We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVOID”
Review of Ocean 2

Ocean 2
Ranked #95 of 117 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Cuisines: Indonesian
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Godalming, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“AVOID”
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

I like the irony of the fact I'm sat in this place using their wifi to review what has been my worst dining experience for a long time.
We took the standard approach that a near full restaurant must mean they are doing something right.... wrong :-(
The staff are rude, portions meagre and they didn't have a lot of what was on the menu! I saw other tables having issues as well. To be fair on the plus side it's cheap for its seafront location and there is a free "salad" bar.
Plenty of other nice places on Gili T if I have time I'll get to reviewing those too.

Helpful?
3 Thank BLiCK5BN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    40
    31
    34
    96
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place to eat!”
Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

We ate here so many times because the quality of the food was great and it was really cheap! Burgers are delicious, as was all the Indonesian food. If you eat in the evening you get a free salad buffet along with your meal (potatoes, cucumber, tomato, bread). You seriously can't complain about this place as the price is very cheap for what you get! The red snapper was amazing

I think perhaps some people are mistaking the staff as rude when really they are just joking around. The service was fine - you don't get added service charge or tax which is pretty rare too.

If you are looking for a budget place to eat with tasty consistent food and an amazing view, eat here

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sunsetvista91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamata and Berenice, Egypt
Level Contributor
44 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cheap and ok”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We go there quite often. At the beginning it was mainly at dinner, which was interesting bec of fair prices and nice friendly staff. Then they increased the prices (but was still acceptable) and lowered their food quality. The first time we felt sick we just thought it could happen... The second time we stopped going there. Now we go sometimes for lunch because we like to change menu (they have nice burgers for not too high price, which makes a nice change to the daily nasi we get for lunch working here!), but it's not a habit anymore. Pity, bec we loved the atmsphere and the waiters all knew us and still are very nice to us. I would suggest they improve their quality control on food and for the rest just remain the same!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maryhappy1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Horrible!!! ”
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Staff is rude, the restaurant was really dirty and there was a diaper on the floor. Food was okay, but i wouldnt recommend this place to anyone. Dont go there!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Katjii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Great food, poor service”
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Pros =
Good food
Cheap
Free salad bar
Cheap beer
Good selection

Cons =
Staff are rude
Staff take ages to take order
Staff don't smile
Staff OFTEN give you wrong change
Loads of stray cats walk around

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryanyoung89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean 2 also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Ocean 2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing