We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Off the beaten track on Gili”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We stayed here in September 2013 and had an unforgettable time. The staff is exceptionally friendly and the hotel grounds are beautiful. We stayed in bungalow closest to the beach, which was beautiful. The hotel is located away from the hustle and bustle of Gili islands main beaches, which was exactly what we were looking for. The number of people at the beach right in front of the hotel is very limited and gives you a very private feeling. You should however bring your water-shoes as you will have to walk out a bit to reach deeper waters. Once you are there you will be rewarded which a beautiful underwater scenery. Maybe also rent a bike from the hotel and make a tour around the island, which will take you roughly an hour.
The hotel staff is very friendly and the hotel food is also quite good, if you do not want to go elsewhere.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (553)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 553 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

We just spent 5 nights in DDB, the manager and staff are really lovely. The pool is salt water and really nice. The ocean front is full of lovely corals and shells.

It is on the other side of the islands but a quick bike ride or horse cart ride away from center, our 5 years old walked back from village no problem.

There are few places to have lunch and diner around.

Beach front Joglo are the best - the family one are the back and really not as nice (we find). we had a single bed added to our beach front Joglo and it was perfect.

Warning - the shower are salty water and you rince from a fresh water bucket, we loved it but some might get surprised.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

We weren't too impressed with the place. It's ok, but nothing more.

Pros:
Beautiful grounds, quiet part of the island, comfy bed, nicely decorated villa

Cons:
Dark villa (had to use flashlight to read), no hot water in villa, no wifi in villa, no coffee/tea making facilities, limited breakfast (at this price I'd not expect to have to chose between fruit and fruit juice), noise from beach bar (so much for quiet time in the villa).

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Saskia_Rosenthal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Saskia_Rosenthal,


Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on TripAdvisor.

We are very pleased with your review says that our resort have beautiful grounds, quiet part of the island, comfy bed and nicely decorated villa.

We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us on the small remote island of Gili Trawangan.

We take all your constructive opinion very seriously. We will make all rooms brighter by arranging lamps position, installing wifi and tea & coffee making facilities in each room and better breakfast, so every guest will have fresh fruit and fruit juice. We are aware to meet every guest's needs.

We will pay attention to the noise at the beach bar due to the other guest was so loud and noisy on those time by making the necessary policy to make all guests could enjoy the peaceful and relaxing atmosphere at our place without missing the secluded feeling to reflect our real concept.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again .....We promise will serve you best.

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We stayed at two hotels en route to reach our final destination in Gili T and the prior two hotels were ticklling our expectation with panorama seaview, and distinct decors. Both 2 hotels received good reviews with Tripadvisor. So I was confident to please my family with Desa Dunia.
Unfortunately we were disappointed with the remote location, no hot warm and limited fresh water for bathing. Lots of mosquito bites during our sleeps added to the disappointment.
We did however enjoyed our swim in the sea water pool. There is just nothing special to rave about considering the high rating on tripadvisor..

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kappa15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Warmest greetings from The Island of Gili Trawangan ....

Dear Kappa15,

We apologize for any inconvenience during your stay with us on the small remote island of Gili Trawangan that our natural concept does not meet to your expectations although we have explained in our hotel's website.

TripAdvisor is not entitled to give a rating. The guests are entitled to assess and give ratings to us by writing their reviews on TripAdvisor based on their experience during their stay at our place.

We are located on a secluded location (quiet and peaceful), on the western side of the island, it’s approximately 1,5 kilometers away from the main strip.

It seems the problem started from our resort location away from the main strip, hot water and mosquito. Horse cart and bicycle are the only transportation on the island and we are providing bicycle rental and horse cart service to go to the main strip. We are also providing mosquito net, mosquito repellent and mosquito coil in every room.

You stayed in one of our Joglo Villa. All Joglos are unique and vary in size, some with AC and others naturally ventilated.

But we were a little feel good because you still can enjoyed your swim in our great sea water pool.

We thank you for all your criticism and we receive with open hands. We are always looking for improvements if any possible to make every guest has a memorable experience with us.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again ...

Best regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel is simply wonderful, located on the far north of Gili T and a breathtaking view on the ocean.

We were in the typical balinese room, without air condition, but we slept very well. However, in August it might get very hot and one might opt for the bungalows furnished with air conditioning.

Good breakfast, but the food served by the restaurant can definitely be improved (we had shrimps which were supposed to be crispy but turned out to be gummy).
You might want to think about renting a bike, but we decided to walk. It takes 30 min to go the center at night, which makes the location extremely quiet and far from the mess. Bring your torch :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StudentelloMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear StudentelloMilano,

Thank you very much for your nice review on TripAdvisor. We are so glad that you can enjoy your stay.

You stayed in one of our Joglo Villa on the Beachfront. All Joglos are unique and vary in size. If according to the living areas ranging from 67 to 87 m2, some with AC and others naturally ventilated, so it’s quite spacious and comfortable.

The Joglos are also spread out to got a lot of space between each other and don’t feel too crowded.

Actually we were trying to keep the authenticity and naturalness of the resort, but we are aware to plan for upgrade the rooms in order to meet every guest's needs by doing the installation of air conditioning and fresh water in every room, starting on the 1st February 2014 and it will be finish by the mid-March 2014.

Thank you very much for your constructive suggestions in the matter of food served in the restaurant. We are always looking for improvements to make every guest has a memorable experience with us.

We are located on a secluded location (quiet and peaceful), on the western side of the island, it’s approximately 1,5 kilometers away from the main strip.

We are providing free island map and rechargeable flashlight in our reception (front desk) and all the necessary information about the island.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again .....We promise will serve you the real crispy coconut prawn.

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We booked this hotel for 2 nights and loved it so much we stayed an extra night. Cute little bungalows that are really clean and have a delightful outdoor shower. The pool was great and because the hotel is small you are not bothered by other guests. The staff were really friendly and i would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFH2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear BFH2013,

Thank you very much for your nice comment and review on TripAdvisor.
We are so happy that you loved and enjoyed your stay with us.

We've shared this to our staff and they send the warmest greetings to both of you.
We serve with sincerity and smile to reflect the concept.

The bungalows are spread out to got a lot of space and privacy.
An outdoor fresh water shower completing our great sea water pool which is one of the best in the island.

Thanks again to recommend our place.

We wish to welcome you back to stay with us again .....
Have a wonderful seasons ....

Best personal regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Wonderful rustic hotel on Gili T. We spent over a week here and travelled the island extensively and this was the best hotel we saw. We stayed in the antique style room with air con which was nice but I think next time I would prefer to stay in one of the modern rooms near the beach. There is no fresh water in the room so showering, brushing teeth, washing face, etc can become a bit arduous needing to use bottled water or the pot of fresh water they provide each day however I think this added to the "rusticness" of the hotel. Even though the hotel was full when we were there, there seemed to be few people about with plenty room on the beach and next to the pool. The hotel is quite far from the main strip, about a 20 minute bike ride, but I would much rather stay here as it is very busy and crowded along the main road. A little tip is to go left when cycling to the main strip, although the distance is further there are less sandy spots do you don't have to push your bike as much as you do on the other route. All in all we had a lovely stay and we're sad to leave this little slice of paradise!

Room Tip: Some rooms don't have air con so be sure to ask for one if this is what you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gweimoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.4 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
427 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,825 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $112 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most peaceful and authentic resort on Gili Trawangan. We are located on the north part of the island and we have one off the longest beach (170 mtr),you will enjoy it having a romantic time or dinner time facing the indian ocean. With only twelve villas on our fifteen thousand square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing