We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Gili Trawangan
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveler rating
195
39
11
2
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
195
39
11
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews free bikes glamping tents air conditioned tents gili t unique place to stay snorkel gear swimming pool cozy place busy island watch the sunset a lovely stay beautiful sunset nice bathroom minutes walking restaurants and bars breakfast was delicious the main street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 252 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2014

A beautiful restful place to spend some time while in Gillitrawanang. The tents are lovely, set in beautiful gardens, comfortable beds and fully equipped bathroom. Aircon was very efficient, making tents cool at night. The breakfasts are delicious. The staff are friendly and happy. We enjoyed the adventure of cycling from here into the main part of the island, and also the sunsets from the nearby beach. Also tried the evening meal - well worth staying in for. There are places for chilling out with a book in the barugas dotted around the gardens. Having wifi was a bonus. We would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: There are eight tents. We had one at the rear of the property, which was peaceful.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2014

My husband and I are in our mid-thirties, and had planned a trip to explore Bali and Gili during our second honeymoon. We decided to venture to Gili because we had heard so much about it from our friends. After much research, we decided to book with La Cocoteraie Ecolodge because of it's uniqueness and closeness to the pristine beaches. I'm so glad that we did!

We were thrilled to sleep in an air conditioned tent (it locks, so it's completely safe) that includes a 4 post bed and all of the regular amenities that you would receive at a hotel. You're sleeping with coconut groves all around you, and the beach is so close. You just jump on your bike (from the hotel) and go.

The food was amazing at the ecolodge, too! We ate at the hotel every morning. There were several days where we chatted with the owner who you will see regularly at the front of the hotel. She is very sweet, super accommodating, and even offers cooking classes, will help set up snorkeling tours and more for you at a discounted rate. The staff gace us great ideas of where to go, where to eat, etc. I highly recommend this hotel, and highly recommend booking one of her cooking classes! What better place to learn to make Indonesian foods! It was soo much fun. (One note: Be sure that you're booking with her. We did some research (I'm always searching!), and there is another cooking class in the heart of town, that had taken her idea, and even stole her logo and ideas for recipes. Shady. She's the best, though! Be sure to book with her. Ask for the lovely French lady. Unfortunately, I cannot remember her name!

We were also pleased to be away from the night life, which you can also easily take a bike ride or horse cart to enjoy in a matter of minutes. (Some times, young college kids drink and get rowdy in the evenings, and we wanted to stay in a place where we can escape any possible noise.) All ages go to the island, and I have to say, this place and Gili were the highlights of our trip.

Room tip: All of the rooms seem great. You really can't go wrong.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CiciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie C, Owner at La Cocoteraie Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your nice review! We are really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you loved the concept. Our staff always do their best to make every stay memorable and we are really pleased that it works! We do hope that you tried at home Indonesian food you were taught at the cooking class and that it was good :) We will be pleased to welcome you next time you come to Gili Trawangan.

Thank you again for the review!

Kind regards,

Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location: La cocoteraie is located in the middle to western part of the island. It's a 10 minute bikeride from the main road where most of the restaurants and bars are located. It thus has a more quiet and relaxed atmoshpere. It's a bit of an adventure to find your way back at night between the palmtrees and cows, but you can rent a bike + flashlights. The palmtree and flower garden really adds to the relaxed feeling. I heard they had plans to add a swimming pool which would provide for an added value.

Tent / Room : This is glamping at it's best! The tent is equipped with airconditioning and a very comfortable bed. The bamboo bathroom is located outside and only runs on cold water. There is free drinking water and wifi. The furniture and decoration gives the room a real luxury feeling.

Staff: They have a very friendly, helpful and english speaking staff.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nathalie C, Owner at La Cocoteraie Ecolodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2014

Dear Kim,

Thank you very much for your nice review! We are always pleased to read that people like our place and that you enjoyed your stay in a relaxing atmosphere. That's true we plan to make a swimming pool soon and we do hope that you will be able to come back to see that :) Thank you as well not to forget our staff who always try to do their best to make your stay memorable!

We do hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Nathalie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

La Cocoteraie is perfect for enjoying quiet surroundings in quality comfort with the beaches for snorkeling close by, and the shopping, restaurants and nightlife at a comfortable distance by bike or horse cart. The eco tents are very spacious, set amongst well maintained tropical gardens, have reliable aircon, comfortable beds, quality linen, mosquito nets, fast Wi-Fi, spacious outdoor (undercover) tranquil bathrooms and front deck with chairs and table.

La Cocoteraie makes the effort to make your stay a little more comfortable than most with separate beach towels, a beach carry bag, lock for the (hire) bikes, flash lights for making a late return. The staff are welcoming, friendly and attentive to your needs, rooms are cleaned to perfection if/as required, staff are happy to help with assistance with snorkeling and dining locations, booking diving trips or cooking classes. The meals from the kitchen are quick and prepared with great care, good breakfast options with amazing fresh juices, light snacks (feta samosa's were a repeat order for us - YUM) or dinner can be enjoyed in the dining area or in your tent. La Cocoteraie is highly recommendable.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank STEVE R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I travel with friends and family. The place is nice, peaceful and so close to nature. The owner and the staff was very friendly and helpfull. We kinda lost when heading to this place but the owner help us and arrange "cidomo" to pick us up. room is clean. Not many choices for breakfast but you can have it in your room. You will find a free snorkeling equipment in your room and they also provided bike to rented (new bike) for IDR 35.000 or US$ 3 (for a day).
If you're looking for adventures or new experience you should try this place. But I would not recommend if you're travelling with kids, it's too quiet so you can hear your neighbour flush the toilet.

Date of stay: May 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dyano98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews