We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Yummo.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kafe Kecil

Kafe Kecil
Ranked #34 of 106 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $2 - $4
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Delicious multi-cultural dishes! Something for every taste on the menu :-) Many Vegetarian and Vegan options available! Our kitchen staff has been trained by a chef from Switzerland who has been working on Gili Trawangan for years. The restaurant is perfect for big groups and has interesting decoration/art to look at. Many of our guests hang out for hours on our cosy sofas enjoying the relaxed atmosphere, amazing food, fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails and icecold beer!
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Yummo.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner there tonight. Pretty quiet, but the Thai food was excellent and the value for money was brilliant. Excellent Green Curry and yummo Waterfall Salad- as good as any Thai we've had in Thailand or back in Oz. pretty cheap drinks too. Well worth the visit and understand why it's so highly rated on TA. Thanks for the suggestion everyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clairsey79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    69
    22
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cheap eats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great food, cheap prices and friendly staff. Can sometimes be a little slow though depending on time of day. I ate at this place the most over a whole month easily

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PerthSamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The location is nice with tables outside but the food is nothing special. It is a Thai restaurant with also international and Indonesian dishes. My noodles were tasteless and also my friend’s dish was quite lousy, just the starters were ok. Staff looked quite bored. I think guides overrate this restaurant; anyway you can get local wine for a reasonable price.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Penel0pe_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampere, Finland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Best value on Trawangan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

The restaurant is approx 100 m from the beach (next to Secret Garden, nice accommodation!), but it is worth visiting, many times. The place and sofas are excellent, high roof and so relaxing atmosphere. Service is very friendly and the food is soooo good. If you like Thai or other Asian food, you must visit there. We loved the Thai coconut soups like red curry or massaman curry and the pumpkin mash is wonderful side food.

Sometimes we saw some kids or adults having relaxing nap after meal.

Definately recommend, best place to eat Asian on Trawangan.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minttu69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

Very nice staff and fantastic thai food. Just a block off the main road. Not hard to find. Highly recommend it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moonpie1015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Kecil also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kafe Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing