We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place is at Gili Trawangan, not Lombok....not much good to say”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Gili Trawangan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“This place is at Gili Trawangan, not Lombok....not much good to say”
Reviewed September 9, 2011

This place is top dollar for rates but is the worst value for money of any place we have stayed in, in over ten years of visiting Bali and Indonesia. We have stayed at other places on this island paradise for half the price and five times the service and provision of niceties. They make it look good in the photos. It is grubby and unfinished and the parts which are meant to be finished are derelict.

One of our friends is a bit disabled and it was very difficult to negotiate the paths and stairs. Lucky public liability isn't an issue there.

They are mean; with no fresh drinking water provided in rooms, which is usual everywhere. They have awful stained towels which aren't replaced daily, or even at all. They use the excuse of water shortage, which is a GT problem, but other places make it work. There are tiny bars of the cheapest soap and no other extras except breakfast included. It is the worst breakfast I have been offered in Indonesia, though the juice is good.

The power cuts in and out, so forget the offer of air con. Power cuts can be an issue on GiliTrawangan, with only one generator, but the power is working everywhere else except Balikana on many occasions.

The owner has a "cheeseburger in paradise" attitude, but the bun is dry and the meat patty with sauce is missing.

The redeeming features are, firstly the divine local employees, who run their little feet off from dawn to after 10pm and secondly the swimming pool, which though nice is superfluous given the magical snorkelling 100 metres from the beach, all along that stretch of the island.

The restaurant is OK, but a lot of the offerings are greasy.

Much better if you want to be out of the hubbub part of GT to try next door for accommodation and food, at Alam Gili.

We have photos but they make it look much better than it is, just because the sheer divinity of nature sets it off.

We will never go there again or recommend it to any prospective visitors to GT.

My advice - smarten up. I would be surprised if Balikana lasts as GT is growing fast and there are a lot of value for money spots now.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere. Just book in advance for peak time
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janlorraine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
made s, Owner at Balikana Boutique Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 11, 2011
This booking was made in person a year prior and the guest knew that there were winding stairs to the beachview rooms, there are choices of downstairs garden rooms without stairs. There was a problem with the ac for one day of the three day stay due to a broken breaker in the power box which was repaired by the power company the following morning. The electric was unstable that day but we supplimented with our own generator for power. We apologize for the inconvenience. We clean rooms every day and they are pristine. Two days of your stay your husband was ill and we could not get into the room to clean or disturb him. The resort was full and laundry takes time to dry, we apologize for your stained towels, sometimes even brand new towel receive a stain from the guest from their makeup, oils, and from stepping on them. We do our best and have purchased new towels.The breakfast is free with your room we don't sell breakfast or charge in the price of the room we are not a bakery so we don't have facility for homemade breads, but we do give a decent breakfast for most persons needs. The soap provded is hotel soap wrapped and clean and provided as an amenitiy. We provide what we advertise, soap, toilet paper, and we give more without question when our guests are "sick" with pleasure. If free bottled water is an issue we have taken that under review. Our restaurant is the highlight of our amenity and we take offense to your comments considering that you only ordered fried springrolls. You did not order one meal in the restaurant to critic it. We are sorry that you had the worst time of your life, but perhaps your husband being sick and you following not feeling well colored your opinions of our resort. We consider this review extremely unjust as you did not walk in blindly, and you spent all your time next door in the accommodation you booked last year. You did every thing there except sleep there. We provide spring mattresses and a very good sleep noted by everyone in the last six months. Once again we are sorry you were not happy, but perhaps a comment to the owner on site would have been more effective than a false smile and a vindictive review to try to destroy our ratings rather than help future guests get more value for their dollar. The comment about beautiful pics but won't post them are suspicious alone that this is a humbung report designed to help the neighbour and to hurt us in a personal manner, this is not a review to help fellow travellers, it is one of the most dishonest reviews I have read and all your fancy coined phrases should make you feel ashamed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    6
    13
    7
See reviews for
6
32
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bali
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Nice place good atmosphere.
Friendly staff very spacious rooms with hot and cold sweetwater airconditioning

Perfect

G.s

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kobus9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We stayed 3 nights in Balikana, 2 nights in a standard room and 1 night in a deluxe room. The hotel is nice, the service is very good, the staff is quite amazing - especially the boys in the beach bar and the food is good. I just regret the location, a bit far from the village - though this ensures a quiet stay - and the prices, a bit expensive compared to the rooms. For example bathrooms are quite old in standard room and should be renovated. But in general, good place to stay !

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caramia00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sanur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2011

We are a dutch family (2 children, 11 and 17 years old) and stayed at Balikana for 2 nights. We loved our stay on the island and especially at Balikana. The clean familyrooms are prepared with flowers on the bed and are big enough for 4 people. Just like the big bathroom (only shower). The breakfast is simple, you can make a choice out of 4 possibilities, including juice, fruitsalad and coffee/tea. The boys who run the 'restaurant' (on beachside) are very nice and helpfull!
To reach the main strip of the island you have to walk about 20 minutes from Balikana. On the way back, in the dark (bring a flashlight) you'll have to be carefull, because you will be attracted by the bright stars in teh sky and you can't see where you put your feet. We enjoyed our short stay on Gili Trawangan and Balikanan very much.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baligili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2011

I was quite shocked to read the negatives reviews of this place. Balikana was heaven. It is away from the main strip, so you have some peace and quiet, gorgeous views out to the ocean from your bungalow, fantastic service, rooms were cleaned every day with fresh flowers, mosquito nets over the beds, outdoor bathrooms were fantastic - very authentic, and bungalows came with air con which is well needed. And the food was great.
The pool was lovely - salt water, very clean, and for our whole stay, we had it all to ourselves. It was so relaxing. The only downfall with this place was the lack of umbrella's by the pool for shade.

I stayed 4 nights here, and then moved closer to town on my final 3 nights for something different, but for a bungalow at the same price closer to town, there was quite a bit of difference. Rooms & bathrooms were much smaller, and not cleaned during the time I was there, and the service and food was not as good. Advantage of being a bit closer to town, quicker to get home after a night out, and closer to the beach.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2011

We stayed at the Balikana Resort for 3 nights and loved every minute of the stay. It's a perfect location, away from the noise of the main strip. You can cheaply or easily rent a bicycle to go into town, or it is a pleasant 20 minute stroll. The rooms are extremely clean and each night you walk into a sprinkling of fresh flowers upon your bed and the outdoor bathrooms are gorgeous. The owners made sure to include lots of spaces in the hotel to relax with a view of the sea. Lounge areas with a view of the sea are sprinkled throughout the hotel. The pool is clean and well-kept and a coral reef for snorkeling is directly across from the hotel. What made this hotel special, however, is the owners and the people who worked in the hotel. They all knew us by name and made us feel welcomed and comfortable at all times. They jumped at the chance to help and provided us with tons of great information about exploring the island. We loved our stay here and I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kendra90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2011

What can I say... myself and 2 friends went to the Gili Islands for a day trip and ended up leaving 4 days later! After much searching around the island we stumbled on Balikana and never wanted to leave, they were the nicest and most accommodating staff, and the perfect balance of being far enough away from town and still being able to sneak back for a drink and shopping. Janice and Maude have built a wonderful villa resort and group of wonderful friendly staff. Not to mention the other guests we met at the resort was friendly and created a nice chill social atmosphere at the pool. Expectations are everything and from reading the other reviews it does need to be said that if you want a character-less Hilton-esk hotel this is not the place for you, however if you want a truly local, friendly, and Indonesian experience (not to mention an AMAZING location), this is the place... it has endless personality I would relentlessly recommend it! If you do end up on the Gili's at any resort you MUST try the restaurant, by far the best Indonesian place we eat at the whole time, and highly recommend the Indonesian breakfast off the complimentary menu. Eating dinner with the ocean tickling your feet and getting to know the staff who would do anything for you (and all of them on a first name basis) was an experience we will never forget! Janice and Maude thank you and we will be back as soon as we can!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maserman85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Lumbung
Sunrise Lumbung
#34 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
539 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,753 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
Villa Almarik Resort Lombok
#10 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balikana Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balikana Boutique Beach Resort

Property: Balikana Boutique Beach Resort
Address: Gili Trawangan, Gili Indah | Pemenang, NTB, Lobar, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Balikana is a family guest house situated on the north beach side of Gili Trawangan located in front of the prime snorkel location on the island. It is the place for romance, watersports, or relaxation. Eye stopping tropical garden, beautiful swimming pool, cozy traditional designed rooms with western amenities. A golden paradise retreat.Free wifi included with rooms. Lounge includes tv with satellite channels, lending library. Owner managed. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Balikana Boutique Beach Hotel Gili Trawangan
Balikana Boutique Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing