We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kayu Cafe, Gili T”
Review of Kayu Cafe

Kayu Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: Our beach front cafe on Gili Trawangan offers healthy food and juices in a stylish air-conditioned setting. Coffees, cold pressed juices, freshly baked breads and cakes are our specialty. Enjoy a coffee and cake with a view from our second floor balcony or our antique beach front terrace. Indulge in our scrumptious all day menu that also includes Asian-fusion choices, and a selection of tapas to enjoy whilst looking out upon the beautiful beaches of Gili Trawangan.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our family returned to Kayu Cafe a few times whilst on Gili T. The vegetarian options were so good and yummy. Mocktails were on the steep side but good. Generally not cheap eats but, I'd rather pay for a decent vegetarian meal. Staff were friendly and tried hard to please and generally we were never disappointed. My favourite choices were Veggie Avo toast, exotic fruit platter, Vegan Oatmeal Cookies, Chia Parfait and Virgin Mojito. Keep it up Kayu and see you next time!

Date of visit: December 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GGsFeedback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe1, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to write us a lovely review. We are glad to hear about all your favourite choices, we do our best to produce the most delicious food we can and use only the freshest produce available. We look forward to welcoming back the next time you visit us.

Take care.

Kindest regards

Kayu Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,592)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 1,592 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I ordered the berry smoothie bowl because it looked so good on the pictures..but man...I was severely disappointed. Probably the worst smoothie bowl I’ve ever had. The granola tasted old and chewy not crunchy. There are apples, not strawberries on mine like the description said. It was so stuffed I couldn’t even eat any of it without it all toppling out....and the worst part..it wasn’t very cold. That’s really what I wanted. Also the A/C in here is trash. Overall very dissatisfied.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank sammylittrelll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe1, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

We are sorry to hear that you had a negative experience and appreciate you taking the time to provide feedback. We do our best to provide the most delicious food we can, we can change the toppings from time to time because the fruits change sweetness at different times of the year, we apologise that you were disappointed with this and if only you had come and spoken to us about it, we could of hopefully found a solution. Thank you for letting us know about the A/C, we are aware that it has got slightly warm and our maintenance team have been fixing the problem during closing hours. We hope that you will give us another opportunity if you ever return back so that we can hopefully turn your negative experience into a good one.

Kindest regards

Kayu Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This cafe offers some selections of good food. It also has some tasty cakes on the display. I always visit this place everytime i visit Gili T. However the price of the food is a bit expensive here and the portion is not too big.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Anchaaatluuu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe1, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear customer,

Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to give us your feedback. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our food and cakes and that you always visit us when you are in Gili T. We are sad though to hear you felt our food was over priced, we do our best to source the freshest produce available and at the best price for our customers. As for the portion sizes, we are usually told quite the opposite but we hope this did not ruin your overall experience with us and hope to see you again when you are back on Gili T.

Kindest regards

Kayu Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020 via mobile

Beautiful food and coffee. Really nice place to sit and chill out. Staff were really nice. Best coffee I had on Gilli T and the Greek Omelette was amazing.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank benb827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us, we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your food and coffee. We hope to see you again here one day.

Enjoy the rest of your time on the island

Kayu Cafe Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

I think this place has bitten off more than it can chew. They have tables downstairs, upstairs and across the road and can't seem to keep up with the orders. We waited over an hour for veggie burgers. They were nice but that's way too long to wait. It was lunch time and they were already out of wheat grass, chai and chips. Do yourself a favour and go to Banyan Tree instead.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Suzie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2020

Dear customer,

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your veggie burgers but sad to hear you were disappointed with our service as we do our best to be as quick as we possibly can. Your food arrived 35 minutes after you placed your order at our cashier, we understand that the waiting time is slightly longer than usual because this was at our peak rush hour time and we work by a first come, first served basis. Apologies for running out of our homemade chai and hand cut chips for a short period of time, we hope that this has not put you off from visiting us again in the future.

Take care and enjoy the rest of your time on the island.

Kayu Café Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Cafe also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kayu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing