We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Coconut Garden Resort
Ranked #27 of 162 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice spot”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Was a very comfortable place to stay, my only issue was its position on the island, it's in the centre, so getting to main town site required a horse taxi and the cost of that can add up to and extra $10 to $20 dollars a day. Other than that, the room was excellent, they just need to make sure there is beer in the fridge for people arriving, it's an Australian thing I guess.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your time to write a review! Yes, we are situated in the center of the island and provide our guests with free bikes to easy go 10 min to the harbour side and the main strip and only 5 min to the beautiful sunset side and the north side with amazing snorkeling. If our customer prefer to go by horse cart (cidomo) we help to call one. We are happy you enjoyed your stay. Welcome back next time you visit Gili Trawangan and we will have a cold beer waiting for you :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    20
    11
    4
    0
See reviews for
2
31
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Coconut Gardens is a very nice place to stay while on the otherwise high-octane Gili.
The accommodations are very basic but offer excellent privacy, have good bathrooms (never a given anywhere in Indonesia), functioning a/c, and a good basic breakfast. A very nice and useful touch is that you get free bicycles to use during your stay which is helpful since it's a 20-minute walk to the main strip of Gili T. That is an advantage, though, as well since that means it's very quiet and peaceful out in the coconut grove as opposed to the wild scene on the eastern shore of the island.
The internet never really worked during our two nights there but we were warned and most cafes in town have wi-fi so not that big of a deal.

Room Tip: I think they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haysnoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
We really appreciate your time to write a review, thank you! Happy you enjoyed your time in Coconut Garden and Gili Trawangan. All the best from Alexandra and Wawan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

There are 4 cottages in this resort which are spacious and decently clean. Being in the middle of a coconut plantation, there were some insects in the cottage. Internet connection was unreliable and breakfast was very basic. They had Air-con (it can get very hot in the day), fresh water and a generator for uninterrupted supply.

The resort is located 7-10mins bicycle ride away from the main beach. The road is really bumpy and there are no street lights at night. The ride back and forth can be a pain.

Alexandra who manages the resort is helpful. She helped us book our ferry to Bali and cancel one night accommodation with full refund.

Overall I found the place and the stay average.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whoami345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Thank you for your time to write your review! It is good you mention internet, thanks. Our internet service is free and available in the common area and works good almost all day. But we inform our guests in the welcome mail to please be advised it is not perfect and that we are in a coconut plantation on a small coral island. I wish you all the best and welcome back next time you visit Gili Trawangan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 1, 2013

What can i say!! Alexandra was soo friendly and welcoming, she offered to collect us from a hotel we were dropped off at( by the fault of the horse cart driver) from the other side of the island. when we arrived Alex gave us all the information we needed and more to fully enjoy our stay on Gili Trawangan. The room was a beautiful little bungalow, plenty of room even with with massive comfortable bed. Loved the outside bathroom aswell!! The resort is a short bike ride away from the hustle and bustle of the main street but that was perfect for us as we wanted to relax and not get hounded every 5 minutes. As soon as we woke Alex was straight onto us with what breakfast we wanted, and the free tea was a definite plus!! Overall amazing resort, can't fault it in any way!! Thank you Alexandra for your amazing hospitality, will definitely be recommending to anyone i can!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackBarraclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you for really kind words! So happy to have you as our guests and that you enjoyed your stay. Enjoy life and I hope to see you again in Coconut Garden!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

To cottages are beautiful and comfortable. Though lighting inside could be better, there's only one option; full light in the whole place. The compound is really quite and relaxed, so good for total relaxing and reading in front of your room.

What could be better than? It's a compound with besides the cottages just grass and some palm trees. It's a nice place, but It needs more effort though to make it a great place. the same goes for service, they have (a friendly and helpful) guy who takes care of everything. But it's just a little short.

It's a bit isolated located, we would prefer is to be a little but closer to the beautifuly desolated nord western beach.

We paid 800.000 pupiah a night which was somewhat overpriced. On the other hand it was peak season...

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 120Sebastian1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback! Apologise, I was off work during your stay and we where short staff, but we have hired additional staff. I am glad to hear Wawan did a great job on his own. Thank you for suggesting additional lighting, thats a great idea and I have ordered reading lamps. Thank you for your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2013

I was staying in this cottages for 3 nights as a getaway from my busy work. I know this place from my friend and they suggest this place for a place to stay. The place is nice, it is far from the busy road and the staff are so friendly. Since it is quite far from the crowd, this place provide your basic needs such as bicycle, water, coconut water, coffee, tea. Really nice tranquil place...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for your nice words and feedback! Yes, Coconut Garden Resort is just a 8 -10 minutes bike ride from the mail strip at the harbour side and situated in a quiet coconut plantation. Also as close as 5 min to the sunset side where you can find a nice spot on the beach by your self to enjoy this lovely time of the day. We are happy you liked to stay with us and hope we will see you next time you have some days in Gili Trawangan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Alexandra was an amazing host, very friendly and attentive. The cottages were lovely, clean and the biggest comfiest beds I have ever slept on.The cottages are set back from the main strip but this is perfect for gaining some rest and relaxation. The semi outdoor bathroom is a lovely touch and the whole place was very clean. Torches and bikes provided for free were a great touch, I highly recommend staying here - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leone_eee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coconut Garden R, Manager at Coconut Garden Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Thank you for a beautiful review! We are happy you stayed with us in Coconut Garden Resort and we hope to see you in Indonesia soon again. Until then, take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.3 mi away
Belukar Villas
Belukar Villas
#8 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
175 reviews
0.0 mi away
White Coconut Cottage
White Coconut Cottage
#18 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
22 reviews
0.7 mi away
Martas Hotel
Martas Hotel
#5 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Trawangan Dive Resort
Trawangan Dive Resort
#10 of 247 in Gili Trawangan
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Rumah Cahaya
Rumah Cahaya
#24 of 162 in Gili Trawangan
25 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trawangan Nirvana
Trawangan Nirvana
#18 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coconut Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Garden Resort

Property: Coconut Garden Resort
Address: Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83352, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in acres of coconut grove near the centre of Gili Trawangan, Coconut Garden Resort is an ideal hideaway for those looking for a more tranquil and private place to stay. All of our rooms have the same facilities and come with fresh hot water, air conditioning, king sized double beds, free Wi-Fi, complimentary drinking water, a safety deposit box, and attached en-suite bathrooms. Each room is tastefully decorated with bespoke teak furniture, has a furnished terrace and has ample storage space. We also have a private fresh water swimming pool for all our guests to share with sun-loungers surrounding it. The resort is removed from the busier parts of island life. We are just a 10-minute bicycle ride away from the main hub of shops, restaurants and bars on the East coast and a 5-minute ride to the quieter West side of the island where a variety of relaxing places can be found to unwind and take in the glorious sunsets. Bicycles are available at the resort at a daily rental charge. With beautiful, traditional Indonesian buildings combined with modern amenities and a colourful garden, we aim to provide the best of both worlds. Coconut Garden Resort is the perfect place to hide away or use as a base to explore the island and discover the wide range of activities available on Gili Trawangan. Gym and tennis court (for additional cost) are available just 3 min from the resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Coconut Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Garden Resort Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing