We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food, so cheap!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean 2

Ocean 2
Ranked #92 of 112 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Cuisines: Asian, Indonesian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, so cheap!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014 via mobile

Blackboard outside lists the meals and offers available, all of which are ridiculously cheap. There's also a free salad and soup bar. The food was of pretty good standard and you can get loads due to the low price. We went so many times and they always remembered us and got all our orders correct and served swiftly

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    37
    30
    30
    94
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dined here twice”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

First time we were there for a dinner, using the basic principle that the more crowded the place, the better food they would have. Not really the case for this particular restaurant, but if lower your standard enough, it would be okay.

The price was very reasonable (probably one of the cheapest in the island) and the options were overwhelming. However, the service was one of the worst I experienced. They were really slow and often forgot your orders, no matter how full the restaurant was.

We went the second time for a lunch, it was much less crowded. But we still needed to wait so long for our meals. We decided that it would be the last time we come there to eat.

Try the pizzas, especially the seafood one (forgot the name)! Didn't try the burger as it didn't looked so appealing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cheap & Nice Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The food is nice & cheap compared to average price of restaurant in Gili Trawangan. One thing i like about this restaurant is free soup & salad bar <3

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ainin_Dita_Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AVOID”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I like the irony of the fact I'm sat in this place using their wifi to review what has been my worst dining experience for a long time.
We took the standard approach that a near full restaurant must mean they are doing something right.... wrong :-(
The staff are rude, portions meagre and they didn't have a lot of what was on the menu! I saw other tables having issues as well. To be fair on the plus side it's cheap for its seafront location and there is a free "salad" bar.
Plenty of other nice places on Gili T if I have time I'll get to reviewing those too.

Helpful?
3 Thank BLiCK5BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We ate here so many times because the quality of the food was great and it was really cheap! Burgers are delicious, as was all the Indonesian food. If you eat in the evening you get a free salad buffet along with your meal (potatoes, cucumber, tomato, bread). You seriously can't complain about this place as the price is very cheap for what you get! The red snapper was amazing

I think perhaps some people are mistaking the staff as rude when really they are just joking around. The service was fine - you don't get added service charge or tax which is pretty rare too.

If you are looking for a budget place to eat with tasty consistent food and an amazing view, eat here

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunsetvista91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 2 also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ocean 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing