We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laid Back with personal touch”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #31 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Laid Back with personal touch”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A very laid back spot, clean and comfortable rooms. The Canadian woman who runs adds character and personal care. Flowers are put out every day on your bed, the staff is kind and happy. The beach front is across the way with a perfect snorkeling spot. Relative to the island it is a quiet spot away from the main party drag but a nice 20 min walk if you would like the variety of restaurants. I stayed here for ten days with a writing partner and searched the whole island for a good place to settle in. We had the bottom room across from the pool and for a reasonable $50 night price, it was the best find on the island for us. There was a large back garden and many common spaces, some are nice but could of used more attention especially the back garden which more of a work in progress. The comp. breakfast was superb.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank joelshop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    6
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We were actually going to another place, much more expensive, but did not reserve in advance. We ended up to the Balikana Boutique, owned by a Canadian, not far from our 1st pick. We wanted to have access to the island activities, without the noise of the bars, the 5:00 AM chanting from the Mosque and the loud noise of the main electric generator of the island. The Balikana Retreat offers the best location at a really good price: air conditionned rooms, nice bathrooms with warm fresh water, private pool, nice view, full breakfast right in front of the turquoise sea every morning, nicest reef easely accessible by snorkeling at high tide and very friendly personel. What do you want more than that? The photos of former guests well represent what we experienced... but we did not notice at all the mildiew and defaulting water tower. Undergoing renovations to make it even better - we recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucie-Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
budapest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We moved here from Karma Kayak, which was also nice but we booked only a few days there and because the beach was not really good at that part of the island we were happy to see Balikana has a pool. I'm surprised to read the negative reviews, our room was huge and clean (at other places the whole bungallow is the size of only our bathroom here), open air bathroom, very nice staff speaking good English.
Con: Repeating what I wrote at Karma Kayak: beach is full of dead corals after noon, no swimming.
(2010 September)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank onlien7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2011

We booked into Balikana for 3 nights and stayed 7...the owners made us feel like part of the family. We have not stopped thinking about them all since we returned to Australia. The staff are fantastic, bright young people who are keen to please and happy to listen. This is our second visit to Trawangan for a month each time and we have stayed at a number of other places, but we will return to Balikana for the overall feeling of being so comfortable with everyone there.The beds are great and the bathrooms are gorgeous under the moon. The food is just the best on the island. Made is a star!! The prices were dropped immediately on the 1st Sept, to accommodate the end of the high season, which was in the middle of our stay...it felt like it was just for us! We had the best stay and made some great friends in the owners and the staff, who waved us off until we were out of site when we left. This is an excellent place to stay...great accommodation, food, staff, snorkeling and price. Thanks for a awesome holiday.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathrine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We just experienced paradise! What really impressed us about the Balikana was that it felt like an authentic home, not pretentious at all. We could have been in our own vacation property, that is how comfortable it felt. We chose September to travel not realizing that the beginning of September was considered high season, however we were amazed that Balikana's prices drop down September 1st to mid low season rate. We had full value at discount price including free unlimited wifi that really worked very well.The breakfast was not that exciting but it was sufficient for our needs. The restaurant was a bonus for us as they were open until 10:00 pm and the neighbouring restaurants were locked up tight by that hour.We ate amazing indonesian food recommended by googling the food critic in Lombok that recommended this restaurant to us. The snorkeling was magnificent and we were lucky enough to see turtles in front of the property. We were really happy that they had a pool that you could actually swim in and do laps, most of the places only had little garden pools. We used the pool quite often as the tide was low most of the day and it was great to be able to cool off. The staff were extremely friendly, and did their best to satisfy our every needs. I found the location a little far from the centre of things and the horsecarts a little expensive, but then again that is what we were looking for a quiet relaxing place so it did not bother us too much. The walking to the centre only took twenty five minutes and we felt very safe and non threatened. All in all if we ever returned to the island we would stay at the balikana, we hope that they don't change, everything really works well the way it is. I know that this is not a place for everyone, if you need a plastic hotel with buffet breakfast and high tea this is not the place for you.

Room Tip: Book early to get the front beachview rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This place is top dollar for rates but is the worst value for money of any place we have stayed in, in over ten years of visiting Bali and Indonesia. We have stayed at other places on this island paradise for half the price and five times the service and provision of niceties. They make it look good in the photos. It is grubby and unfinished and the parts which are meant to be finished are derelict.

One of our friends is a bit disabled and it was very difficult to negotiate the paths and stairs. Lucky public liability isn't an issue there.

They are mean; with no fresh drinking water provided in rooms, which is usual everywhere. They have awful stained towels which aren't replaced daily, or even at all. They use the excuse of water shortage, which is a GT problem, but other places make it work. There are tiny bars of the cheapest soap and no other extras except breakfast included. It is the worst breakfast I have been offered in Indonesia, though the juice is good.

The power cuts in and out, so forget the offer of air con. Power cuts can be an issue on GiliTrawangan, with only one generator, but the power is working everywhere else except Balikana on many occasions.

The owner has a "cheeseburger in paradise" attitude, but the bun is dry and the meat patty with sauce is missing.

The redeeming features are, firstly the divine local employees, who run their little feet off from dawn to after 10pm and secondly the swimming pool, which though nice is superfluous given the magical snorkelling 100 metres from the beach, all along that stretch of the island.

The restaurant is OK, but a lot of the offerings are greasy.

Much better if you want to be out of the hubbub part of GT to try next door for accommodation and food, at Alam Gili.

We have photos but they make it look much better than it is, just because the sheer divinity of nature sets it off.

We will never go there again or recommend it to any prospective visitors to GT.

My advice - smarten up. I would be surprised if Balikana lasts as GT is growing fast and there are a lot of value for money spots now.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Just book in advance for peak time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
made s, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
This booking was made in person a year prior and the guest knew that there were winding stairs to the beachview rooms, there are choices of downstairs garden rooms without stairs. There was a problem with the ac for one day of the three day stay due to a broken breaker in the power box which was repaired by the power company the following morning. The electric was unstable that day but we supplimented with our own generator for power. We apologize for the inconvenience. We clean rooms every day and they are pristine. Two days of your stay your husband was ill and we could not get into the room to clean or disturb him. The resort was full and laundry takes time to dry, we apologize for your stained towels, sometimes even brand new towel receive a stain from the guest from their makeup, oils, and from stepping on them. We do our best and have purchased new towels.The breakfast is free with your room we don't sell breakfast or charge in the price of the room we are not a bakery so we don't have facility for homemade breads, but we do give a decent breakfast for most persons needs. The soap provded is hotel soap wrapped and clean and provided as an amenitiy. We provide what we advertise, soap, toilet paper, and we give more without question when our guests are "sick" with pleasure. If free bottled water is an issue we have taken that under review. Our restaurant is the highlight of our amenity and we take offense to your comments considering that you only ordered fried springrolls. You did not order one meal in the restaurant to critic it. We are sorry that you had the worst time of your life, but perhaps your husband being sick and you following not feeling well colored your opinions of our resort. We consider this review extremely unjust as you did not walk in blindly, and you spent all your time next door in the accommodation you booked last year. You did every thing there except sleep there. We provide spring mattresses and a very good sleep noted by everyone in the last six months. Once again we are sorry you were not happy, but perhaps a comment to the owner on site would have been more effective than a false smile and a vindictive review to try to destroy our ratings rather than help future guests get more value for their dollar. The comment about beautiful pics but won't post them are suspicious alone that this is a humbung report designed to help the neighbour and to hurt us in a personal manner, this is not a review to help fellow travellers, it is one of the most dishonest reviews I have read and all your fancy coined phrases should make you feel ashamed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gili Trawangan hotels

bali
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice place good atmosphere.
Friendly staff very spacious rooms with hot and cold sweetwater airconditioning

Perfect

G.s

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
Le Pirate Beach Club Hotel
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.0 mi away
D'Wahana Resort
D'Wahana Resort
#25 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Jali Resort
Jali Resort
#11 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Bamboo Resort
White Bamboo Resort
#24 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
Pesona Beach Resort & Spa
#20 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balikana Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Property: Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing