We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended western style health cafe”
Review of Kayu Cafe

Kayu Cafe
Ranked #1 of 8 Dessert in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: Kayu cafe is now open on Gili Trawangan. Our beach front cafe offers healthy food and juices in a stylish air-conditioned setting. Coffees, cold pressed juices, freshly baked breads and cakes are our specialty. Enjoy a coffee and cake with a view from our second floor balcony or our antique beach front terrace. We also have a special menu for dinner hours, serving Asian-fusion choices, including a selection of tapas. Feel free to indulge in our cocktails and wine selection.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended western style health cafe”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

Came here for breakfast it was very busy but all the food and drinks came out in good time, possibly one of the best cafe menus with so many healthy choices at a really cheap price in comparison to Australia-I'd even say it was well priced compared to other restaurant/cafes on gili T. Definitely worth a visit!!! Wish I found it sooner, will be returning for my final breakfast in gili T, keep up the good work kayu cafe :)

Helpful?
Thank Chelsea W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you so much for appreciating our efforts in delivering the best for our customers! It is absolutely fulfilling to hear that you had a good time with us, and we will strive to ensure all customers get the same experience that you had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    507
    337
    127
    50
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best coffee on the island”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Good coffee, A/C, healthy juices/ smoothies, and yummy treats. Must have gone here at least 5 times during my 2 week stay on the island. The fluffy pancakes are amazing!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Farron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review! We are glad to have such a loyal customer to have visited us so many times! Hope you had a great holiday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

We came here for coffee and cake and were not disappointed!

The cappuccino was very good and there was a wide selection of cakes too! The menu looked excellent and we were a little jealous of the food some other customer were ordering!

Definitely a place to stop for lunch or even just a coffee.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Larnie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thank you for your review! Please pop by more often to try out all our other offerings!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good coffee & "sweets"”
Reviewed August 6, 2014 via mobile

We were here a few times - coffees and cappucchinos were good, and do were the cake and cookies we tried!

Pretty expensive though - almost feels like going to starbucks.

Helpful?
Thank Sascha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Glad you enjoyed our coffee and 'sweets'! We do take pride in ensuring the best experience for our customer, and ensure our prices are fair, and not overpriced for what we deliver. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“excellent menu, tasty food, friendly and hard working staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

slightly more expensive than other places on the island but well worth it for the healthy menu choices. cold pressed juice was just what i needed in the heat and the food was always delicious.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KayuCafe, Manager at Kayu Cafe, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are glad you had a good time with us! Actually our prices are comparative to other establishments and the service and govt tax is already included in our prices, whereas some other places add that on when you pay the bill. Nevertheless, we are glad you felt that we were value for money! Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Cafe also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kayu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing