We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely for a cheap, casual bite”
Review of Kafe Kecil

Kafe Kecil
Ranked #40 of 120 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $1 - $4
Cuisines: Indonesian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Delicious multi-cultural dishes! Something for every taste on the menu :-) Many Vegetarian and Vegan options available! Our kitchen staff has been trained by a chef from Switzerland who has been working on Gili Trawangan for years. The restaurant is perfect for big groups and has interesting decoration/art to look at. Many of our guests hang out for hours on our cosy sofas enjoying the relaxed atmosphere, amazing food, fresh fruit juices, tasty cocktails and icecold beer!
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely for a cheap, casual bite”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Wonderfully cheap with most dishes averaging around $3, and definately big enough to fill you up! Decor is clean and cheerful, but a bit more of a lunchtime haunt than a sit down dinner place. Definately worth a visit!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alysha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    71
    22
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cheap, looks nice, but food was overcooked - burned”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Interesting restaurant, but they've burned one of the dishes we've ordered and still charged for it. The other dishes were good.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank jure n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love Dolls Thai food!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Even before the big change, I liked going to Cafe kecil. But since Doll sells her famous thai food in the restaurant, I even like to go more! The red curry is to die for!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Christmass_eve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good but inconsistent”
Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

Our first meal here was great. We tried a traditional indo chicken dish which was very good and excellent quality. The second time we tried the Thai as we heard that the chef was Thai himself, but found the pad Thai to be overly sweet and lacking in chicken while the curry lacked flavour. Perhaps stick to the indo dishes.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Neisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable lunch spot”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Simple food at reasonable prices. Comfy seating and chilled out background music. A nice place to hang out for a couple of hours at lunchtime.

I didn't visit at other times but guess it's the same whenever you go.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank walkjivefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kafe Kecil also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Kafe Kecil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing