mix of traditional French recipes and a few of Francois very own creations. We can serve you on the premises of our beautiful open-air restaurant or even directly on the beach for a romantic candle lit evening.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Best Fish I've had on this island in 8 years”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

As an almost full-time resident of Gili T, I have been threatening to go to Wilson's for ages, and finally got there a couple of days ago for lunch. I'm not really a big fish eater, but was trying to be healthily, and spotted the Dory on the menu. Well it was absolutely stunning, melt in the mouth, perfectly cooked and with the true Dory flavour I have not experienced anywhere in a very long time. The accompanying ratatouille was better served on the side rather than as a topping for the fish, as it's dressing was quite strong, and the fish seriously needed NOTHING to enhance its flavour. Both, on their own, were delicious. With an accompanying glass of wine, a smiling waiter and a table by the beautiful ocean, what more could one want? Heavenly.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LovesIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    109
    23
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dhahran, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Superb menu, complemented by a strong wine list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

Tucked away from the crowds in the northwest of the island is the blissfully serene upmarket accommodation/restaurant with the option of beach-front dining, warmly attentive staff, and a beautifully balanced menu with a strong French emphasis. Beautiful salads, escargot, red mullet special dish, and even fish and chips that our picky 7 year-old loved.

The most pleasant surprise was the wine list! After seeing Jacob's Creek Chardonnay for over $100 at our hotel(also >$1000 Dom Perignon!) we were delighted to see that Wilson's has 92 point Pouilly-Fuisse for less. Plus lovely Prosecco choices. We're heading back tomorrow to navigate through the red side of the wine list and try some more from that lovely menu.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rex V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

For a romantic sunset dinner this place can't be beat. Had a delicious meal on the beach while time just slipped by.

The food was great and the service even better. The staff were friendly and helpful. For once in Indonesia both our dishes came out at the same time.

Great place for a romantic dinner.

Helpful?
2 Thank Craig L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“romantic sunsets and meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

Just beautiful sunsets and charming staff to serve cocktails as the sun sets and an exquisite French or Indonesian dinner as the stars come out. Don't miss!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank NSCYNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“excellent would go there again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

the food menu was a welcome change with everything we ordered being perfectly executed. staff were friendly and very helpful. beautiful surrounds. expensive for gili but a delightful place all round. service was prompt

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wilson's Bar and Cuisine also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Wilson's Bar and Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing