We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day for our Last vacation at dunia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 23, 2011

Dear Dunia,

now i came home and start work as usual, I just want to express a sense of fun and really relaxing holiday in desa dunia beda resorts with beautiful sunset views, unique house, and the employees were friendly and helpful.
During my stay in Gili Terawangan a lot of people say this is paradise, well in my opinion is okay couse only to provide peace as long as we are experience burnout in my job because it is very relaxing, satisfaction, to swim on the beach with turtles and fish accompanied his wonderful colour that I never saw before and the food delicious for his restaurant (thank you to chef)
So for the backpaker friends try to take the peace of your day by visiting this unique place to release the fatigue overnight before returning from the island, find the romance at night with your friends.
Thank you for all desa dunia, will visit you soon,,

Calvin

Room Tip: My sugguestion to take room at number 109
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank murdocks_calvin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 563 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2010

Best location on the island away from the hassle and crowds with the best sunset view. With only 12 bungalows you have privacy on your terasse and there is never many people around the pool or in the restaurant which make the place very relaxing with the best view to the ocean and a very friendly staff. The breakfast at the terasse at the beach was a daily highlight. We had dinner 3 nights in the restaurant and the food was very good with huge portions. We stayd in a Joglo bungalow which was very stylish and you fell almost like Dr. Livingstone. The outdoor bathroom is nice and freshwater is avaliable from a huge crock as the shower only holds saltwater. The Joglo bungalow is natural ventilated with no A/C which was no problem and we even turned off the fans at night. The very nice huge bed in the center of the room have a huge net around but overall there where few musquitoes while we where there. We will for sure stay at Desa Dunia Beda again if we get the change to visit Gili again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnjoyTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2010

Desa Dunia was a great place to get away from the hustle of Gili Trawangan's "hotel row". The location is perfect if you like quiet and our room was incredibly spacious including an amazingly carved "Balinese bed". The rooms can be a bit dark in term of lighting but the outside seating is available and the view of the ocean across the path was restful. The restaurant was quite good and never busy - so we felt like we had the place to ourselves. During out stay it was mostly couples - so that contributed to a quiet and serene vibe. The staff were attentive and friendly once you started talking to them. The other guests were somewhat more remote which is no reflection on the resort itself given that anyone who stays here would not be a "party animal". If you want that type of experience - then stay closer to the jetty where you can hear the pump of the disco music.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jameslclarke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2010

Where else can you find typical Javanese bungalows facing pristine beaches, so perfect they match your dream of life on a tropical island? Not only is Gili Trawangan the perfect hideaway without cars, but Desa Dunia is a piece of paradise mixing exceptional surroundings with perfect location. It is a seclusive hotel ideal for relaxing and enjoying sunbaths by the sea or by the beautiful swimming pool, exceptional snorkeling and diving, and romantic dinners at sunset by the beach. Do not miss it if you enjoy privacy and authentic experiences!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarieGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2009

i was looking foward to going back to Lombok and Gili islands after 12 years and was not disappointed! very little had changed but that was just what we wanted!
This resort on the quiet side of Gili Trewangan was just perfect .... the villas were so unique in their traditional design ... we were very comfortable with just the fan over the biggest romantic bed surrounded by mosquito nets and the view of the ocean :-) The open air bathroom is great too.
The service and the food could not be beaten at Des Dunia Beda .... the seafood so good and cheap! highly recommend eating on deck .... watch the sun go down with cocktails and dine under a full moon was so romantic!! so romantic that there was a proposal of marriage!!
Gili Trawangan is great to explore during the day ... we would walk around the island and then have beers and lunch in the "busy" part of the island!
The snorkling just off the beach in front of the resort was fantastic .... so many fish!
We would definatly return to Desa Dunia Beda any day!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank red_sondra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2009

We were on the verge of leaving Gili and heading straight back to Bali after checking in to the characterless Samba Villas on the scruffy main drag; so I'm so glad we gave Gili Trawangan another chance by walking around the island to look for somewhere better. There are many much nicer places on the quieter side of the island, away from the madding crowds, and the prettiest of all is Desa Dunia Beda.

The Javanese villas are beautifully done, all carved wood and gorgeous furniture with a vast bed hung with muslin drapes. My husband loved the huge bathroom open to the sky, with its artfully placed urn of fresh water for rinsing after the salt water shower. It looked like something out of Mr and Mrs Smith or Wallpaper - ethnic slash minimalist. The view from our verandah looked straight out through a rustic driftwood fence to the beach and ocean.

The staff were friendly and helpful, there are good eateries not far away and the main drag is only a short horsecart trip away if you want it. Hiring bikes was a nice idea but quite frustrating as there are too many patches of deep sand where you have to get off and push. The diving wasn't amazing sadly as most of the coral here has been dynamited, but we saw turtles and pretty fish while snorkelling.

The beach is narrower and more pebbly where Desa Dunia is located than some other parts of the island, but the boardwalk is a very romantic place to watch the sun set. Some evenings a local guy with snorkel gear went into the water with a spear at dusk and emerged half an hour later with a couple of fish. We would check out his catch, the hotel would buy the fish from him for us, and cook it straight away on the barbecue then serve it to us in the gazebo on the baordwalk. I think it was the best fish I've ever had.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rhubarbtriangle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2008

amazing place
quiet
villa decorated in Java style without air-con
all the furniture are made of wood.
outdoor bathroom, the water is only salty. there is a vase with non-salty water

the food is also good.

We had a dinner with candlelights in front of the sea.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chacaldore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,869 reviews
1.4 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
458 reviews
1.4 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#8 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai, West Nusa Tenggara, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $98 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most peaceful and authentic resort on Gili Trawangan. We are located on the north part of the island and we have one off the longest beach (170 mtr),you will enjoy it having a romantic time or dinner time facing the indian ocean. With only twelve villas on our fifteen thousand square meter property your privacy will be respected at any time during your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desa Dunia Beda (Gili Trawangan - Lombok) Hotel Gili Trawangan
Desa Dunia Beda Lombok
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing