We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remotely Beautiful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, friendly staffs, nice room & bed, big open air bathroom, serves an abundance of delicious breakfast, salt water pool. No hot water, no staff available and bar's closed after 11pm so get yourself some more bottled water.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Otto F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2014

Dear Otto F,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor ... "Remotely Beautiful"....
"Great place and friendly staffs" .....
We are so happy that you loved our place.

The Bar and Restaurant is closed at 11 pm, but it's still possible to get more bottles of water or some other beverages as some of our staff is staying at the hotel's staff mess.
We are also providing some bottles of water, soft drinks and beers in the room's fridge.

We wish to welcome you back to stay again with us....

Thanks again and have a lovely seasons .....

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

182 - 188 of 562 reviews

Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

I was supposed to stay two nights in Gili T, ended up staying for five... Big part of it was my stay at Desa Dunia. I took a bungalow with direct sea view.

The bungalows are gorgeous.

Very big rooms, furnished in "Java"style-- so lots of wood work, yet doesn't feel "heavy". Big porch in the front.

There is an outside shower with fresh water (not salty), but not hot water. Loved it.

The room has everything you may need. They even give you a kimono and mosquito cream. I am very sensetive to mosquito bites, and it was pretty good in there. Probably because it is super clean.

The garden is beautiful and very unique, and so is the pool area.

After seeing most of the island, i felt Desa was the best place to stay.

The hospitality was warm and friendly. They all knew me by name, and there was always a sense they really care for your wellbeing.

Desa is located on the north west side of the island. It is quiet. The beach itself has coral in the water-- so be aware that swimming is only possible if you get those rubber shoes. (You can get one at the center for few dollars). The center is 30 minutes walk. Not too bad. You can also rent bike for $3 per day. If you order a horse it costs $7. Snorkeling gear is free, and pretty nice in that area.
Breakfast is delicious with many choices to choose from. Lombark coffee (yamm) or regular available.
Dinner was awesome. Whole fish grilled on coals.

Lastly, the sunset view from Desa's beach is breathtaking. You can also watch the sunrise in there.

Gili was OK, but Desa is outstanding!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liat-geographic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2014

Warmest greetings from the most exotic island of Gili Tralala ........

Dear Sir/ Madam,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor.
We are so happy that you loved and enjoyed your stay with us.

We love to serve you again "a grilled fresh fish" ala Trawangan.

"Gili was OK, but Desa Dunia is outstanding" ... WOW ....thank you for that....

We wish to welcome you back to stay again with us....

HAVE A WONDERFUL DAYS ......

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014

From the moment we arrived in a horse drawn cart to be greeted by friendly staff we had as perfect stay. Thee beach front villa was luxurious with a superb outside shower.

The breakfast is fantastic with lots of choices. The staff are smiling and helpful. It is a bit of a walk from the centre which needs a torch but that makes it quiet.

Thanks to the staff for as wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Matt6983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Matt6983,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you can enjoy your stay.

You stayed in one of our Joglo Villa on the Beachfront. All Joglos are quite spacious and comfortable. They are also spread out to got a lot of space between each other and don’t feel too crowded.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again ....

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2014

After arriving on Gilli Trawangan by fast boat we grabbed a horse and cart and went straight around to The Dessa Duina Beach resort were we had pre booked a couple of the beach front Bungalows. Now the horse and cart ride was fantastic it was like being on the Cha Cha ride at a carnival bouncing around every were all part of the journey. We arrived at the resort were we were greated by very pleasant staff who without delay checed us into our beach front Bungalow as yes as advertised the only thing between our bungalows and wth beach was a path a small fence, a few trees and the coral sand, the water is blue and I mean real blue, real refreshing and plenty of fish if you want to snorkel.
The restaurant was a bit plain, didn't have dinner at the restaurant however we had breakfast everyday {limited breakfast menu} nice, fresh and pleasant waiters
Highlights of the resort Quiet, Very neat, clean and well presented Bungalows comfortable beds ,no hot water showers and to be honest we found we didn't need hot water the water from the shower was a pleasant temperature.
Would we recommend that you stay here Yes

Room Tip: Beach front Bungalows are Beach front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glenn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear Glenn N,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are so happy that you loved and enjoyed your stay with us.

You stayed in one of our Joglo Villa on the Beachfront. It's just a short walk to the beach. All Joglos are quite spacious and comfortable. They are also spread out to got a lot of space between each other and don’t feel too crowded.

We need to say that snorkeling is absolutely perfect at our place as it’s a one of the best spot on the island where you are able to see turtles and the beautiful of colorful tropical fishes. Try to go snorkeling before breakfast when the sea still calm and perfect clear to see everything. Don’t forget to use a proper water shoes to walk over the dead corals.

The restaurant...... Yes.... We are always looking for improvements to make every guest has a memorable experience. We plan to upgrade our restaurant and our beach bar this month by creating some special menu with fresh and new presentation by our new chef and also we will build a grill house near the beach bar to make our grilled seafood menu more attractive. The breakfast menu will be varied.

Once again, thank you to recommend us as a nice relaxing quiet place to stay.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again ......

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Just 5 min diving from wonderful snorkelling spot where we saw fish and turtles. The villas are just awesome, perfect decoration. Of course this hotel is not for people that want to party all night long but if you are looking for a calm place to rest and enjoy a most beautiful sea, then this is your hotel. By the way they make the most delicious pina colada...
I asked for a special decoration that was wonderful all over the room with flowers. The staff is very nice and professional. They helped me very efficiently to plan our stay there while I was still in France. The breakfast are very good and stay in the gazebo, in front of the sea and
So to sum up, an amazing place to stay if you want to rest by the sea and drink cocktails...

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Exactly like the photos.. great accomodation... quiet part of the island.... good sunsets over the beach... the staff are brilliant.. there when you need them and not obtrusive in any way... really lovely people. Great hotel....

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edinburgh989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 3 nights and it was awesome...i totally recommend it for those who want peace & quiet away from the loud night life at the city centre. The room is beautiful and ao are the staff..good service and nice people. The rooms are clean and tidy. The restaurant food is very good so you dont have to go all the way to the centre for a decent meal! Special hi to the beautiful Inda ...she was very helpful. All the staff are very noce and friendly and they helped us so so much even with our speed boat booking

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,867 reviews
1.4 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
456 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $98 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most peaceful and authentic resort on Gili Trawangan. We are located on the north part of the island and we have one off the longest beach (170 mtr),you will enjoy it having a romantic time or dinner time facing the indian ocean. With only twelve villas on our fifteen thousand square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing