We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor hygiene!!”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor hygiene!!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went and took the family room, with 2 queen beds, if im not mistaken. They said they were going to prepare the 2nd bed for us, yet not until 10pm, when we called for the 2nd time and said we were about to sleep after a tiring day of biking around the island, than they came in and prepared them, yet they gave us a used bedsheet! With blood stains on it, probably from someones period! It was the most disgusting thing

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mariatiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,670 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    502
    636
    310
    128
    94
See reviews for
261
823
52
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Legian, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

After staying at Ombak back in 2012 we decided to stay again this year because we were so impressed with its services. This time round was a whole new story... We were very disappointed to find the care for its guests had dramatically decided since our first visit.
We stayed in a deluxe room last time and opted for the bungalow this time to change it up. On arriving to our room our safe was locked which was fine-we just went down to reception and asked for it to be unlocked so we could use it. The issue was we went to reception 4 times and called twice for the matter to be addressed. Once 24 hours had passed and still no one came to fix the problem we were annoyed that we were ignored and the safe was unlocked in 5 minutes.
On our first morning we went down to the breakfast at around 10 (breakfast finishing at 10:30) and was rushed to eat and repeatedly told 'only 15 minutes left for breakfast'. there were no clean or set tables to sit at. This was an issue all 3 mornings. My partner and i both asking different waiters for clean napkins and salt & pepper. the buffet breakfast was a huge let down.
Our turn down service was done 1 out of 3 nights. Taking our towels without replacing them. Repeated calls for more towels, an extra blanket and pillows was becoming frustrating.

Over all, we thought the staff's lack of care/laziness was the biggest let down of our stay. If we could find 1 positive it would be the location.

Room Tip: deluxe room over bungalow- going to the bathroom in the middle of the night up & down stairs in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lorelei T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location, good food & good pool.

When I was booking I was tossing up between a bungalow & a deluxe room. We ended up choosing the Deluxe Room & from reading past reviews I can see that we made the right choice.
The room was huge! Very spacious. I was a little worried about having an outdoor bathroom but it wasn’t a concern when we arrived.
The shower has a fresh water tap next to it too, so after having a salt water shower, you can rinse with this. The water wasn’t as saline as I thought it would be though, so a rinse off wasn’t that necessary anyway.

We ate at the restaurant a few times. There is a good selection of food & reasonably priced. Scallywags next door was our favourite place to eat though.
We patricianly enjoyed BBQ dinner at the hotel – there was a good band there too.

The only downside to this hotel that I could see was the poolside area is close to the woodfire pizza oven so in the afternoons when this was turned on, the smoke from it was pretty overwhelming.
The water around the island is so pretty and warm we just went and swam there instead.

We loved our time on Gili & were happy to be staying in a nice hotel after reading negative press about methanol being sold as alcohol in some of the cheaper areas.
We felt very happy and safe on Gili Trawangan.

Room Tip: Deluxe Rooms are larger than the bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

I've stayed here everytime ive been to Gili and travel there once a year and am never dissapointed . The island has only a few options and in terms of nicest and most affordable this is it . The staff are friendly the pool is freaking awesome and so is their happy hour . No the rooms aren't huge but its not like you want to spend all your time in your room when your in such a beautiful location . The breakfast is awesome with plenty to choose from and all fresh . I would highly reccomend Ombak to everyone and will be back this year 4 sure :D

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SaMGtheArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were so impressed with the Hotel architecture. It's originally Sasak (Lombok) House with beautiful garden. They have private port from Senggigi to Gili Trawangan, it takes only 15 minutes by fast boat. They have very beautiful seaside restaurant and beach, awesome! However, they have could be a perfect destination for snorkeling and others water activities. The services also excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Junaidi_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarnow
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The hotel is not elegant, but very pleasant. But on Gili arrives in a different order. On the island of Gili time spent on the beach and bars, not in the room. The hotel has a great location - close to the places where there is a party and to the place where Viewing the sunset. The owner of the hotel and most of the nice places on Gili is one woman who has good taste and care about quality.
I love Gili. I have to go back there with my wife.

The weather on the island Gili is always beautiful!

Room Tip: Go to new part of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_wind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

first of all I want to thank Vila Ombak for the free upgrade on my first night stay last week, I booked thru Agoda, superior Lumbung Terrace, but upon the check in my room was unavailable and the manager was kind enough to upgrade my room for free, for one night.

Well about the positive things, I can say that its the largest resort around the island, and nice facilities like bean bags, swimming pools, beautiful views, and beautiful gardens. I agree with the comment before me, this resort is more upmarket than others around .

Now on the negative side.
what i dont like is the size of the superior room. It is really Small!
And I wonder why they designed the bathroom sooooo spacious that it is almost 2/3 of the size of the bedroom itself and u can fit one more bed inside. While there's only tiny space for u to walk around the bedroom, the bathroom has a lot of space that is not used.

They have hammocks hanging in front at the terraces but the fabric/clothes are smelly that no one wud lay down on it... i really think the hotel need to laundry them!


And the foods are just average. We ordered the frozen margarita and the ice cappucino and they came with too many waters mixed in. The frozen was not frozen and not even cold at all, and they staff said - the ice melted because of the wind? (oh really). And the nasi goreng is weird and too sweet.
Breakfast are average without many choices.
The staffs around breakfast dining area preferred to chat with foreign tourist more than to serve us the domestics. We cud see them talking and smiling, and when they turned to us, the smile suddenly gone. Its pretty weird.

Back to the "advantage" they gave me to stay in the villa for one night, the front office didn't confirmed that we needed to move out until 2pm and they suddenly called, and only gave us 10 minute to pack up because the next guests were waiting. we complained because we didn't actually asked for the upgrade and it annoyed really to have to move n pack up again with a sick kid just fell asleep. The guy on the phone insisted we had to pack in 10minute, and so not friendly told me he was sending someone right away. With that incident I have lost and misplaced some stuffs because I was in so much hurry and i just threw my things in every bags i cud see. so not nice. And they came to us to pick up our luggages even without a smile.
I really think the front office cud do a better job by confirming what time we had to go out and when our room was ready. we wud be very happy and appreciate them for early information.

the people in the reservation area really need to learn to smile more.

I will not recommend this hotel .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chewy_candy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#4 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#9 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,076 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, Priceline, HostelWorld, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing