We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to make friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Awesome place to make friends”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Had a wonderful stay. Its expensive for a dorm bed (150,000 at peak season) but people stay here for the atmosphere and to make friends - rather than the price. I recommend staying here for a few days to meet people and then stay somewhere else a bit cheaper. The only issue I had was the state of the bathrooms, gets pretty filthy sometimes and the showers for dorm 6 and 7 are rubbish. Other than that, a wonderful place, great atmosphere and people - this place is always fully booked for a reason!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leannable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    55
    29
    11
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
4
61
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

I was supposed to stay in Gili T around a week but it turned for over a month ! Such a lovely place ! So in the end, I spent my time in Gili Hostel for weeks - lovely, warm and welcoming staff was making my stay unforgettable ! A bit hippiestyled building was awesome for chill breakfasts, watching movies, throwing some parties and the best; getting new people to your life ! Location is perfect and close to the pier. Lovely staff is international and helpfull. Dorms are okay enough for all-around-backpackers and pretty cleaned. Upstairs' chilling lounge offers the best banana pancakes, good music, lots of Vodka Joss shots during parties and lots of people, mainly travelers around the World sharing their stories.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelllaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Gili HOstel two times (march 2013) - second time it felt like coming home.

Perfect, clean and modern dorms, the best roof top bar ever (and cheap!), bannana pancakes for breakfast (!!), the coolest staff and people who hangs there are so social and friendly.

It's a bit expensive if you are travelling with a friend - cheaper deals can be made if you are sharing a room or bungalow somewhere els - but don't :)

Room Tip: Jeg foretrak at sove i øverste køje, da det så virker som om, at man har lidt mere privatliv - men d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sofiebp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11022013, General Manager at Gili Beach Bum Hotel, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Hey guys! Thanks so much for taking the time to review us. It makes all the staff smile when someone comes back again. It was great to have you back and I hope it wont be the last time. From all the crew @ Gili Hostel. Happy travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Of all the hostels I've stayed in (there have been many!) this is definitely by far my favourite!
The room layout is awesome - there are 7 people in each room but the rooms are massive and with the funky lay out, it definitely doesn't feel like there are that many people in there.
The roof top is great for chilling out during the day, and there's a great buzz in the evening when people pile in before hitting the bars. Prices are very reasonable too!
The staff are all really helpful and friendly. Yes, there are times when there is nobody at reception but if you need to find someone there's usually someone about. In any case, you're on island time!
The location is great too, just a quick hop to the beach. I also felt very safe walking about, and going to and from the hostel in the evening. Also, as a solo traveller, it's really easy to meet people here so you shouldn't have any trouble finding people to chat to.
Breakfast was basic but really tasty, and the girls made me hot tea with lemon after I lost my voice - much appreciated!
Thanks for a great stay Lou and the team, I would definitely recommend Gili Hostel!

Room Tip: Make sure to secure your bed! They're very popular so a couple of people in my room ended up los...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SarahTreeTravers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeongdong-gun, South Korea
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Clean rooms and fairly clean bathrooms (sometimes had to remind staff to clean). Good location. Average breakfast. It's worth going just for the vibe- as a solo traveler it's the best way to meet people. The area upstairs is where lots of people pre-drink before hitting the town, so is lots of fun! they also play movies during the day. They do advertise themselves falsely however- on the site it says that there is a restaurant upstairs (not true) and also that there is WIFI. There is no wifi! A bit annoying as it means you have to go to a restaurant to hook up to the internet and it's often unreliable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyBorneo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11022013, Manager at Gili Beach Bum Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Thanks for your positive review. I am really happy you enjoyed your time with us! I am glad you pointed out that our hostelbookers says we have wifi. When I wrote this we thought the wifi would be installed in a couple days. I have since corrected the description. Hostelbookers also says in the description the we offer meal options such as pizza etc. This refers to the themed nights we put on such as Thai night or pizza night. These don't happen every evening. I have now changed the wording so that this is more clear. Again thanks for pointing this out to us and Happy Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Gili hostel is a great variation to the choices of accommodation on gili T. Anyone looking for a fun atmosphere this is where you want to stay. It's clean and the location is good, and they have aircon. Positives: rooftop bar, movies in the afternoon, easy to meet people, staff is amazingly helpful. The only negative pointers are: no hot water (at least when I was there in March 2013) and it's a little pricier than any of the other bungalows around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terhi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really good experience. Met nice people, located perfectly by the beaches and all the nice restaurants there. Rooms nicely designed, bathrooms very new and shared among two 7-bed dorms. No internet though, if needed. But the restaurants have free wifi anyways.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Gili La Boheme
Gili La Boheme
#15 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
363 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gili Castle
Gili Castle
#35 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
97 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Mate's Place Gili T
My Mate's Place Gili T
#10 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
M Gili
M Gili
#12 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
106 reviews
3.9 mi away
Gili La Boheme Sister
Gili La Boheme Sister
#14 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
168 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gili Klapa Hostel
Gili Klapa Hostel
#61 of 242 in Gili Trawangan
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Beach Bum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Beach Bum Hotel

Property: Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Address: Jl. Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Hostel)
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 242 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gili Beach Bum Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Beach Bum Hotel, formally known as Gili Hostel is a uniquely designed dorm hotel, with spacious and fully air conditioned rooms. Each room is secured by a pin coded lock and each bed has its own secure locker with power supply and reading light. For the water lovers, Gili Beach Bum is situated right on the prime beach spot which is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and sun bathing. For those who are not too fond of the salt water, Gili Beach Bum also boasts a crystal clear pool bar which is good for cooling off and for it's legendary pool parties. (Please note, due to construction the pool bar will be closed until November but is still open for use). Gili Beach Bums popular LAVA bar is considered to be the islands pre-drinking hot spot for both dive instructors and tourists. LAVA is an open air bar right on the beach, under the start, with well priced drinks, good music and a good atmosphere for both die hard party goers and laid back hippies. LAVA is known to host epic costume parties and promises to be a good spot to get the party started on any night of the week. In adidition to our lovely beach bar, Gili Beach Bum also offers free breakfast on our rooftop chill out lounge. Breakfast includes options such as omelets, pancakes (banana, pineapple, honey or plain), fresh local watermelon, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Gili Beach Bum's rooftop lounge is ideal for day time chilling, nursing a hang over, reading a book or catching some shut eye. Movies are played on request and weekly movie marathons (Sunday) make the rooftop lounge a comfortable homey area you do not want to leave. Pizza can be delivered on request without any problem. If you are looking for a hostel hostel that is more than the typical hostel on a party island then you have found the right place. We never miss out on the fun yet we make an effort to continuously create a chilled, relaxed and laid back atmosphere, where awesome people meet other awesome people; depicting the typical island lifestyle. Anything goes at Gili Beach Bum Hotel. Check in and become part of the Beach Bum Tribe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Gili Beach Bum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Beach Bum Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing