We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wilson's Retreat(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Sunset Palms Resort(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Alam Gili(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Luce d'Alma Resort & Spa(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
E'Wahana Homestay(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
D'Wahana Resort(Gili Trawangan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (590)
Filter reviews
590 results
Traveler rating
392
160
25
4
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
392
160
25
4
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjoglo villabeach frontgili tpool is salt waterfour poster bedquiet sidetraditional stylehuge bedhorse cartour honeymoonmain townquiet locationoutdoor bathroomsea viewnorth sidemosquito netsnorkeling gear
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 590 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had 3 perfect nights at Desa Dunia Beda; we found it while walking the island in search of the perfect hotel and loved the peaceful north side location- it's a secluded escape, and we fell in love with the concept of this property when we saw it. It's a paradise if you love architectural beauty and the great outdoors (we do!). It's truly fine open-air living!

We have traveled a lot, and this is easily one of the most extraordinary places we have ever stayed. The restored antique joglo is memorable both as a beautiful construction and an amazing experience; we left our doors and windows open to the ocean breeze, letting waves and millions of stars lull us to sleep at night and birds wake us in the morning. One of the best things about the location, beyond the sheer beauty of the beach and the sea, is that you can see both the sunrise and the sunset from here...needless to say, we hung around for both breakfast and dinner. They have a gorgeous beach-front setup of loungers, tables, a teak deck, and even a private candlelit hut that you can reserve (we did, and we loved it!). It has a small, intimate feel due to the limited number of rooms and the wonderfully attentive staff.

As others have mentioned, this lovely beach has a lot of coral so may not be your ideal swim spot (but great snorkeling area from a boat). We enjoyed riding bicycles to the other side of the island to swim and get cocktails in the afternoons, and going for a run along the north path. We also took a private day-trip snorkel/boat excursion guided by two local boys, whom the hotel arranged to take us one morning; we saw a rainbow's worth of fish as well as 4 sea turtles! The personal one-on-one experience was awesome. (We saw many other tourists in huge boats of 20-40 people and were very grateful that's not the kind of trip our hotel arranged. Being just 2 visitors and 2 guides out island-hopping on a wooden catamaran is a very cool thing.)

What else can I say? Has there ever been a more comfortable bed or a more beautiful pool, a more romantic design? We thought the outdoor saltwater shower was fun and exotic, and enjoyed the fresh-water rinse from our large clay pot and coconut-shell scoop, too. Who doesn't like bathing in a cool wash of seawater under the stars?

Very impressed; we hope to come back again. Thank you for giving us such a special vacation and wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KristinCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear KristinCarlson,

Warmest greetings from all staff of Desa Dunia Beda ...!

Thank you so much for fell in love with our concept of property.

We are so glad that you had an amazing vacation and wonderful memories during your stay with us in a natural and peaceful environment on the quiet side of the island of GILI TRAWANGAN. We are providing both salt water and fresh water to preserve authenticity of the island.

It's a perfect escape to get away from the crowded and a great spot for snorkeling in Gili Trawangan. It would be better to use plastic shoes to walk on the reef during low tide and enjoy a wonderful snorkeling to see the colourfull tropical fish and turtle.

We wish to see you again to hear the gentle and soothing noise of the waves and the sound of birds to woke you up in the morning...

Once again, thank you for enjoyed our natural and eco concept.

Kind regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We chose to stay on the quieter north end of the island at Desa Dunia Beda ($115/night) for a jogolo with a huge king bed with mosquito netting (although not many bugs, I appreciated it since if there is one mosquito in the room, it will find me), well thought out layout (plenty of hooks and racks to dry bathing suits), and an outdoor bathroom (the only catch is the shower is salt water with a small reservoir for fresh water ... you get used to it).

They have beach towels clean and ready for you in the morning. The staff is friendly and always greets you but otherwise kind of stays out of your way. They have a flat deck with lounge chairs, 8 other recliner chairs on the sand, and two cabanas. But the place is rarely full given they are on the quiet side of the island. I loved feeling like I had the place to myself with just a few other people. You can get food and drinks all day at a very reasonable price while you relax in the sun or shade which makes relaxation very easy.

There is one not so perfect part, the beach is very coraly so can be difficult to walk at times - but totally doable. The tide seems to go out at night while we are there and soon the beautiful blue waters is replaced with a dry coral reef which is very difficult to walk out on - so don't! Enjoy the snorkeling during the day -one of the best reefs is right outside the hotel and you see all the snorkel tours coming by throughout the day.

We loved Desa Dunia Beda, the rooms, the staff, their beach - we were very sad to leave and hope to return within the next 5 years.

If you're not a guest but ride around the island one day, this is a great spot to hang out, grab a chair and drink and enjoy the chill atmosphere.

Room Tip: We were in room 5 which we loved. Honestly they all look like good rooms and locations.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank trips12345567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear trips12435567,

Warmest greetings from all staff of Desa Dunia Beda ...!

What a great pleasure to read your excellent review and comments. We are so glad that you loved our place.

We are located on the quiet and peaceful side of the island. It's a perfect place to relax and get away from the crowded. All villas are completed by a mosquito net and an open air bathroom with a salt water shower and fresh water in a large clay pot with coconut-shell scoop. We are providing both salt water and fresh water to preserve authenticity of the island.

It would be better to use plastic shoes to walk on the reef during low tide and enjoy a wonderful snorkeling to see the colourfull tropical fish and turtle. It's a great spot for snorkeling in Gili Trawangan.

We are also welcome for other guest to enjoy the chill atmosphere at our beach bar.

We missed to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan
Thank you very much for enjoyed our natural and eco concept .....!!

Best regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

The resort was on the other side of the island from the main drag, but only a 10 minute bike ride, if that.

The sunsets were spectacular, nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff, the food was excellent.

The room itself was gorgeous, nice and spacious and set in lovely grounds.

We could hear the waves from our balcony at night.

The beach by the resort is lovely.

The currents around the island are quite strong and it only appeared to be the main beach in town that had direct access for snorkellers, but the hotel can arrange boat trips.

I rarely say this, but we will definitely hope to return there one day.

Room Tip: I think they are all the same, all lovely
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear lorraine m,

Thank you very much for your great review. We are so glad that you loved our place and concept.

We wish to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan...... to hear the noise of the waves.


Have a wonderful seasons ....

Kind regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The service, the ground, the food and the ocean front with a sunset view made up for not being able to walk to snorkel off the front of the hotel. Option to go out snorkeling by hiring a boat is available. But we are just enjoy a short get away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Ms. Jennifer G,

Warmest greetings from all staff of Desa Dunia Beda ...!

Thank you very much for staying with us during your holiday in Gili Trawangan.
What a great pleasure to read your nice review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our place.

It would be better to use plastic shoes to walk on the reef during low tide and enjoy a wonderful snorkeling to see the colourfull tropical fish and turtle.

We wish to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan ...!!

Again, thank you for enjoyed our natural and eco concept.

Kind regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

We spent 4 nights in Desa Dunia. The hotel is great, located in the north of the Island. It is very calm, and you need only 10/15 minutes by bicycle to reach Central (with a good torsh !). Rooms are very big, with an outdoor bathroom. The view on the sunset in the evening is beautiful. Breakfast is ok, with nice fresh juices. Perfect place for relaxing !

Room Tip: Rooms with a sea view are amazing
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombinetta2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didik H, General Manager at Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2013

Dear Bombinetta2,

Thank you very much for staying with us during your holiday in Gili Trawangan.
We are delighted that you loved and enjoyed our place.

We are located on the quiet and peaceful side of the island. It's a perfect place to relax and get away from the crowded.

We wish to welcome you back on Gili Trawangan to witness the beautiful view of sunset and nice fresh juices for your breakfast...................

Thank you very much for your excellent review and comments.

Kind regards,
Desa Dunia Beda Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews