We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to bring in the new year”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A great way to bring in the new year”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Given that we were delayed in securing a hotel booking on Gili at new years, we were very lucky to secure something at Hotel Vila Ombak. We had booked a lumbung room but to our delight were upgraded to one of their villas upon arrival. How lucky!

The villas comprise a spacious, well appointed bedroom with outdoor bathroom with fresh rinsing water which is a treat on Gili. The covered outdoor kitchen and lounge overlooks your own private pool. All immaculate and stylish.

We enjoyed a good and plentiful breakfast everyday with lots of choice (although the serving area was a bit crowded) and cocktails at the pool bar are not to be missed. The island itself has much to offer-biking around the island, enjoying delicious self selected seafood off the grill, live music, a little bit of shopping and ofcourse lots of sun in the sea.

We enjoyed a sumptuous new years eve dinner (massive buffet) followed by live acts and international DJs and a massive fireworks display. The party ended well after the sun came up!

The hotel is accessible from the boat jetty by donkey-drawn carriage. Make sure you negotiate your rate upfront. On check out the hotel will gladly hail a carriage for you but this can be a little chaotic as tourist jostle for carriages as they arrive-give yourself enough time to get to the jetty.

A note to those hoping to catch flights out from Bali on the same day-don't do it. Our departure ferry did not arrive on time and when it arrived was smaller than it should have been. This resulted in a small frenzy as many who were scheduled to fly out that day where unable to get on the ferry back to Bali.

All in all a fantastic way to bring in the new year!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleySee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    636
    310
    128
    94
See reviews for
261
823
52
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
indonesia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2014

i've stayed in vila ombak a couple of times over the years. everything has remained the same except it has expanded. room is still kept clean and the hotel compound taken great care to be well maintained. staff told me to wait for my welcome drink but it never came and i was ushered to my room. then on the first day, they had forgotten to put fruits in my room and on the second day, only replenished 1 bottle of complimentary water. i had to ask for them which they quickly did. likewise, they were prompt in fixing the switch of the bedside lamp. in short, they are not meticulous in their service though they do make up for it by being prompt in addressing my minor problems.
this trip though, i found them doing housekeeping twice a day which can be annoying especially when the second housekeeping is as late as 9pm! so be sure to ledge your door in the night as they may just come cleaning your room. in addition, i wish they can be more environmentally friendly by practising what most hotels are currently doing - do not change the bedsheets daily unless guests place the card to indicate so.
another suggestion i hope the boss of vila ombak will take up (as already requested by many guests) is to provide free or discounted rides to sunset ombak.
as for the food in the restaurant of vila ombak, it's disappointing that they do not attempt to change the menu or add new dishes to the very old existing one. there are so many new restaurants with interesting and palatable dishes opening in trawangan, it's a wonder why vila ombak does not reinvent itself in this aspect.
as for service staff, they are polite and friendly mostly though at times the younger staff may impress as being more eager to please while the older, more senior ones with a more nonchalant attitude.
and the reason for choosing vila ombak for more than once is really for its excellent location and lovely compound.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nabunay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day stay at hotel villa ombak and wished we had stayed longer. The villas are immaculate, spacious and stylish with large comfy beds. The staff are well trained, helpful and relaxed. Not at all in your face like we have experienced elsewhere. Breakfast was good and plentiful. We usually had lunch served on the beach. The beach in front of villa is clean and sandy and wider than on other parts of the island. There are comfortable beds, tables and umbrellas set out for the use of Villa ombak guests. Also there are trees on the beach in this area that give shade. The view out to sea from the beach is lovely and there are plenty of boats coming and going to add interest. The pool is nice and again there are beds, tables and umbrellas set out spaciously. The surrounding gardens are pretty and well kept. We didn't eat dinner at the resort, as we enjoyed trying out different restaurants. The resort is set in a quiet area but is not far from the hustle and bustle should you want it. We thought the resort was well maintained and very good for honeymoon.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alisahr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
1 review
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I've been there end of September 2013 for 6D5N,Superb & Fantastic hotel! Love all about this hotel from welcome drink,room,service,ambient and etc. Good choice ,no regret! Romantic place, looking forward to come again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue_Putri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

I went to Hotel Villa Ombak for a company outing and stayed in Deluxe Ombak Room.The room was nice and clean. The pool, which is perfect for chilling out in the afternoon with bottles of beer, is not very far from my room. The location of the hotel is just perfect. It's not really in centre (so that you can sleep well without hearing music playing from neighboring bars and cafes), yet it's just 5-10 minutes walk from centre.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LannySahanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2014

While the rooms and grounds are very nice, service is not great to put it mildly. Some examples:
- there were several couples and individuals waiting to be checked in but the duty manager just sat behind this desk, not helping out at reception. We waited more than 10 minutes to check in
- check-in took 15 minutes (for two people) and was not exactly friendly. The receptionist said there were only expensive bungalows available whereas it became clear occupancy was perhaps 50%, if that. She also claimed the Agoda price was 1.7 million but when I checked it later it was considerably cheaper
- Wifi dropped every minute or two but the staff reaction was to blame the provider
- you can't put your consumptions at the pool on your bill, it's cash only. The reason according to the unapologetic staff member: different managers. So I was forced to go back to the room and get money. Odd and annoying.

In addition, the breakfast area is much too small so there's a good chance you have to wait during peak hours (8.30 - 9.30 was the busiest it seemed)

All in all, the hotel looks nice but it seems all the attention has gone to appearances and not to creating a great service atmosphere. They just don't seem to care....

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the back as the horse carts are very noisy early morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Erikvds123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

The hotel was fantastic, the staff were amazing but what destroyed the memory was how the hotel management poorly responded to an incident that occurred in the last couple of days. My wife and I who are avid divers, we completed over a dozen dives through the hotel but unfortunately the last night dive ended as with my wife falling into a small access hole on the hotel property in a dark area as we walked back to the dive shop. As we were carrying all the gear the extra weight made the fall even worse causing significant injury to her ankle which has taken 2 months to heal. The dive shop staff were extremely helpful and immediately got the Doctor next door and ice.

What upset the situation was that the following day I spoke with the Hotel front of house manager to explain what happened as we would hate to see another person have a similar accident, and I suggested the area needs additional lighting and drainage as with the rain it floods and the hazards can't be seen. The manager advised the problem would be fixed immediately and apolgiesed. Unfortunately to date the problem hasn't been fixed and at no time after the incident did the manager make any follow up with us/my wife to see how she was going especially as it happened on their property - extremely disappointing.

Room Tip: The bungalo's are great but if your not good with stairs e.g. elferly or back problems you'l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#9 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing