We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Etnic/Lombok style Villa in Gilis”
Review of Hotel Vila Ombak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Vila Ombak
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Gili Trawangan
Reviewed May 27, 2011

The room was unique like Lombok traditional house, made from wood, bamboo and Ilalang/dried grass, the room was small but chic, sophisticated. The bedroom is upstair and living room/bathroom is downstair. The bathroom is outdoor and u hv to pouring from kran to gentong(traditional water pot) and use coconut shell as scoop to take a bath, just traditional way i like it... Wastafel use salt water and accidentally i used it when i brush my teeth, so salty.. lol... food is delicious from local and moderate.. The location is strategic from this corner u take walk to left side and see lots of restaurants, cafe, other villa all beach front.. or just go ahead to the beach in fron of this villa n sit, enjoy the view of Lombok island.. so beautiful.. or go to the right side of this villa with Cidomo(traditional horse transport) for 15mnt you arrive at stage building/open hall to enjoy the sunset here...

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adelicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,866)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,866 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2011

First up let me qualify my rating for 'value' as 4/5 not 5/5 when everything else I rated 5/5 (not something I do very often I must say). We got deluxe rooms (Villa's # 42 & 43) at short notice at an incredibly good price via a friend who owns a lovely property on Lombok. Against the price we paid I'd rate it 5/5 or above! I based the 'value' rating though on the average price I could find at present if I had booked it myself from Australia. It is a little pricey against some other accoms on Gili T hence the 4/5 rating.

Okay... now to the review.

Our intention was to stay in a fan only, clean, budget room for under $30 a night. Given we got an opportunity that was too good to pass up (even though lots more than $30 a night obviously!) we changed plans and checked into the Vila Ombak.

From the moment we arrived by taxi to Teluk Kodek port on Lombok (avoiding Bangsal fortunately) the Vila Ombak took care of us. Immediately onto their waiting speedboat and whisked within 10 minutes to their beachfront restaurant where the nicest tasting 'welcome' drink we've ever been given awaited us (I forgot to ask what it was but may well write to the management to ask as we all thought it was truly delicious). Some ice cold cloths were offered for our brows also (very welcome in the heat). Checkin was a breeze and only took moments then our bags were delivered, with us, to our deluxe rooms.

WOW. WOW. WOW. Massive bedroom with most comfortable king size bed and also a king size day bed come lounger set into the window area. Lots of wardrobe space (and I mean LOTS) and a lovely long writing desk and table area with the TV on it with a welcome platter of fruit and water bottles, etc.

The bathroom is a sight to behold in itself; absolutely massive and has a western toilet, lovely amount of bench space and cupboards around the vanity with massive mirror as well as a shower are you could hold a party in! Seriously, the shower is HUGE. This is all set amongst a small indoor/outdoor garden setting. Plenty of room to get changed and also put up the clothes horse provided for your wet clothes.

Water is salt water from shower but next to it is a large urn with water dipper and fresh, tepid (almost lukewarm) water from a tap. We found this no hardship at all and actually liked that Vila Ombak is conserving the precious little fresh water available to the island. To wash my hair I'd use the salt water shower and shampoo, then dump the lukewarm fresh water over to rinse, then conditioner and again more fresh water to rinse the conditioner out. Worked fine and only took a few extra moments.

All amenities are provided in the bathroom including hairdryer etc.

Gardens are beautiful with lots of Balinese style gazebo's with cushions to relax in, as well as hammocks tied under beautiful old trees, etc. No shortage of shade or a quiet, romantic spot to take a breather.

Towels supplied down by pool for usage there so no need to cart back and forward to your rooms.

Pool bar and swim up bar was great in the terrific pool. The pool bartender made me the best fresh strawberry juices (crushed strawberries and crushed ice) of my entire month long trip across Malaysia, Singapore and Indonesia. He told me he would make me the 'best one ever' and I told him that would be difficult as I've had some good ones... but true to his word it was perfection! He also makes lovely cocktails and serves ice cold beer (reasonably priced come 2 for 1 happy hour)! :)

Other guests were wide ranging; younger set coming in groups, a few families, some diver types, many couples in the mid 30's to mid 50's type set. It seemed to cater well for everyone.

Hubby dived with Ombak Divers and loved them. Even though he has seen better coral and fish elsewhere he particularly commented on one of the dives as being sensational due to the relaxing and professional nature of the dive master. Hubby is a rescue diver so no novice but he was really impressed with all the staff at this dive centre. He also enjoyed floating along in the current with a whole bunch of turtles that were checking him out.

My friends who snorkeled off the beach also saw turtles snorkeling and were rapt (I was too busy drinking strawberry juices in the pool to bother with the beach).

Breakfast was fantastic; equal to many we have had in 4 or 5 class accoms around the world (although for the BEST BREAKFAST EVER you need to check out the W Bali Resort & Spa at Seminyak - now that is INCREDIBLE and the best we've ever had). But that is a different story and for a different review. Suffice to say, the breakfasts at Ombak include a buffet, in effect, of hot, cold, western and local foods with eggs cooked any way you like to order.

Location is good; southern end of Gili T and 2 doors up is the absolutely fantastic food of The Beach House (Scallywags was nice too but we couldn't fault The Beach House for both food, cocktails and ambience). It is only a few min walk to Ko Ko Mo if you want to eat in a fine dining establishment (one of best on the island and very romantic) or a few more minutes walk see's you at the Sunset Bar at sunset point for a sate and beer on the beach.

Also we had free wifi internet; just ask at the travel desk and they give you the daily password. Too easy.

All in all - a fantastic stay for 3 nights and wish we had stayed longer but Ubud was also calling our name! Would we stay again - YOU BET. Absolutely. We will be back Vila Ombak.

Room Tip: Our deluxe rooms (#42 & 43) were faultless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wishtago...
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2011

If you shop around a little on Trawangan, you can find better values, but the rooms are clean, the outdoor bathrooms exceptional, and the location very good. The spa is also a very strong value.

Room Tip: Deluxe Lumbung Hut is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PRM2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2011

best hotel i have ever stayed at.
don't go for the bungaloo's though, :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jessicacur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Stayed 2 non consecutive nights at Ombak, and the overall experience was a good one. working in the hotel industry, i am rather easy going when it comes down to it...
breakfast selection is good, quality not the best, but to be expected on a remote island such as Gili. dinner buffet was fantastic despite a little bit pricey, highly suggest the whole lobster on the BBQ, to DIE for.
pool area good, with couple of different pools one next to the other, and the swim up bar always a bonus. seems to be a constant lack of pool towels though...
room on the first night was fantastic, beautiful decoration and setup and amenities, although im not sure i like the salt water shower and sink, even if a bucket for fresh water is provided, only thing is, the bathroom is right next door to the other rooms bathroom, so you can hear everything that goes on in there, as its not completely closed off, and theres no isolation. The delux hut however on the 2nd night leaves to be desired. tiny room, which is a flaw of conception, given that the outdoor seating area is 2 times as big as the actual room, which is great as well, but they could have privileged the room a little more. the bathroom is great, all outdoors, spacious, perhaps a bit tricky in the rainy season i would imagine, and on a different floor than the room, which i find a bit of a hassle...
other than that, very friendly service, even though my reservation was completely forgotten about each time i arrived, having confirmed again once on the spot, yet they seemed to have no information on both occasions about my staying with them, it would seem logical to do checkin only once, as i had left my luggage overnight between our 2 stays, but passport copy was demanded both times, however the welcome drink never made it at the 2nd checkin...
all in all a great place, but perhaps the staff are a bit overwhelmed by the great number of rooms, and hence losing efficiency on all counts!
would definitely recomend the place, as the setting is charming, but be patient if you go there...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EZpioneer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2011

What a great way of arriving to the hotel. Flights Bali to Lombok (no rip-off std internet rates!) + pickup service all arranged by Vila Ombak. After a private speedboat ride we were welcomed with a tasty welcome-drink and brought to our hotelroom. We (2 adults with 2 children 2 years, 9 months) had a family room- Spacious and beautiful! Great and friendly service and atmosphere. Bar/restaurant across the hotel (belonged to the hotel) on the beach and plenty of nice restaurants within 5-10 min walk. Speedboat trip back to Padang Bai and no problems with our young children - our oldest son loved it. We definitely recommend a visit to Gili Trawangan and Vila Ombak - we would love to come back!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMaria74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADAIMADE, Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2011

Dear AlexMaria74
My appreciation of your compliment above. A Family room of ours is designed for a maximum 2 children under 12 YO Family. It’s spacious and comfortable. Because it consists a king size bed for the parents and a queen size existing day bed in which can be easily modified into the sleeping bed for the kid(s). Additionally we have more luxurious Deluxe Ombak Room with the same family setting as the Deluxe Family Bungalow ( the room that you had have ).
Some people may think that is very difficult to access Hotel Vila Ombak and Gili Trawangan, in fact it’s very simple with easy solution ‘just let us do it for you’. Because we are working very closely with our partner and supporters.
Looking forward to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2011

Gili T being a place for young people Villa Ombaks location on the edge of town was really good for a family like ours withg small children. It has a nice swimmingpool, is situated very close to the beach (but not the best beach however), has nice food at the restaurant and is reasonably priced.

For some reason the bedroom iin our room was completely out of proportion with the hugh bathroom so we quickly made the bathroom our dressing room :-)

Be sure to bring as much as you to the Island as everything is priced much higher at convienient stores (diapers for exaple was double up from mainland Bali).

Diving is relatively expensive on Gili T compared to Bali since prices are fixed (and non-negotiable) between the operators. We had one dive on Gili and I must say that I think that diving on Bali (i.a. Amed or Tulamben) is much nicher.

The island is very beautiful (with a beautiful with over mainland Lombok) and you can easily enjoy 4-5 relaxing days without getting restless :-)

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TomasWH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MADAIMADE, Manager at Hotel Vila Ombak, responded to this reviewResponded May 12, 2011

Dear Thomas

My appreciation of your inputs during your stay at Hotel Vila Ombak.
You're just right that the room ( family room ) seems out of proportion
In fact that we means that from the beginning, we want all of our guests feel very relax staying
in a wide room. The room is yours and you have the right to use it as you need, like using the bath room as a dressing room. As you see, the bath room is also wide because we just combine it with the nature, it's open weather system.

We understand that you have a suffocating ( don't mean that ) bath room at other hotel or apartment and we want you to feel some thing different with Hotel Vila Ombak

Looking forward for another chances to welcoming you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#12 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,193 reviews
1.4 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#13 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
602 reviews
0.8 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Pearl of Trawangan
Pearl of Trawangan
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
634 reviews
1.4 mi away
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
Desa Dunia Beda Beach Resort
#3 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
561 reviews
0.5 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#2 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vila Ombak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vila Ombak

Address: West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#4 Spa Hotel in Gili Trawangan
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Gili Trawangan
Price Range: $91 - $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Vila Ombak 4*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Vila Ombak, the first international hotel on the magical island of Gili Trawangan, is a place that balances the comforts of first class accommodation with the natural beauty that surrounds.The Hotel Vila Ombak features the traditional building style of Lombok, and its neighboring islands, to blend harmoniously with the island's landscape.Hotel Vila Ombak is the winner of World Travel Awards as the Indonesia's Leading Hotel 2012, Indonesia Travel & Tourism Awards as Indonesia Leading Island Resort - Lombok 2013, and World Luxury Hotel Awards 2013 as the Indonesia Leading Hotel 2013. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Vila Ombak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vila Ombak Hotel
Vila Ombak Gili Trawangan
Hotel Vila Ombak Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing