We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay on Gili T!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cotton Tree Cottages
Ranked #17 of 157 Gili Trawangan B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best place to stay on Gili T!”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

So many of the places to stay on Gili T are completely run down or very expensive. Cotton Tree Cottages was reasonably priced and gorgeous! The cottages are less than a year old so everything looks new. The bathroom is outdoor but well maintained. It was about a 10 minute walk to the main strip on Gili T but it wasn't an issue...Gili T is type of place where you are so relaxed you don't even notice these things.

Also a HUGE bonus is that their breakfast is actually GOOD. We've stayed at so many places that include breakfast that is barely edible. We had muesli and Twinings Tea every morning and it was fantastic.

Would ONLY stay at Cotton Tree when we return to Gili T!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Loveandrich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    39
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
38
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bali
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

It was the 2nd time I came to this island. Last time was 2 years ago then I stayed at Gili Air. This time we went for Gili Trawangan and we stayed here for 4 days 3 nights at the family rooms and shared the room with our best friend before he moved on the next day to the other room (cuz the first night all other rooms were already booked). The family rooms have 2 beds, down stair and up stairs. A small minus point are the beds, which were a bit noisy.
The cottages are clean and new I guess. A bit far from the harbour, we walked more less 8 minutes from where we stay. The hotel offers free wifi and has bikes for rent. The complimentary breakfast was good, they have western food or local food.
The people are friendly and helpfull.
Actually today we were supposed to check out 11 o'clock but our boat to Bali at 3pm so they let us stay longer till 2pm because this room was still free. I recomended to you, if you gonna stay in Gili Trawangan stay at this hotel. It is really nice and a bit away from the hustle!! No cars, no motor bike, no worries!!
PS : from Gili Trawangan to Gili Air/Gili Meno you better buy your ticket at an early around 8.30 or 9am. The boat will leave at 9.30am; if you miss it and still wanna go to the other Gilis a private boat will be quite expensive! And the boat will come back at 3pm - again, don't miss the last boat or it will cost so much.
To Gili Air is 30.ooo/pax in rupiah
To Gili Mano is 25.ooo/pax in rupiah
Wish you a very nice holiday!!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank NovitaBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

We stayed at Cotton Tree Cottages for 4 nights, and loved the place. We weren't too keen on Gili Trawangan in general (too loud, too 'party' compared to the bliss that is Gili Air) but our lovely, air-conditioned hut (or lumbung) away from the main strip made the stay for us. The huts are sparkling new, the bed was huge and comfortable, and the outside (but concealed) shower made it feel really special. The breakfasts were something else; by far the best we've had yet in Indonesia. I went for the (huge bowl of) fruit, yoghurt and muesli every morning, while my less health-conscious boyfriend filled up on eggs, bacon and a baguette, and there were other options too. Free re-fills of filtered water available all day, too.

The staff are very helpful - Basile, who I think owns (or part owns) the place, gave us a run-down of what there was to do in the area, where to eat, what nights were good and at which bars, all in good English (really makes a difference). He also helped arrange a diving trip for my boyfriend - he's an instructor at Manta Dive just round the corner. The Indonesian staff were good and really helpful too - especially Rozy who came to pick us up from the harbour as it would be a little difficult to find on your own. Just give them a call when you arrive and they're more than welcome to come and collect you. I recommend you rent some bikes from them when you settle in (for $3.50 AUD a day) which makes the journey onto the main strip only a couple of minutes (oh, and make sure you borrow a head torch from them - it's a little dark at night).

All in all, a great little find for us, and great value compared to other accommodation we looked at on Gili T :)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsty D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We stayed at Cotton Tree Cottages in November and its a truly great place away from the busy main street but yet very close (less than 2 minutes on the push bikes you can hire from Cotton Tree) to the beach and main street. Breakfast is amazing and the staff are friendly and willing to help with anything! Would certainly recommend Cotton Tree and will stay there again!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skippyjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights. The cottages are newly built and part of their charm is the basic minimalist design. The outdoor bathroom is well-designed and maintained. The staff are very friendly and helpful

The hotel is a far walk from the main road- a good 10-15 minutes. Without direction it would be impossible to find by yourself! Luckily they offer pick-up from the wharf, just give them a call before you arrive so they can show you the way. The streets aren't well lit off the main road but they have torches to borrow at night and they also have bicycle rental available

Breakfast was nice- a few options to choose from. There isn't a restaurant but once you order breakfast it is served on the balcony at your cottage. There are also lot's of restaurants along the main street so there isn't really a need for room service. They do have cold drinks available at reception

They have plans for more cottages (5 currently) and a swimming pool so I'm sure TV's and refrigerators will follow but it was nice to enjoy some quiet away from the main hustle

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah-Jane86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
198 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Not so many people aware about this accommodation, you need to memorize its phone number before you come so the staff can meet you in the harbour/ Manta Dive area.

They only have 5 cottages without restaurant.
Alley was dark at night but you can borrow the light from staff.
Reception place was very small but simple, with a bamboo chair , mineral water dispenser and a small refrigerator where you can take soda, etc.

Bicycle rental is close by, you can rent around IDR 35 - 50 thousand for 1 day.

Very basic accommodation, no refrigerator and TV on your room.
No soap/shampoo/shower cap in your bathroom, just towel.
Room cleanliness was okay.
Air conditioner and fan were working well.

Room Tip: This accommodation is located 2 km from beach and you need to rent bike rather than walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked two cottages for one night. There are only five buildings in total and very next to each other so you should mind your voice especially at night. But the buildings are new with huge bed, semi outdoor shower with lots of hot water. Breakfast has several options that you can order one day before, pretty good options for non-star hotel.

The place is modern but somehow very traditional at the same time. No TV, no refrigerator when we stayed, but it seems they might provide them as each room has a wooden table prepared.

The only drawback is the location that's quite far from main road. Not far from the place is already local people's residence area. But this is made up by the service from the owner and the staffs. They are very helpful, pick you up at the jetty, give you information about the island. They can even help you to rent the bikes, cidomo and book the boat for snorkeling too!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroline_wl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.4 mi away
Les Villas Ottalia
Les Villas Ottalia
#5 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
621 reviews
0.9 mi away
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
Jambuluwuk Oceano Resort
#16 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
507 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Pirate Beach Club Gili T Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Vila Ombak
Hotel Vila Ombak
#7 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,696 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ombak Sunset
Hotel Ombak Sunset
#11 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
1,093 reviews
0.7 mi away
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
PinkCoco Gili Trawangan
#1 of 37 in Gili Trawangan
329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotton Tree Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotton Tree Cottages

Property: Cotton Tree Cottages
Address: Jl. Kepiting, West Nusa Tenggara 83354, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotton Tree Cottages is a quiet and nice place at 5 minutes walk from the beach and the main street in Gili Trawangan, close to the nightlife without the nightly noise, you can sleep very well !!! 6 Bungalow Lumbung Style and 2 new Rooms are available every day for you, Our brand new outdoor swimming pool is the core of the place. Our Chef is ready to prepare all the amazing dishes from the menu. We can provide to organize all the transports from Bali and Lombok, snorkeling trip and to give you all the information to enjoy the island during your holidays. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cotton Tree Cottages Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing