We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vila Ombak....we loved it”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Gili Trawangan, what a fantastic place this is. Look, we found this place on the web and thought that seems OK let’s go . So we decided to stay at the Hotel Vila Ombak. We booked via the internet and the staff with booking were very helpful. They organised all our transfers from the Mataram airport on Lombok, including taxi and speed boat to the island, which all went like clockwork. We flew from Bali to Lombok but perhaps, in retrospect, the Gili fast cat might have been better although more expensive?
We arrived and were given a free drink and ushered into the most beautiful room. We stayed for 6 days and had a great time. The food in the Hotel is very good. We ate in three other restaurants on the Gili but we decided that the Vila Ombak food was the best, so we just ate there. Vila Ombak has an excellent fish choice with fresh fish brought in every day so you just pick your own. They know how to cook it as well. The lobster and barracuda were superb. The beach side restaurant was magic with a great band that played covers, not too loud, just right to enjoy the night.
The hotel breakfast was fantastic; a huge buffet with just about everything imaginable to eat. Fresh croissants, omelets, waffles, jaffels, fruit salad, eggs and bacon, Indonesian style rice, you name it. And good coffee!!!! The staff were most polite and attentive. The rooms were fresh and clean and very secure. Good beds and with a great Indo style outdoor bathroom. We loved it.
While we were there we decided to do a diving course. The hotel has the Vila Ombak Diving Academy. We thought it might be a bit expensive, being attached to the hotel, so we checked out the others on the island but when we compared prices we went with the Vila Ombak Diving Academy and we were very glad we did. This dive academy is PADI certified. Apparently some others on the Island aren’t so look out. The staff were fantastic again. Maria in the office was most helpful and polite. She set us up to do the course and said “look if you’re not sure just try and then let us know …no pressure”. Diego, the boss, was very experienced and helpful. We had HarJanto as our dive instructor. He was just the best. The whole family did the course (including my fourteen year old daughter) and we all felt completely confident in his hands. My wife got a bit nervous but HarJanto just calmly, and with and experience handling difficult situations and patience, coaxed her through. We are now open water divers. The dive boat was well run safe and fun. All the gear was in good condition. And the coral reef we saw just blew our minds….. The fish, the turtles, the clown fish……the sheer beauty of it all. We whole heartedly recommend the Vila Ombak Diving Academy.
While we were on Gili Trawangan we did a sunset walk to the western side of the island (definitely recommended) and stumbled onto a new hotel just completed. We had a drink at the bar. This looks even better than Vila Ombak. We asked to see the rooms and had a guided tour by the hotel staff. Apparently the hotel is open …but only just. This must be Indonesia’s best kept secret for sure. Wow. The hotel, I am not sure of the name, ’Sunset Beach Hotel’ I think, has a huge 50 meter pool, unbelievable rooms and opulence. We didn’t stay there but it looks just superb. Next time (we are going back) we will stay there. We have traveled the world many times and we have never written a blurb on a place but after our great time on GiIi ‘Tragwang’ (as my daughter called it) we just felt compelled to tell the world how good it all was. Paul, Carmin and family from Sydney Australia.

Room Tip: just talk to the staff they were most helpful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,826)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

976 - 982 of 1,826 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2011

We greatly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Nice private rooms with privacy and plenty to do. The hotel has a dive operator and day spa. The bar and resturant on the beach were great. The Gili Trawangan is a lot of fun. Lots of bars/resturants and the only way to get around it to walk, take a horse taxi or rent a bike (no motorized vehicles allowed!). The staff was great and they had a super band at the bar. We were there for 3 nights and wished we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lacrosse_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

i think it is one of the most luxurious hotel in gili trawangan. it has the best facilities, great swimming pool, great breakfast, and good architecture. the location is close to the art market and 'central', where all the shops and cafes are in gili trawangan, but you can still have a good sleep.

there are much cheaper alternatives in the area. but if you want top services, this is the hotel you might want to consider.

suggestion: for the price they charge, i think the should give free bike for the guests, like some other hotels do.




  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2011

The setting of this hotel is beautiful and our 2 rooms with an enclosed private pool was absolutely fantastic! Unfortunately, the management thought that was all that was required. The staff seemed clueless. We had to ask for everything we needed and then it was late and inefficient. The breakfast bufffet was lame! Still used the condiment dishes from the day befoe and didn't even tidy them up or clean the edges. The room the food was in was sweltering hot which made you want to get out of there ASAP. Good for the diet, I guess.

All in all, I loved the location and physical setting, but overrated for 5-star due to poor service. Not worth the money. Try Ko-Ko-Mo next door.

Room Tip: Loved the enclosed private pool area, but a long way from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed for an extended period so it was quite expensive compared to other accommodation on the island. We only had a sheet on the bed and due to the language barriers it took a bit to be able to arrange a doona or extra sheets. The airconditioner is situated over the bed and became very cool at night. It is a shame there are no fly screens to take advantage of the lovely breezes coming through the windows and doors. Even one screen would have allowed the airconditioning to be turned off. I did not enjoy the salt showers and fresh water rinse although wasn't a problem for my husband. The hotel is ok but watch the prices and condition of the bikes you hire we returned ours after a blow out a considerable distance from the hotel and a faulty seat. You can hire much cheaper bikes around the island from locals. Also, the quotes for trips around the island were high compared to locals. The little cafe attached to the hotel is excellent with wonderful staff and the best cuppacino and meals. Breakfast can be very busy if you pick the wrong time but a good choice of foods, dinner at the hotel restaurant was not as good as other very close restaurants, they over cook their seafood which is unfortunate (it was like cardboard). It is disappointing and a health risk to be served meals with chipped plates, cups and milk jugs. We had problems with our room, the airconditioner leaked water and there was no hot water on and off during our stay. The toilet didn't flush well either. The manager offered us another room later in our stay however we were at the end of our trip and really just couldn't be bothered and not keen to move away from our ocean view. Considering the price for the room I feel it was overpriced. I did get ill during my stay and the 24 hour medical centre (which is available to everyone on the island) was very helpful and not over priced compared to Australian medical services. I would recommend travel insurance if you are travelling to Gili Islands. We are undecided whether we would go there again, it is more for the younger generation/backpackers but a memorable experience. If you are considering travelling from Bali by fast boad use Gili Cat (much larger boat and a little more expensive). A friend visited for a night and her cheaper smaller boat broke down in the middle of the ocean and she was forced to abandon her boat which caused her a great deal of stress and anxiety. Some people we met booked a couple of nights accommodation and then obtained standby rates or just walked in and saved $$$. There is no fresh water and you buy water everyday, although it is cheap. The best place to snorkel and swim are on the other side of the island not near this hotel about 500 metres away. You definately need reef shoes.

Herb & Di Australia

Room Tip: There are many different types of accommodation available. Check in for a couple of nights & th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianneH55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

first i will point out we are in our 50s just. my partner booked this for me to do a few dives and hide from the hussle n bussle of bali itself. success. from the landing on the island and for the whole three day visit i can honestly say the only problem i had was too much brown sugar in my caprioscas. this did prevent me from diving as much as i wanted to but youve gotta love this place. book suit 63 with breakfast included. we did a three island snorkel tour which was a bit of a let down only because past use of dynomite(sp) to fish which has flattened/killed most coral around the shallows. we did get nice plate coral and turtles off gilli air though.the island has a policy of rotating full moon(midnight to dawn) parties. this is great. it means that no one area get bombarded every night with crouds and music.overall the people try desparately hard to please their customers.
a small tip when booking. check to see that you ferry trip is direct to the island of choice and not a cattle run to all islands. this happened one way for us and took from 9.00am to 3.30 pm to get to the room.the direct trip home took half the time but as i said no big deal.overall a cracker of a holiday. i hope this helps

Room Tip: take night and day soap as the showers are salt. there is a fresh tap to rinse off though. this didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yantina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Stayed for 2 nights during high season. Check in and out process was a bit slow.
Room was very spacious however linen was not that clean, bathroom has no bathtub, interior and furniture very dated. Mattress was quite hard and pillows were very high in profile. FYI, the tap water is saline however there is a limited amount of fresh water available from desalination plant.

The vila has lots of potential, staff are very friendly from front desk to gardeners.
Lots of choices at buffet breakfast but still need improvement. Prices are quite expensive as they are catered for tourists and there were no small food stalls (warung) around that we could find.

Spa was good value, tried a bali boreh treatment 2.5hr for USD 45.
Diving was awesome, staff very professional and equipment provided was good. There are many dive sites between the 3 Gilis but the dive centre will select the best one based on the weather conditions & current.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank nonique99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.0 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,178 reviews
1.3 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#14 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
593 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#6 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
616 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
428 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $94 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing