We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid this place like the tourist trap it is” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Egoiste Restaurant

Egoiste Restaurant
Ranked #39 of 112 Restaurants in Gili Trawangan
Price range: $5 - $23
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Kids
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Egoiste restaurant a nice restaurant
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Avoid this place like the tourist trap it is”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Absolutely terrible. Walk by, don't be swayed.

It was unclean, the service was bad, and the food was extremely disappointing. They were also out of many items on the menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    142
    112
    73
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awful and Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Had to wait ages for service. Then only half our drinks order came. We were four and the food came at different times. Had to get up to find knives and forks. My wife and I had the seafood platter. They didn't bring plates. Worst of all the seafood platter is an excuse for getting rid of yesterday's seafood. We left most of it......the fish was off......and it's also overpriced. Definitely a place to avoid.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Typical tourist trap”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

The restaurant has a nice terrasse, the place seems very cool and nice until you go to the toilet and pass in front of the kitchen where there are tons of cats walking around the kitchen! not to describe the cleanness of the toilet....
Service was bad, very long even if there was not many people, the alcohol got us sick, they pretend they are European brands but there were not finally...
and to end the fish was not fresh and all our dishes very disappointing (we were 6)
Really do not go there, it is the typical tourist trap.
one of my friend got sick to end up the story....

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne-Laure K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Horrible - avoid”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013

It´s a shame to find such a horrible food and service in such a beautiful location. Absolutely no value for money. Avoid it. It's plenty of good restaurants around there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annabergh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Advertises it self as best restaurant on the island - What a joke!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here for breakfast on our last morning on this magical island. Absolutely terrible. Service was slow - which you can kind of ignore - island time - but after waiting 40 minutes for poached eggs on toast - we got the waiter to check up on it for us....still took another 5 minutes for our breakfast to hit the table. Would have understood if the restaurant was busy but there was only two other customers. When it arrived it was truly awful! The eggs were hard and cold and the toast has obviously been made from stale bread - it is was one large crouton - and totally inedible. I also ordered grilled mushrooms from the menu and got tinned champignions. And it was really really expensive compared to other restaurants. When I complained at the register nothing was done - despite the manager standing right there. My suggestion - give this place a big wide berth and visit one of the many other fantastic restaurants on the island.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ar0912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Egoiste Restaurant also viewed

Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
Gili Trawangan, Gili Islands
 

Been to Egoiste Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing