We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great drinks, great staff....an island paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Beach House Resort
Ranked #17 of 170 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 2, 2011

I have been to the Beach House a couple of times now, and will continue to return. Whether you fly to Mataram, and enjoy the comfort of your own driver to the boat transfer taking in the sights of Lombok, or jump on the fast boat from Benoa Harbour, as you approach you see you are just going to love Gili T.
If you are looking to simply relax and unwind then this is a great place to do that....relax by the pool and simply laze the days away enjoying the great food and drinks on offer. If you are looking to do a bit more then take your pick from hiring a bike and taking a ride around the island, go diving with one of the many dive companies (Manta Dive are fantastic), get the Beach House staff to take you fishing for the day, wander down to the southern end of the island and catch a few waves. No matter what your holiday plans this is a great place to do it all.
At the end of a long day go and see the friendly staff at the bar and enjoy a cold beer or one (or more) of the many delicious cocktails.
Come night time the seafood BBQ comes out and your mouth will water instantly with the biggest and tastiest prawns you have ever been tempted by, calamary (I love how they spell it), and the beautiful array of fresh fish. The chef will cook it to perfection.
At the end of my stay, every time I say, "longer next time", and each time I manage to add at least 1 more day on!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JK804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

317 - 323 of 466 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2011

This is a lovely resort! We stayed in a deluxe bungalow.... It was very neat & tidy and the room size was really big, heaps of space plus an extra room for storage of bags etc. The outdoor bathroom was nice too and I loved our little front deck. Although if you sit out on the deck there is not much privacy. But I really loved our room! There was a few nights when I could hear music playing down the street (for most of the night) but I was still able to get to sleep, it wasnt too bad. As for the restaurant, we really enjoyed the food BUT the service is very very slow. Breakfast, lunch, dinner or snacks, the service was always slow. I think the hotel could try and improve on that. Same with the pool bar. They should also look at improving their reception area and welcoming and helping clients just a little bit more. I looked at my friends hotel nearby which I preferred as it was more private but I would definitely consider staying at the Beach House again. All up, a good stay!

Room Tip: A pool bungalow might be more private
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizzieDe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2011

As the fast boat from Bali came into shore on Gili T you knew that you had descended onto an island paradise that just screamed relaxation with the hint of fun ahead.
As our bags were taken to The Beach House resort we strolled along the strip taking in the beautiful beach scenery and the many activities that could be undertaken. From the take away fish and chip shop to the many bars and restaurants there is an endless supply of places to eat and drink which all seem to include an excess of day beds to pass away the time on.
On our arrival at the Beach House Resort the service was excellent, as our bags were taken to our rooms we enjoyed a refreshing drink and a light lunch in the restaurant that overlooks the water. Believe me when I say that a lot of time was spent in the restaurant drinking cocktails and savouring the beautiful food that is on offer. I stayed in a deluxe bungalow which was very spacious and had its own outdoor bathroom and balcony. The location of the Beach House is perfect as it is in the midst of all the action but all the rooms are set back enough that once inside you do not hear any of the night time activities. The pool and pool bar are fantastic and a lot of time was also spent here relaxing on the sun lounges. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly and even if you do not stay at the Beach House I would highly recommend the night time seafood BBQ where you can pick your own seafood and it is cooked up fresh in front of you.
After this night time feast in the mornings don't forget to hire yourself a bike and take a ride around the island so you can see the entire picture of this paradise.
For me this island escape was my highlight of a trip to Bali and I will be returning soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JMW5677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2011

Recently spent about a week at the Beachhouse in the 'Big Villa', and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. There were 5 of us staying in the villa and it would have comfortably housed plenty more! The rooms were luxurious and a real treat to be staying in!

Having Access to your own private pool is very indulgent and the whole experience of staying with friends/family in the villa is definitely worthwhile. Having the bar and restaurant so close at hand is very handy and the quality and variety of the food at the BeachHouse is excellent, the Seafood Grill is an good option with choices from delicious whole fish, fillets and lobster!

The staff at BeachHouse Gili Trawangan are very welcoming and are more than happy to help, going out of their way to make our stay there very enjoyable!

I am very much looking forward to going back to the Beachhouse and Highly recommend it for families as well as solo travellers and those travelling with friends!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ausguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Hi

Thank you for taking the time to review The Beach House and we're really happy you had such a great stay. The four bed villa is always a popular choice and will become even more so once we have enough time that it doesn't have guest in to update it a little!

The staff all enjoyed your group and we look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

The management and staff of The Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2011

We loved every minute of our stay at The Beach House! The staff were so friendly and lovely, and our private bungalow was gorgeous - I especially loved the outdoor bathroom. The fresh seafood bbq each night was delicious - fish back home just isn't the same..... My husband and I will definately be back - hopefully soon!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PNaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Hi

We also like our bungalows and are always glad to hear that guest enjoy them, given that the Villas seem to be becoming increasingly popular

And yes, we also pride ourselves on the freshness of our seafood BBQ's

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property

Kind regards

The management and staff of The Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2011

Occupying teenagers on an island seemed a daunting task but on Gili T it was a breeze, with a short 20 min bike ride to circumnavigate the island they couldn't go far. The bars and choices of restaurants, casual beach lined diners were fantastic and having a pineapple peeled back to reveal sweet moist flesh while sitting on a warm sandy beach was pure heaven. Boating, snorkelling, diving and swimming kept the teenagers occupied when not chatting up the locals. Beach House offers relaxed and oh so comfortable accommodation with the iconic outside/in bathroom and comfortable bedding. Time is easily wasted here and you feel so much better when you return to the mainland, albeit to the drudge of every day life, so sit back and enjoy the journey as you effortlessly unwind on this island sanctuary.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kazcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Hello

Thank you for choosing The Beach House for your relaxing break away. We're always so happy to get feedback that reinforces the fact that Gili Trawangan and The Beach House itself provides the perfect location for an escape!

We look forward to welcoming you and your family back

The management and staff of The Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

I will start by saying that the Beach House is a great value. We spent 4 nights there at a fraction of the cost of what we spent in Lombok, which is where we were just prior for 5 days. We had a deluxe bungalow and adjoining studio room for our family of four. The setting of the room was nice, we were way in the back, though they are quite moldy and could use some general maintenace upkeep. If you are on a guys diving trip, this is the place to be. If we had it to do over again as a family, we would have gone to the north end of the island which is both quieter and cleaner.

I was shocked at how dirty Gili T was. It rained very heavy on NY Eve, and my son and I were wading through the streets in water halfway to our knees, and trash was floating through the streets. A major turn off, as the streets are in very poor condition, never seem to dry up the four days we were there, so there is mud, trash and standing water everywhere.

That said, we got over it and made the best of it. My son and I dove, while my wife and daughter hung out at the glorious north end of the island (Karma Kayak) and read their Kindles. Contrary to the name, there is no real beach at the Beach House, and all the beaches on the south side of the island were pretty dirty. Food at the Beach House was ok, but the flies seemed to be everywhere. We ate two nights next door at ScallyWags, which I would say was excellent.

Local staff was friendly (housekeeping, waitstaff etc), while management seemed to be in their own world and were minimally attentive. Seemed to always be surfing the net or texting whenever we came by the office. Ithink the owners were there as well, but made minimal effort to engage the guests. Simple things like seeing plates of leftover lobster carcasses from the night before left out overnight at the front of the kitchen (covered in a blanket of flies) and visible to passers-by in the street as well as guests queing up for breakfast... these were things that made me wonder what management are thinking.

Overall for families , I would recommend their sister property KoKoMo or Scally Wags over the Beach House .... worth the extra money. Also, Karma Kayak on the north end is divine and the owners and managment were wonderful. (You need to book early to get any of these places). We spent a lot of time there enjoying their beach, eating tapas and drinking sangria.

Beach House would be a great spot for young couples on a budget who want to be near the action.

John
USA and Singapore

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SingUSwanderer27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LindaHE, Owner at The Beach House Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2011

Thank you for your review and we appreciate that you understand that The Beach House is great value and has a great setting although, being in the midst of the busy strip, it is not the quietest place on the island - which is why we added ko-ko-mo (just out of the action) to provide options for guests depending on needs

Like you, we were taken by surprise at the amount of rain at the end of the year and ,like Bali, have suffered from constant damp and rubbish which escapes the confines of its designated areas once the water levels rise! And we also understand that to those not used to the dirt roads (which are part of the charm of Gili T) the dust and mud can be overwhelming. This all is part of life on a semi remote and relatively un-developed island - but doesn't suit all

Yes, the word beach generally is a bit of a misnomer on Gili T as we are ringed by reefs and therefore there are certain designated beaches which are more traditionally 'beachy'. However it is certainly possible to cool off in front of many of the properties on the island. Additionally, we have private pools in all the villas and a communal pool as we don't promote a conventional beach out front of The Beach House. That said, our restaurant does, in fact, sit on a sandy beach - all adding to the charm of outdoor dining

We are sorry if you found issues with our management and will certainly address these with them. However, most of the owners were back in Sydney over this period, with others only on the island for brief periods. This was unavoidable on this occasion, though generally we all like to be there over the busy periods. We will also query your issues about the kitchen - thank you for drawing that to our attention

Thank you for taking the time to draw certain issues to our attention
The Beach House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,833 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
594 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
619 reviews
0.1 mi away
Scallywags Resort
Scallywags Resort
#3 of 170 in Gili Trawangan
785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Beach House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Beach House Resort

Address: Gili Trawangan Main Street, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 170 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $40 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Beach House Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Although a contemporary resort, we strive to retain the original features that are characteristic of Bali and Lombok. Set amidst tropical gardens, fronting onto the Lombok Straits, The Beach House reminds you of how Bali used to be. Enjoy all that The Beach House offers - the spacious and well appointed bungalows, villas or tree houses; a restaurant set in the sand at the edge of the water that features wonderful, fresh produce, a freshwater swimming pool with a bar and great sun-baking spots; and unbeatable service ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Beach House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Beach House Hotel Gili Trawangan
Beach Hotel Lombok
The Beach Hotel
The Beach House Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing