We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location, rooms average”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 39 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights at the end of August . Excellent location, couldn't be better. Pools are great, one pool having a swim up bar. Breakfast has a huge variety . Stayed in a lumbug hut, Rooms are a little dated and oldish with out door bathroom.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teagan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,912)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,912 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2013

We plan to stay there 2 days and sine we like the islands we changed our plan and stayed there 6 days. The hotel is clean but it has a very bad strange smell in the rooms. We garden is big and we had almost the last room so it was a long distance to the lobby, pool and beach. They had a nice beach and pool with poolbar. Little expensive but the room are clean and the hotel is middle of the island. And remember they have just salt water for shower.

Room Tip: Don't take the rooms in the end of the graden!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamid B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at Villa Ombak for our time at Gilli T during our honeymoon.
We had a beach villa which was really nice (although a little dark inside) and an outdoor bathroom which started to get a little annoying when showering in the evenings. The other thing about this hotel is that they still use saltwater for showers and the fresh water is provided in a bucket.

We didn't eat at the hotel everyday as on our first day we had lunch there which wasn't very good and the waiter struggled to understand what we were asking of him (in english).

The breakfasts were fine and there was a good variation.

My one piece of advice would be to dive / snorkel with the bali diving academy who are based next door to the hotel as they were amazing and looked after us really well (it was our first time diving).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amandeep84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I had a fabulous stay this August 2013 at Villa Ombak, Gili Trawangan.
The hotel was so nice, clean and comfortable. Too bad they had some changes in their room without any information before. The Deluxe room we had paid had a daybed before (still on the web too) but when we get there, they had changed it so we have to pay for an extra bed.
Actually this is fine but it would be nice if they could tell use before our arrival.

Food was also nice & yummy in Villa Ombak. We love our breakfast every morning :)
Most of all this hotel was so nice to stay :)
would love to visit again if I go to Gili Trawangan

Room Tip: Ask if there's any changes in your room before your arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayasmita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

After carefully reading most reviews of this property, I booked( with trepidation) the Lumbung Beach Cottages as some reviews were positive and others negative to the extreme.
Was impressed we got Cottage 100 ( as received great review in 2012). Oh dear a lot has happened since then!
Whilst they may have been fantastic once they are in need of huge maintenance , hopefully management are aware now and will rectify/remedy!! and at $380 per night simply, poor value .
The complex on the whole is great , staff superb and dealings with management re our complaints satisfactory.
Apparently other rooms are great as per reviews, would be willing to try again in the other areas but steer away from the Lumbung Beach Cottages.( showing their age )

Room Tip: shop around as better value elsewhere, position in the strip is handy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed at Vila ombak from 07 Aug to 12 Aug 2013.
This most be the biggest hotel at Gili, with all you ever want from a hotel stay (both good and bad).
The hotel, pools, staff and food were excellent and the standard is really high end.
But as it is a big hotel, also a lot of persons and this is for some not the thing - so you should be aware that there are a lot o people around the areas, but again this is how a big hotel chain is.

Vila Ombok has a many activities and a huge area down on the beach, which very few other hotels in the main street has.
I can also recommend the movie nights at the beach, very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johansen82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed there for two nights, two rooms. The rooms were spacious, The staffs were helpful, The surroundings were beautiful with white sand beach and sparkling blue sea.
The only problem was our rooms weren't ready as we were checking in. One hour later when we came (as the officer ask us to), the rooms still not ready and they asked for another half hour.
Other than that, its a really pleasant experience there..
Would love to come back again some other times..

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ironsubekti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
1,221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#6 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
656 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#9 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
687 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 39 in Gili Trawangan
573 reviews
1.4 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#3 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $68 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing