We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Akoya Pool Villas - Vila Ombak AMAZING!!!!!”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Buderim, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Akoya Pool Villas - Vila Ombak AMAZING!!!!!”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We (2 couples) took off from Kuta after finding that we would be stuck in accommodation there for Nyepi (day of silence). After arriving on Gili T the day before, we found that everything was totally booked out. We approached Hotel Vila Ombak and they had 2 rooms available, those being the Akoya Pool Villas.

Well what can I say, they were absolutely fabulous!!!!! Huge king bed, gorgeous outdoor bathroom, huge outdoor private kitchen/eating area, beautiful plunge pool with recliners & chairs to relax in. The whole compound was enclosed with tall wooden fences and secure gates which gave us great privacy. This room was next door to our friends room (same room type) and was interconnected through the tall fencing through another secure wooden gate.

Everything was just perfect, the bed was comfortable, large flat screen tv, large bottles of water replaced daily, lovely soft towels, great air con. Free breakfast and afternoon tea was supplied and it was delightful. Every night on returning to our rooms, the staff had lit outside candles (which looked stunning) and also turned down our beds.

Staff were really good, helpful, friendly and approachable. We were greeted with smiles everywhere we went. Nothing was too much of a problem for them.

We didn't use the hotel swimming pools as we were thrilled with our beautiful & private plunge pool rooms & the beach was only a short walk away.

Yes, this accommodation type/resort was expensive (last minute, busy season/Nyepi day) but I still dream about my stay at Vila Ombak and am making plans to return again soon.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilsGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,674 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    636
    310
    128
    94
See reviews for
263
823
53
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Hotel Vila Ombak is probably the biggest and most established property on Gili Trawangan.

The grounds are lovely but the buildings and facilities are a little tired in the main section are a little tired.

The breakfast buffet is uninspiring.

There is a lovely new pool in the newer section of the hotel grounds that you can use if you find the older one a little uninviting.

The staff are very helpful and friendly and deliver great service.

The hotel is well located on the main street where all of the restaurants and bars are.

An OK choice but not luxury by any standard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoomReport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have a special little black hole in my cold obsidian heart for the Hotel Vila Ombak, but it's like owning a tiger. It's very impressive if you know how to take care of it, but if you don't you're going to be cleaning massive dollops of your former children off of the kitchen floor.

The customer service was infuriating. I had trouble connecting to the internet and at midnight, the operator suggested I come closer to the reception for a better signal. The other time I tried dealing with these people was when I tried to order room service, again, fairly late at night when all the old age peeps had gone to bed and there was probably not too much stirring in the hotel. So I phoned up to order and alas! No answer.

Apparently my definition of 24 hour room service and Ombak's differ.

So I called the operator. No answer.

Left feeling a little peevish, I decided to walk to reception and was confronted by a sleeping concierge, sprawled over his desk, which was a little different than the usual welcome of the staff standing there staring at you with gormless uncomprehending eyes, at this point I was hoping that some other visitor had beaten him and strangled him to death with a telephone cord while trying to order room service and beat me to the punch. Gushing breathlessly about garrote wire decapitation and baseball bat cranial explosion is a good way to win friends in middle school; but around the office water cooler, it's a good way to lose them.

But to the yin must come the yang, to the cream must come the cheese, to the giddy high of new love must come irritable bowel syndrome. The pools are quite good, swim up bars and competent staff. They may be a little slow getting tracking down the hotel's only bottle of Canadian Club, but when you're in a cool swimming pool on a sunny day on holidays, who cares?

Since the Gili Islands is a rather naturally beautiful place to visit, you can't help but feel that the hotel is like a supermodel who was considered ugly because she wears a baggy sweater.

The fastest way to spoil your pleasures is to make them routine. Variety is the spice of life and status quo is the starch. The star that shines brightest is all the more glorious for its brevity, or to bring this metaphor down to a broader cultural level, The Simpsons has been running for 24 seasons and hasn't been good since the fifth. I would rather see things evolve, and before any defenders of luxury hotels and resorts get in touch, evolve in ways that aren't stupid.

If I were feeling charitable, I'd liken it to having infinite amounts of Lego and only being allowed to access ten blocks of it at a time. But it's not even that. It's like a crippled dog trying to pole dance: Bewildering and ultimately unsexy.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

The hotel has the best location on the Island. It is close to the main restaurants but not in the centre of the partying people at night. We were offered an upgrade to sea view villa by the pool, so when the weather is rainy we could enjoy laying be the almost private pool. Take the bikes to ride around the island and enjoy the sunset in one of the beach bars. But note that the hotel is expensive comparing with other hotels in Gili.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed for 5 fabulous nights at Villa Ombak in January, where we received first class service during the entirity of our stay.
We booked the traditional Lumbung Huts (which most of the other travellers pictures feature) and these were absolulely wonderful - a traditional taste of Bali with beautiful outdoor bathrooms (within your own mini garden!) lovely thatched walls , but with all the mod cons we know we love - a fridge, TV and most importantly - AC! The huts are in the most scenic garden - impeccably well kept, with the most amazing aromas of all sorts of tropical flowers wafting through... a delight to walk through to breakfast or to the pool each morning).
Speaking of breakfast... two things should suffice here - one - it was fantastic in terms of choice and quality and two - you will NOT need lunch!
As you'll see from the pictures, the pool was really lovely, and has a waterfall and jacuzzi as an added bonus. The buffet dinner every evening was excellent (better quality than a lot of the others further along) and the Toblerone cocktail is a MUST for a post dinner tipple!
In addition to the hotel itself and the fantastic cuisine, the quality of service should also be commended. Having had a disasterous trip from Ubud to the Gilli Islands due to bad weather, we were tired, stressed and weary upon arrival. The Hotel Manager Jama looked after us faultlessly, and even arranged re-embersment for our 'speed boat' ticket and booked return flights for us to Lombok instead. We didn't have to do a thing (except lie by the pool where she came out to inform us when all was arranged and bookings were complete!)
Villa Ombak has a new sister hotel (Villa Sunset) offering perhaps a quieter stay (just a short horse and cart ride around the corner). Between the two offerings there is something for everyone at Villa Ombak and I can highly recommend both hotels to anyone planning a visit to the beautiful Gilli Trawangan.

Room Tip: Go for the Lumbung Huts in order to experience the traditional Balinese style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We had a room which was fairly big with outside bathroom but the deluxe bungalow was tired, definitely in need of updating. The hair dryer useless and you had to keep all curtains closed as everyone could see in all the time - no privacy. The staff were pleasant enough but initial check in failed to point out our exclusive use of a pool ( this made a big difference for a bit of peace & quiet) for $400 per night incl taxes & other add ons it was not value for money compared with Tanjung Jara in Malaysia or the Maldives. That said the location was good and we did enjoy our stay, breakfast was good but no fresh fruit juices!

Room Tip: If you have deluxe bungalow have an upstairs one for privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hope1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south west france
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2013

Spent only one night here between Christmas and New Year. The boat trip from Sanur was long and uncomfortable as the fast boat was in dry dock for repairs so by the time we arrived on Gili T at lunchtime we were all pretty tired. Our rooms were not ready and wouldn't be for some time. Found the reception staff pretty offhand. Not a good start. Eventually got into our rooms which were all on one level, large and cool and, in our case, had a king size and a single bed. An outside bathroom with salt water shower which is not very nice...according to a local this is not always the norm on Gili T. During the night there was a typical downpour and the roof line deposited all the rain in the 'flower bed' of the bathroom, which then filled up and lapped muddy water onto the bathroom floor. Strange design! I fail to see the attraction of outside bathrooms given the livestock around these places. There was a comfortable sitting area outside our room but as we were in a little 'street' of cabins facing each other it had a definite holiday camp feel. Breakfast continued this illusion. It was mobbed, with not enough staff, and those who were there were (again) offhand and inefficient. Eventually had to go to the kitchen in person to get a pot of tea. The selection of food on offer seemed pretty comprehensive though.
We stayed at Vila Ombok as it seemed to be the last bed available for a spur of the moment trip to Gili Trawangan during the Christmas holidays but if we ever returned we probably wouldn't stay here as we now know there are places with much more charm.
Did find our trip fascinating, so don't be put off by a poor review of Vila Ombok.

Room Tip: New cabins on the south end of the resort all seemed to be on one level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank medlar41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 615 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#9 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 36 in Gili Trawangan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing