We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to be back.”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Denpasar, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Would love to be back.”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We were staying here because we had a noise problem with their sister hotel which is Ombak Sunset due to their grand opening party with loud sound checked a day after we arrived. We went to visit Gili looking for tranquility and away from hustle bustle of Bali. The manager from Ombak Sunset managed to relocated us in a very quite rooms at Villa Ombak and we had nothing to complained.

The room they gave us was quite spacious and to have our own pool right in front of our door was another plus point even though we had to share it with other guest from another 8 or so villas around but we never see them around and that makes the pool for ourselves!!
The salty water for bath sent me a bit shocked as in the other hotel it has fresh water running down their shower, make sure to fill the bowl provided for the fresh water before you shower just to rinse your extra salty skin.

The breakfast was great with many food to choose and it located in from of their main pool. The hotel has everything you need for your stay at Gili from spa to the water sport operator. The beach bar offered movie night with first drink charge, bummer !! Suppose for free for hotel guest providing their room number and i trust they will need a drink anyway if you offered.

The bartender didn't know much about drinks though, i have tried to order Classic Martini and they just shrugged and admit they never heard about the drink unless it consist only Martini liquor :-((
But we managed to trained them well .... The hotel is in the middle of the crowd and 5 minutes away walk from and to the port which will take you back to the main island. We did bar hopping around the area it was great we could just walk around to look for anything.

Overall there was not much to say on our one night only stay with my husband but we were glad we got a good room there.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dreamtofly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,662 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    499
    632
    309
    128
    94
See reviews for
261
820
52
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2014

As first time visit Gili Trawangan, our choice to stay at this Hotel was perfect. Position in east of the Gili island make a great moment to see the sunrise. The location's close proximity to the hustle and facilitate the search for a place or restaurant to eat. The hotel environment is quite comfortable, the staff are friendly. Breakfast was diverse and quite tasty. I've got really nice room, with outdoor toilet and also shower and taps are all salt water, but the hotel put one tap with fresh water to wash salt water off after. Unfortunate toilet system in my rooms is not good.. it's so disturbing,specially in the morning ^_^

Room Tip: Rooms on the pearl beach side are better than the old one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fivangga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Secret Harbour, WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in a traditional hut. It was nice, but the bathroom is down stairs that are very awkward to step out onto, bordering dangerous! Definitely no good for anyone who is unsteady, older or overweight. We had continuing problems with out safe, it kept locking us out and having to call security to come and reset it. The first time it happened we waited over an hour, we think reception forgot to pass it on to security. There was no information on how to use the safe in the room.
Overall the rest of the complex was good, breakfast had a huge range and everything always looked good.
The pool was lovely, could have had an extra staff member at the pool bar, it got quite busy at times.
Probably wouldn't stay there again, not because of any real problems, just would prefer somewhere smaller. Very nice for our first time there, good for families with young children as the pool is really nice.
Our hut was right at the back of the grounds so it was quiet and away from the road noise, but we could hear the praying from the mosque in the early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TinaB6671
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear TinaB6671,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us.
v
The room that you stayed is indeed a very nice and unique room. It meant only for young couple, honeymooners only since the bathroom is located downstairs and for safety reason we did not allow family with children nor elders to stay in that room category. As for the safety box, please do accept our apology for the inconvenience as it is not within our standard. We will make sure that your review will be forwarded to the concerned department for their immediate follow up.

Again, thank you very much for the review as it will encourage us to serve our guest much better. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

Online research would suggest that Hotel Vila Ombak is the most perfect hotel on the island and an ideal location for a romantic honeymoon. Unfortunately, this is not the case.

We booked an 'Akoya' 1 bedroom private villa with plunge pool on booking.com for our honeymoon. We were led to believe we had booked a room that opened up onto a beautiful outdoor area with a plunge pool. The pictures online were stunning and we couldn't wait to get there.

Upon check in we were greeted by a friendly staff member and taken to our room. We assumed they had simply made a mistake with our booking as the room they took us to was not anything like the Akoya 1 bedroom villa we had booked (and voluntarily pre-paid in advance to ensure we'd secured it) and politely asked reception if they had made a mistake with our room.

We were then given every excuse possible as to why we had not received the Akoya room. One of the excuses was that the room type we saw and screen-grabbed when booking did not exist. We then showed them the room online and suddenly they acknowledged that the room did exist but explained to us about 15 reasons why we wouldn't want the room we had booked and then finally admit that they had given our room to another booking despite us pre-paying and confirming prior to arrival that our booking was confirmed. They kindly offered to solve the problem by DOWNGRADING us. A couple of cheaper options were offered (without any mention of a refund in the price difference). They also lied to us about salt/fresh water pools and showers, and also about having two price tiers in the Akoya villa's. They denied having different tiers/levels in the Akoya villa's but we were able to show them online that they do have this.

Note that the wi-fi doesn't work in reception and you have to go outside and use the front bar or restaurant wi-fi. Coincidence that it doesn't work in reception? We think not. Don't get us wrong, the accommodation was better than 80% of places we've stayed in our travels, but it's not what we booked and paid for and there is no excuse for the way we were handled.

After 2 hours of begging them to resolve the issue and them not coming up with a suitable solution, we decided to check out what else was available on Gili T and luckily discovered Ko-Ko-Mo two doors up (seriously, just book there. It's infinitely better and it was cheaper than our pre-booked Ombak price....we saved $700 over 5 days and the staff are much nicer because they don't deal with complaints all day like those poor staff at Villa Ombak).

We decided to not accept the room that was offered to us at Villa Ombak and managed to secure agreement that they would refund us. They wanted to refund us electronically but couldn't guarantee when we'd get it. We didn't budge and eventually got cash 24 hours later despite some elaborate delay tactics and an anxious wait. Fun times on the first day of your honeymoon!!! It really killed our sickly sweet post-wedding happy vibe.

After going and collecting our luggage ourselves from the room, the Ombak hotel manager finally summoned all his strength to actually try and fix the problem. With great enthusiasm and positivity (finally), he begged us to at least view a 2 bedroom villa (which had not been mentioned until now). He was certain we would love it and stay. We asked why it was not available 2 hours ago and he said it is under another reservation. We asked what happens to those people and he just shrugged his shoulders. There was no concern for what would happen to the next lot of people who had booked that room type online in good faith. We decided to not even look at the room and with all the negativity and near tears, we just wanted to leave that hotel.

We had to go to that reception 4 times in the first couple of days on Gili T and every time without fail there was someone complaining that they had been screwed on their accommodation (including another honeymoon couple from the Netherlands). We believe they just bump people down on their accommodation until someone doesn't complain....then the balance is restored.

All in all the experience we had was really uncomfortable, negative and awkward.

This hotel would be fine for any other holiday except your honeymoon where you specifically want privacy, personalized service and a positive experience. You also can't trust/know what you are going to get. The place is huge, impersonal and we think a lot of the staff have 'shell shock' from disappointed customers.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imam W, General Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Christine S,

Greetings from Gili Trawangan…

We would like to say thank you for your stay with us and for your valueable feedback regarding your stay.

We are saddened that you did not fully enjoy your special occasion with us, and we would like to sincerely apologize if your stay was disturbed by the attitude of our staff. We can assure you that it is not within our standard and this matter will be shared to the concerned department to be handled accordingly.

As for the picture that you saw in booking.com, it is truly our mistake not to give the latest to them. However, if we are allowed to explain, we have a brand new wing for the Akoya Pool Villa which we believe that is the one been allocated for you as on the same day you arrive, the old Akoya Pool Villa (the one you saw in booking.com) was still occupied by another guest.
Indeed that our hotel is using a saline water for the pool and shower, however we do provide a fresh water in a traditional bucket wor you to rinse up, this has to be done as the concept of the property itself is traditional back to nature kind of style. However again we do apology for the inconvenience.

We do hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Hotel Vila Ombak.

Sincerely,

Management of Hotel Vila Ombak
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

My fiancé and I stayed here for 7 nights. We were greeted by extremely friendly and helpful staff. We had a nice spacious room and an outdoor toilet. Showers and taps are all salt water with a fresh water tap to wash salt water off after. The resort itself is very nice and well laid out with 2 pools. Their are a lot of staff but a lot of the services like bars and food can be a little slow. The main pool is situated very close to the Main Street but this was not really too bad just some noise from the horse and carts they constantly beep their horn to move people out of the way. All in all we had a really nice stay here and would defiantly return.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bobdizzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

We recently stayed at the Hotel Vila Ombak and could not be happier with our stay. From the moment we arrived Rully & Jama could not have made us feel more welcome. They went out of their way to make sure our stay was perfect. The rooms are great especially with the semi out door bathrooms, and location is also great being right near the all restaurants on the islands. We will defiantly be back again soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

This place is highly recommended for 1st timer family traveler in Gili Trawangan...especially for those who bring a baby...its make you a lot easier & safer...:) its near restaurant area and city, near public harbour and has own beach :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank s0nty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 612 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#9 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing