We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ugh - Frustrated and Disgusted”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #7 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ugh - Frustrated and Disgusted”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came here on our honeymoon. We booked a Lumbug Hut (Room #8), which was very small and the bathroom was downstairs and outside -- not ideal if you ever us the bathroom in the night.

The staff sent us a honeymoon cake but got the name wrong -- I imagine the Angeliques received our cake and hopefully they had a better overall experience too.

With the inadequate room, they offered to upgrade us from the Hut to another room (for a nominal price). We accepted.

The new room (#105) was great and spacious with an indoor bathroom on the same floor, but one problem. I woke up in the morning and found a dead cockroach in the bathroom. It was large.

Then I found a cockroach near the bed. It was alive and it was large. I threw the hotel manual on it. I called and asked them if they sprayed the rooms for these things, and they insisted that they do.

Startled and disgusted we went about our day. My wife went for a massage and I relaxed by the pool. After the message she decided to complain and they upgraded us to the private villa room (no extra cost above the original upgrade) for one night (room #105). It was lovely. The only problem was that the next morning, my wife found another cockroach in the bathroom. We called the front desk. They sent somebody who spoke no English, but he did remove the cockroach. Then they sent somebody else with toilet paper because of a language issue. We tried to communicate to him that the cockroaches weren't acceptable and they needed to take care of it. He finally came back and sprayed the bathroom.

Shortly after, I went to use the bathroom. It seemed fine at first until a big bug (not a cockroach) appeared and crawled into the garden. Then a massive cockroach crawled out of the sink and started climbing the mirror. I retreated to the room, but the cockroach eventually made its way inside on the ceiling. We went outside to the private pool. When I went back inside, the cockroach was dead on the floor.

We decided to leave the hotel and go back to Bali because we didn't want this on our honeymoon. We went back to our original room (the upgraded one) to get our things and leave. There was another dead cockroach there.

When we checked out, they still made us pay for the upgrade. I don't think any hotel in the world with any class would do that, given the cockroach infestation we experienced over several rooms, but they were pricks about it. They knew we were rushing to make the 1100am boat to Bali, so we paid and left.

The main pool is nice but is starting to look old. The other main pool on the south part of the campus is much nicer and less busy.

Breakfast here is terrible. The buffet room is dark and hot and is a zoo, they run out of food and there are line ups for the egg station. Seating and service at breakfast is not so great.

Room Tip: Huts are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samplified
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,696 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    644
    314
    129
    94
See reviews for
266
838
55
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

The room was great, very spacious. Though it was the cheapest one (lumbung superior terrace), it was more practical than traditional lumbung huts which was far more expensive. Well i prefer modern style rooms personally. Complete amenities, but no hairdryer. Room was big, clean. Salt water shower was not a problem at all as they provide you with fresh water tap as well. No Douche shower was a bit of a problem for me. Breakfast was great with lots of varieties and tasted fresh. Service was good. Pool was quite small (though it was the largest on the island) but clean and the pool bar was great too.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mariananissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This hotel has a private jetty. 15 minutes is what it takes from Lombok through the private uncovered speedboat. Super convenient. The beach front area has beautiful set up, very relaxing and quiet. We like the hotel in overall. Recommended for family. For young couple suggest to go further up to the east for more crowded & happening stuffs (this hotel is located a little bit closer to south east).. more quiet and serene.

We stayed in the standard room.. it was ok in overall. This hotel uses island underground (saline / salted) water to conserve water. You gotta rinse with fresh water prepared beside the bathroom.

Room Tip: We stayed in the standard room.. it was ok in overall. This hotel uses island underground (saline...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivdaviva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I love this hotel and came back to Gili T in large part to stay at this property again. The room I've been given each time has been large, well air conditioned, and has a beautiful outdoor bathroom. (The water is salt water, but I'm ok with that.)

What is really special about this hotel is the grounds. They are meticulously maintained, with flowers and statues all around, and they also have great quiet areas for reading or spending quiet time. The two pools are beautiful and both have swim-up bars that are fun in the late afternoon and early evening.

The staff is kind and patient and always helpful, and the location is perfect. It's a 30 second walk to the Gili T nightlife and restaurants, but the hotel is far enough away from the noise of the island during the evening parties. If you are heading to Gili T, I highly highly recommend Vila Ombak.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms - they may be more expensive, but it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dina k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canggu, Indonesia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We visited Gili Trawangan with my two small daughters and I really want them to feel comfortable. Staying in Villa Ombak is the right decision. The kids have space in the garden to play, big swimming pool and yummy buffet breakfast. We definitely stay here again when we come again to Gili T.

Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank weedeeblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Stayed at the villa ombak with a group on a diving holiday , it was wonderful resort with good food and helpfull and friendly staff.
The rooms were well airconditioned and clean and tidy.
The bathroom is spacioius - yet not airconded ( this didnt really matter to us ) lighting was very dim in the bathroom -which is a bug bear of mine.
The showers are salt water showers so be prepared ! They do have a large tub of fresh water in the shower.
Be aware that everything is done on Island time - so be patient and go with the flow.
The diving is good - fairly easy with some dives with resonable current - loads of turtles.
the island itself caters for all age groups and all activity levels.
A good easy place to stay and more relaxed than Bali itself.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy&suey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
180 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We booked a sea facing room at Villa Ombak. However, not much of the sea was visible from this room. Hendra the manager showed us to a hut for a sea view but it was extremely small and definitely not appropriate. As a last resort he offered us a cottage along the road across the beach. Perfect at last!!

The bathroom and toilet are open air and not as pretty as some of the pictures on Tripadvisor, and a bit run down. The garden adjoining the bath area is very pretty. We did not mind the warm salt water for showering, part of the experience! The lighting in the rooms is very dim. But the cottage itself is picture perfect. If you don’t mind the sound of cidomos (horse driven cart) and cyclists traversing up and down the single lane road, I recommend this cottage for striking views of the sunrise, the Lombok Mountain and the beach across.

The breakfast was average and most times the dining area was full so we had to trudge upstairs with food and fruit. Juices and fruit were mediocre. Waiters could not understand English so a request for strong tea was often not understood. Supper at the hotel was much better and safer than eating at surrounding restaurants, which proved to be a disaster. The food was served in contemporary crockery. The dining area on the beach was attractively lit and serviced by very friendly waiters and waitresses.

The massage at the Roemah Spa was really worthwhile. The masseurs are professional and their strong hands were quite exceptional. Highly recommended!!

The beach is beautiful at sunrise when the tide is in, but as the tide goes out there is a lot of coral, which hurts the feet on the seashore. The islands’ children however, seem unaffected by the coral as they play on the shore amongst the coral. Be advised to wear swimming shoes.

Sadly, the building of bars for late night, loud entertainment is leaving the sandy beaches strewn with rubble, which is destroying the ecology of the island.

Room Tip: I recommend the cottage for striking views of the sunrise, the Lombok Mountain and the beach across.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ProudlyDurbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
332 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
509 reviews
1.3 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Property: Hotel Vila Ombak
Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing