We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy, tasty food, gorgeous chilled out place”
Review of Kayu Cafe

Kayu Cafe
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Gili Trawangan
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Kayu cafe is now open on Gili Trawangan. Our beach front cafe offers healthy food and juices in a stylish air-conditioned setting. Coffees, cold pressed juices, freshly baked breads and cakes are our specialty. Enjoy a coffee and cake with a view from our second floor balcony or our antique beach front terrace. We also have a special menu for dinner hours, serving Asian-fusion choices, including a selection of tapas. Feel free to indulge in our cocktails and wine selection.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Healthy, tasty food, gorgeous chilled out place”
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I've ate here a few times because the menu is really healthy and vegetarian friendly (both difficult qualities to find in Asia). There's a large selection of juices and the coffee is also the best on the island - real illy coffee!! They also have a large selection of cakes and healthier snacks - the raw chocolate bar was really nice.

The cafe itself is beautiful and it's a nice place to chill out, they also have wifi. I would definitely go back there!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cheri4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,039 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    331
    124
    49
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“8 1/2 out of 10”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Great food it really is one of the best on the island

Service is not great but is probably down to staffs lack of English ( yes i know im in Indonesia)

Staff are still very helpful non the less, they helped and prepared a birthday cake for my girlfriend and even bought it out and sang along with me : )

Over all i would recommend anyone to eat at Kayu as it really is the one of if not the best place to relax and unwind. Also the interior design of the place is beautiful.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank George_Thea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great food, best coffee on gili!!”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The food is great, theres nothing better than a full english and some real coffee when you miss home. The staff are very helpful and friendly, but a little difficult to get in contact with and there is some communication difficulties with the language barrier.
It's a bit more expensive then other places on gili, but defiantly worth it. Enjoy :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Theaandgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good but Expensive!”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Cafe Kayu is located right by the harbor, with a pretty solid wifi connection and an indoor area with A/C! big plus.

They have a good mixed menu. The food is good but portions fluctuate, sometimes bigger, sometimes smaller. It's a bit expensive, western prices - I can get better food for the same price in Los Angeles.

They have good coffee (real coffee), nice desserts and healthy fruit shakes.

All in all it's a good spot with good food, just a bit overpriced for Indonesia

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Weeble W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Food and Wood Collaboration”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Cafe with a lot of food and drink is ordinary.
Cafe with beach view is normally (on the beach of course, not in the mountains.. :-)))
But if there is a cafe with a theme of recycle wood, food and drink then it will be very memorable for you, just visit this place.
You will be find,the collaboration between recycle wood interior, beach view, food and drink at one place.
Save our earth...
Eat your food...
Drink your coffee..
And pay it all...hehehe

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hafishhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kayu Cafe also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kayu Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing