We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, fun, good location, a little expensive”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Clean, fun, good location, a little expensive”
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Gili hostel is a great variation to the choices of accommodation on gili T. Anyone looking for a fun atmosphere this is where you want to stay. It's clean and the location is good, and they have aircon. Positives: rooftop bar, movies in the afternoon, easy to meet people, staff is amazingly helpful. The only negative pointers are: no hot water (at least when I was there in March 2013) and it's a little pricier than any of the other bungalows around.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terhi501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    53
    28
    11
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
3
60
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Really good experience. Met nice people, located perfectly by the beaches and all the nice restaurants there. Rooms nicely designed, bathrooms very new and shared among two 7-bed dorms. No internet though, if needed. But the restaurants have free wifi anyways.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan Georg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Pros: 1) Rooftop bar for cheap drinks and socialising 2) Friendly breakfast ladies serving up lovely banana pancakes or scrambled eggs 3) AC in the rooms

Cons: 1) NO WIFI - very annoying 2) Smelly toilets, even after being cleaned 3) Front desk often left unattended, therefore no-one to answer your queries/extend your stay 4) A misleading sign saying your bed is secure until 11am -- only to be told at 10am you have to leave when you want to extend your stay :/ :/ 5) Some lockers unable to lock
6) Also ...bizarrely, the hostel manager told me that there was NOTHING to beyond the strip and nowhere to eat other than the restaurants ...not true at all :/

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HkaurLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11022013, Manager at Gili Beach Bum Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us, we really aprreaciate it. We're very happy that you had a good time with us. Its a shame that you were unable to extend your stay with us, but we are regularly full and have online bookings. Our sign in reception says "please secure your bed before 11am" but we work on a first come first serve basis as most hostels do. We also have a sign that reads " Please reserve your bed for the entirity of your stay" I will change these signs to make them a bit clearer as we always prefer guests already staying with us to have priority over new bookings. I'm sorry this wasn't clear enough and you missed out on extending.. In terms of the bathrooms, there was a lot a rain during your stay and we have only recently realised that the two are linked. Things are always a work in progress when you are a new hotel and we are now adressing the problem differently by changing our septic tank system. I'm sorry that you misunderstood the informtion given to you by me regarding the lay out of the island etc. 95% of all business are on the beach front and there are no restaraunts inside the island other than a few small warungs. I hope this didnt impact how you explored the island during your time here. Thanks again for your review, suggestions are always important especially at this stage. Thanks for being one of our first guests and hopefully you can stay with us again in the future and see us in full swing! Happy travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

A great place to meet people. The most unusual dorm I've stayed in. Upstairs at the bar is a haven from the heat, great in the afternoons to watch movies/read/nap. Free water refills were great. Cheap drinks. Friendly and helpful staff. Plugs inside the lockers were a really nice touch too. No wifi at the time I stayed but it actually meant that people spoke to each other :) I think the breakfast could be improved if I am to be very fussy! On a whole, I really enjoyed my stay here and was devastated going back to Bali, best of luck gili hostel!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LauraMcA84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my friend stayed here for 8 nights in march and loved the place, hostel was clean and room was funky! Great place to meet other backpackers in the bar upstairs and a really nice place to stay!! Defo go if your looking to meet people have fun and a good party!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie-lea85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Gili Hostel was amazing! Loved everything about it, great location, great bar, laid back vibe, met great people and overall had a very enjoyable stay, will definitely be back!!! Keep up the good work guys!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aghinagh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Pros:
- Quick reply and detail information provided to me by email.
- Location
- Artistic décor
- Cool rooftop
- Working AC

Cons:
- Need to work on their cleanliness for toilet and rooftop pillows’ cover and table. Their toilet can be really stinks. I think it’s more because the guests don’t really flush well. I saw a dirty toilet one morning and informed it to their reception. But when I returned from my dive, it was still dirty. While on their rooftop bar, their pillows' cover and their table have many stains that made it look dirty
- A bit confuse with their reception who asked me to check out at 10am while in my booking, it showed 1pm for check out.
- No payment receipt. First accommodation I stayed that didn’t give me any payment receipt ><”

Overall, it is a really nice hostel and it’s new. Rooftop is a nice place to chill-out with a very affordable drinks compared to other cafes on the main street. So it’s too bad that they have those cleanliness issues. I think it’s one of the most important reason when choosing accommodation, at least it is for me. So if you ask me, will I stay there again ? I will think twice about it. Cause what I saw and smelled in their toilet are really unpleasant.

Room Tip: - choose the bunk in the second level for more privacy. - don't forget to bring your own padlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank novangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
11022013, Manager at Gili Beach Bum Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi there. Thanks for taking the time to review us online. I'm glad you enjoyed the atmosphere at the hostel and the hostel itself. In terms of cleanliness we are aware that this is a top priority for us and have decided you employ extra staff in the evening so that rooms are cleaned twice a day. We will also be ordering extra sets of cusion covers so that they can be changed more frequently. Tables on the rooftop are cleaned regularly but are painted in a sort of shabby chic style that runs throughout the hostel which can maybe be a little misleading. We apologise if the standard of cleanliness wasn't up to standard during your stay. We are working hard to improve this and we hope you will think about staying with us again should you come back. We think you'll be happy! Safe travels and thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gili Trawangan hotels
0.1 mi away
Gili La Boheme
Gili La Boheme
#14 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
362 reviews
0.2 mi away
My Mate's Place Gili T
My Mate's Place Gili T
#10 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
129 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gili Klapa Hostel
Gili Klapa Hostel
#65 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
M Gili
M Gili
#11 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Favela
La Favela
#7 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
113 reviews
0.3 mi away
Balenta Bungalows
Balenta Bungalows
#58 of 239 in Gili Trawangan
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gili Beach Bum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gili Beach Bum Hotel

Property: Gili Beach Bum Hotel
Address: Jl. Gili Trawangan, West Nusa Tenggara 83355, Indonesia (Formerly Gili Hostel)
Location: Indonesia > West Nusa Tenggara > Lombok > Gili Islands > Gili Trawangan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 239 Specialty Lodging in Gili Trawangan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Gili Beach Bum Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gili Beach Bum Hotel, formally known as Gili Hostel is a uniquely designed dorm hotel, with spacious and fully air conditioned rooms. Each room is secured by a pin coded lock and each bed has its own secure locker with power supply and reading light. For the water lovers, Gili Beach Bum is situated right on the prime beach spot which is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and sun bathing. For those who are not too fond of the salt water, Gili Beach Bum also boasts a crystal clear pool bar which is good for cooling off and for it's legendary pool parties. (Please note, due to construction the pool bar will be closed until November but is still open for use). Gili Beach Bums popular LAVA bar is considered to be the islands pre-drinking hot spot for both dive instructors and tourists. LAVA is an open air bar right on the beach, under the start, with well priced drinks, good music and a good atmosphere for both die hard party goers and laid back hippies. LAVA is known to host epic costume parties and promises to be a good spot to get the party started on any night of the week. In adidition to our lovely beach bar, Gili Beach Bum also offers free breakfast on our rooftop chill out lounge. Breakfast includes options such as omelets, pancakes (banana, pineapple, honey or plain), fresh local watermelon, fruit juice, tea and coffee. Gili Beach Bum's rooftop lounge is ideal for day time chilling, nursing a hang over, reading a book or catching some shut eye. Movies are played on request and weekly movie marathons (Sunday) make the rooftop lounge a comfortable homey area you do not want to leave. Pizza can be delivered on request without any problem. If you are looking for a hostel hostel that is more than the typical hostel on a party island then you have found the right place. We never miss out on the fun yet we make an effort to continuously create a chilled, relaxed and laid back atmosphere, where awesome people meet other awesome people; depicting the typical island lifestyle. Anything goes at Gili Beach Bum Hotel. Check in and become part of the Beach Bum Tribe! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Gili Beach Bum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gili Beach Bum Hotel Gili Islands/Gili Trawangan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing