We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE TRUE CAPPUCCINO”
Review of Kayu Cafe

Kayu Cafe
Ranked #1 of 9 Dessert in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery
Description: Kayu cafe is now open on Gili Trawangan. Our beach front cafe offers healthy food and juices in a stylish air-conditioned setting. Coffees, cold pressed juices, freshly baked breads and cakes are our specialty. Enjoy a coffee and cake with a view from our second floor balcony or our antique beach front terrace. We also have a special menu for dinner hours, serving Asian-fusion choices, including a selection of tapas. Feel free to indulge in our cocktails and wine selection.
PRATO
Level 6 Contributor
659 reviews
259 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 702 helpful votes
“THE TRUE CAPPUCCINO”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great local, very nice and clean. Tables inside and outside in front of the sea too. Very big menu, with many biological choices and unique dishes, with prices absolutely proportioned to the quality. As Italian, I can confirm about their delicious Cappuccino, better then many bars in Italy. Made with Illy coffee, really, dense with very good milk foam. Taste excellent. Very good also a pot of Ibiscus Tea, really gorgeous. Please note that they close in the afternoon, at about 6:30 PM, so plan before your visit here !

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DAVID1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    529
    344
    129
    50
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“top quality healthy food”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

This kind of food is really up my street, so this is probably biased, but they do it really well. If you like healthy salads or good quality home made classics made then I would recommend this destination for you. Quick service, great juices, good coffee and cakes.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stilljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Clean, A/C, wifi, great food”
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

This is quite sincerely the cleanest cafe on Gili T. The A/C is a great escape from the humidity outside, and they have lovely healthy food in addition to some truly delicious baked goods - mostly cakes, etc. The don't put extra sugar in their juices, teas and other drinks, which is rare in Indonesia.

The staff seemed a little stressed out, but otherwise it was a veritable oasis in the craziness that is Gili T's Main Street.

They also appear to have a big screen TV with international cable channels.

Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a lovely little cafe with air con, really tasty food & healthy drinks. I thought it was really good value for money and they have wonderful coffee! We visited this cafe twice for both lunch and breakfast and was most impressed. It was nice to be in a clean, quiet environment and away from the normal Gili T madness for an hour.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ebbs_K1311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denpasar, Bali, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Cafe”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Finally visited this cafe on my last day there. The cafe is small, they have free wi-fi also the coffee was great I had chocolate cake also there which is the chocolate only on top not the whole cake :( But I love the design of this place.. One of the great coffee shop in Gili Trawangan..

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giannilucha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Cafe also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kayu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing