We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A solid choice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Beach House Resort
Ranked #13 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A solid choice”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We moved to this hotel after a few nights on the west coast. The hotel is nice, good pool and location on the beach. Rooms are clean, spacious and good quality. We had a 'studio' which was just like any normal hotel room with a cute outdoor bathroom.

Wifi works in the room but like all connections on Gili T, it's not particularly strong.

Food in the restaurant is fantastic, really tasty and the menu is reasonably priced, the BBQ is ridiculously expensive compared to other places... For a good BBQ go next door to Tir Na Nog Irish bar!!

Room Tip: There were a fair few mosquitoes in the room but a room spray was provided by the hotel - bring good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTeam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    182
    157
    58
    23
    15
See reviews for
62
175
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
66 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

We went to the beach house for dinner after being told by several locals that the owners are lovely and they look after the locals and employees very well. We were a party of 3 and upon arriving we were left to stand at the front area for a number of minutes before anyone stopped what they were doing to greet us. After being seated next to the water which was lovely we were left with menus to decide what we were having. After close to 10 minutes I called the waiter over and asked for some drinks, entrees and mains. We waited for a reasonable amount of time for the food to come out. It was quite quick compared to other places in Bali or the gillis. The food we received was average, we didn't complain because this is not uncommon considering we were ordering western food which is not what they would usually cook. We then had to ask for the desert menu and then the bill. My friend who I was staying with had severe food poisoning after eating the lobster ravioli. She was up all night and still sick the next day which resulted in us being unable to leave the island due to her condition. I went back the next day to notify staff so they could look into their policies and procedures to ensure this doesn't happen again. I know food poisoning happens quiet often so I was just wanting to ensure it didn't happen to anyone else. After telling the staff member twice he asked me where I was from, to which I replied Australia and he replied by saying the owner is australian also, there is no way she could get sick. I found this strange as I was actually going there just to friendly notify them. I wouldn't come back here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Katie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My partner and I , in our 20's , stayed at The Beach House in a deluxe bungalow for 2 nights. The island itself is so beautiful and clean. The Beach House is the same. Staff werent very friendly although we didnt really hang around to talk as there is so much to do in so little time. Our bungalow was very spacious and the beds are lovely and large. The outdoor bathroom is great! Our shower was fresh water and i loved the out doors feel to it. For us the music of the irish pub didnt bother us one bit. In fact you can hardly hear it at all. The restaurant had some delicous cocktails and food also. Breakfast wasnt anything fancy and we only had it once while we were there.

The problems we had were that we kept having enery outages. Im not sure if this is normal on island accomodation, im sure it may be, but about 5 times while we were in our room everything cut out for about a minute and then would go back on. We reported it to staff who checked the issue out straight away but after a few times we just laughed it off.

We also on our last night had our air con remote break. It wasnt dead as we changed the batteries but unfortunatly the whole night we were asleep we were quite cold as its a one sheeted bed and we couldnt turn our air con off. We would have said something but only realised once we were in bed sleeping.

One thing that bothered me greatly was the fact of construction next to us. Not sure what they were constructing but they were working on the roof. Now when you go to the toilet outside its bad enough you can see the sky and getting a little worried. The fact we could actually see people walking on the roof towards us and actually stopping and STARING at you when your about to go to the loo is gross and horrible and not something you want in a privacy area. Not to mention this is a shower area where you are naked most of the time in the bathroom.

Apart from the privacy issues we had we had no theft (although we chose never to get our room made up as we werent there for to long) and all in all had a great enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring the mozzy repellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klouisev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 31, 2012
Hello

Thank you for your detailed review, and we're so glad you enjoyed so much of what The Beach House has to offer.

In terms of the energy outages, unfortunately Gili Trawangan has major energy issues and supply is limited and sporadic. As a result, we personally (and are the only business who does) run our businesses off huge commercial generators, and have 4 switchovers a day with a one minute outage between changing from one generator to the other. Our guests consider themselves fortunate as all other businesses suffer a minimum of 2 -3 hour outages, at least, a day, whereas, being generator driven, we can eliminate long periods without electricity...

We are looking into the issue of the construction next door, and will be handling this by creating higher walls and having increased security. Unfortunately, part of the beauty of the Balinese style bathrooms is countered by a slight lack of privacy in extreme situations (like builders on the next property) but as I've mentioned, we have taken your comments on board and are increasing privacy in as many ways possible

As mentioned in a previous response, we have increased security and implemented security devices so we really hope people will continue to be cautious - as they should anywhere in the world - but to not be too concerned about security risks. On a holiday island with so much coming and going, problems can and do arise, but thankfully they have been incredibly rare

What a shame you didn't take advantage of our full scale breakfast menu for a small additional cost. We supply a basic breakfast included in the room rate but, for a low cost, have a complete gourmet breakfast menu available. We're glad you mentioned this point, as we believe many people don't realise the breakfast options available

Again, thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back to Gili Trawangan

Kind regards
The Beach House management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2012

Recently spent a few days on Gili Trawangan and checked out The Beach House. Great accommodation, fantastic location and friendly, attentive staff

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank digilit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

OMG................I with a family of 12 stayed at this villa and was impressed by what we saw.We enjoy our stay here and looking forward for our next family reunion.Thanks for all the staff.Terimakasih..............

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jalil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I was staying with Tim G and as per his comments there was theft from the room. While it may be the case that the safe was unlocked, someone still got into the room and took some of both my and his money. My cash that was taken was Australian and I did not return to the room that night so there was no chance that I accidentally took it as per the accusation of management.

Beach house is a beautiful place and everything was great except for the theft and, more importantly, the response of management to this.

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank rjspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Hello

I'm afraid that, when there are reviews, and particularly either accusatory or laudatory ones, we are compelled to do our research and reply.

I am not for a minute saying that there is no theft on the island, nor even that ANYONE may access rooms at any resort if doors are left unlocked (anywhere in the world). However, given the traffic on the island, theft can be committed by anyone, from tourists, to local residents, to other staff from other businesses and yes, possibly, members of our staff (of which we have 100s) However to ACCUSE our staff with no evidence was what we took offence to. Had you presented us with any evidence of the theft, or any proof of it being one of our staff, we'd have dealt with it immediately in the way issues of theft are dealt with on a small island like Gili Trawangan.

Secondly it was necessary for me to point out the system with our safes and the fact that, even had you left it open, after several seconds it self locks and resets its code. And this is obviously what our management worked out DID happen as the code your tried in the morning was unable to open your safe.

We are not denying that maybe someone did enter your room, and it was obvious that if this did happen, the theft was from an open safe, but we were simply saying that to accuse someone with no evidence is, in any arena, a fairly unacceptable practise. Without proof, and without evidence, there is little we, as an establishment, are able to do. We provide the safes to keep your documents and money safe, but I'm afraid the onus is on the guests to keep that safe locked.

I would like to reinforce, given the open nature of Gili Trawangan resorts, and the fact that, with increased theft on the island in general, ANYONE can access rooms, and hence the need for more caution from everyone. From our side, we are now putting on 24 hour mobile security staff, and security video cameras to cover all corners of our resort.

Even more importantly, given the huge increase in building on the island, and thus the imported labour from Lombok and Java, the island itself has now brought 15 permanent security staff (called tourist police) to the island and therefore we are now, even more than ever, trying to advocate safer security measures within our resorts and also to guests in terms of them safeguarding precious effects.

I am sure, as you understand, we naturally would like to think it's not our staff (who we have had, in terms of the majority, as staff and also family, for many years). We do obviously question them if the need arises, but have never has issues with them over the years, so do like to try to find other possibilities. We are so sorry you had this experience, and are glad you did mention that other than issues to do with the theft, you enjoyed the resort.

Please understand that, as an employer, and also a very fair minded management team, we can't just simply accept accusations against staff with nothing proven, therefore do need to point out, to guests who write reviews, and to future guests, what other possibilities exist in terms of accusations.

Kind regards
The Beach House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2012

I had money stolen from my safe in my locked room. Clearly a member of staff got in and stole from us. It was not a considerable amount of money but would have made a massive difference if the staff had adequate dealt with the situation rather than imply it was our fault. Case was that someone has either leapt over the walls or used a skeleton key to open the door and safe… all very unsettling. Was on the morning of our departure so had little ability to do anything. Was otherwise a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hello Tim

After 15 minutes on the phone with our Beach House manager, I do have a response to your review which, in all honesty, is quite slanderous

We have commercial grade Krisbow safes and, as our manager demonstrated to you on the morning of your complaint, these safes, if opened with a master or 'skeleton' key, automatically cancel out YOUR combination and reset with a combination that has to be overridden. This was not the case obviously, as you were able to open your safe in the morning

You then suggested maybe you had 'forgotten' to lock it when you went out to the party. Again, our manager showed you how, if you do open it and forget to press your combination to lock the safe, the safe is designed to automatically lock within several seconds

Finally - not that they could have been used, as demonstrated above - but all master keys are kept in the management safety box, not in housekeeping

Our manager did wonder at the time, given you were at an all night party the night before your departure, whether one of you perhaps forgot that he went to take the $100 you were missing to settle bills at the party venue

Again, I repeat, to accuse our staff who have NEVER had a theft report issued against them in the 10 years we have been in business, on a public forum, is totally inexcusable. You not only have no evidence, but all your suggestions of how your money disappeared were disproved

Beach House Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
507 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Resort

Property: The Beach House Resort
Address: Gili Trawangan Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although a contemporary resort, we strive to retain the original features that are characteristic of Bali and Lombok. Set amidst tropical gardens, fronting onto the Lombok Straits, The Beach House reminds you of how Bali used to be. Enjoy all that The Beach House offers - the spacious and well appointed bungalows, villas or tree houses; a restaurant set in the sand at the edge of the water that features wonderful, fresh produce, a freshwater swimming pool with a bar and great sun-baking spots; and unbeatable service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Gili Trawangan
Beach Hotel Lombok
The Beach Hotel
The Beach House Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing